We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were disappointed.”
Review of Park Place Suites

Park Place Suites
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Place Suites
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband, and 2 kids stayed here for 3 nights. The pros: The manager/owner, Chris is extremely nice and hospitable. The suite has decent sized bedrooms, and 2 roomy bathrooms. The place is kept neat and tidy. It's a block away ( a street behind Main Street, where all the action is.) And the best part of it all, it's very close to the Arnold ferry line. Cons: Living room area was very small, and the kitchen area was even smaller. No counter space at all, and worst of all, no dishwasher! I was also saddened to see there was no DVD player as I have a 5 year old and would have loved to pop a movie in for her. There were no tv channels appropriate for her either. Another negative is that the master bedroom has a window that's very close/adjacent to a loud noisy pub on main street and we could hear the music coming from there till midnight at least. The carpet was old and needed refurbishing as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aparna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkplacesuites, Owner at Park Place Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

I am so sorry you were disappointed. I strive to provide my guests with a spotlessly clean environment and do everything I can to make their Mackinac experience wonderful. I would have given you a dvd player in a heartbeat if I have only known because I do have them available for my guests. I apologize for the cable tv situation. Unfortunately, even for residents of the Island, it is limited. I am sorry there wasn't a dishwasher. However, my units do offer kitchens with a full size refrigerator, stove, sink, microwave, toaster and coffee pot and I will provide blender, mixer or any other small appliance possible. I do take your comments regarding the carpet very seriously. We have it cleaned often but there are spots that can't be prevented. It is going to be changed at the end of this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

We felt very lucky to have found this place by a 'chance' internet search and felt even luckier that they had an opening for two nights the 'Northern Sleeper' with only one days notice! It was very easy to get to since it is just up the 'brick walkway' from the tiny carriage tours building. Simpler put, we were able to disembark from the Arnold Line and roll our suitcases across main street and the Park Place Inn was just on our left (going up the brick walkway). How easy!!! No taxi, no porters, no bikes!

The 'Northern Sleeper was tastefully decorated like a very clean 'home away from home'. It had stainless steel appliances (full fridge, full stove/oven, double stainless steel sink, microwave/toaster oven combo, bread toaster, fully stocked dishes, and lots of towels). If you needed anything else (toilet paper, shampoo, clothes washer/dryer, garbage bags, etc.), it was just downstairs. The kitchen is open to the living room which has a queen bed in it. This is also where one of the two TV's are located. The other TV and bed (with DVD player) is in the bedroom. We found the bathroom to be huge. The nice thing about this suite is that you have your own balcony/patio area, and it also has two private entrances. Several propane grills are available for guest use as well as outdoor patio tables and chairs.

All the suites allow pets, but you would NEVER know it, because they are kept so clean! Our small dog loved the island and there are so many other dogs to visit with. We normally wouldn't take our dog, but being that we were on a loooong Michigan vacation with her, we had no choice. We couldn't find any kennels anywhere in the surrounding area.

It was so great to be be so close to everything! I can't emphasize this enough. There is so much walking or biking, that I couldn't imagine being somewhere up the hill (out of town). We were able to go right back to the room after dropping off the rental bikes, after excursions, after eating, after shopping.

We were sooooo happy with our room that we ended up booking for two more nights and then two more nights after that! We didn't plan on it, but loved this place so much that we ended up staying for 6 nights! Good thing it was May and there were rooms available with such short notice!

Chris was our gracious 'Innkeeper', but we really didn't see her much. When we rang the doorbell downstairs or called her, she was right there for you though. It's nice to have a place that welcomes you, but yet lets you have all the privacy you want.

Chris also let us view the 'Southern Sleeper' since it was vacant at one point. This suite was HUGE and takes up the entire bottom floor under the upper two suites. Having two separate bathrooms and bedrooms, I would recommend it in place of renting two rooms downtown. We might do this next time and let our teenager have her own room. :)

One thing is for sure, you can't beat having your own kitchen while staying on the island. 'Park Place' gives you a taste of what it's like to have your own little condo on the Island without paying the price for one!

We can't wait to come back real soon!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PercheronDrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just finished our first trip to Mackinac Island. Had a tough time trying to find the right place to stay without really knowing the island. Plus we were traveling with our dog so needed a pet friendly place. There were four of us and we all wanted to stay somewhere together. Park Place Suites turned out to be the perfect little spot. First, this is a cozy and intimate property offering only three different rooms. We opted for the Southern Sleeper which is more like a two bed, two bath apartment with a fully equipped kitchen. And the beauty of this room is that it is on ground level with immediate access to the private little yard along with the patio. This was supreme for the dog! He's a wiener dog so was nice for him to not have to navigate any steps. Back to the room. Both bedrooms and both bathrooms are completely private. Beds were super comfortable and place was squeaky clean. The main bathroom was very large and nicely decorated. It has a tub/shower combo. The other bathroom only had the shower and was smaller, but still clean and nice. There's a little spot outfitted by a desk and chair off the main living room which is great to put the laptop, iPad, phones, etc. And then there was the living room and kitchen. The only slightly negative on this room is the size of the kitchen and living room. It is pretty small but hey, who goes to the island to sit in their hotel room right! It worked out fine for us. So as nice as the property is, the location is even better! It is only steps off the center of Main Street. If you take the Arnold Ferry Line over, just walk straight ahead across Main Street, follow the pedestrian walk way where no bikes are allowed and you're there. We brought over luggage for each person, a few carry on bags, four bicycles and the dog! We were able to transport all that without any additional help right from the ferry. It was maybe 50 yards from ferry to hotel. The house itself has loads of character and is wrapped by a white picket fence. There is also a bike rack inside the property for its patrons. And to top it off, the owner was very gracious, offered anything we needed but at the same time respected our privacy. She even has a great laundry area off the backside for anyone to use. So would definitely recommend this one without hesitation. We had a great stay and if we ever go back, Park Place Suites will be our place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DowntownStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Last week was our annual trip to Mackinac Island with our grandkids and doggie. For the 2nd time, we chose the pet-friendly Park Place Suites and we were as just as pleased, if not more so, than our first visit 2 years ago.

This small hotel has only 3 accommodations: The Southern Sleeper, The Honeymoon Suite and The Northern Sleeper (where we stayed). The property has a lovely fenced in yard and the Northern Sleeper (on the 2nd floor) has a deck, which was a great place to enjoy a cup of coffee and watch the Island come to life.

Located in the middle of town, on Market Street, just one block from the hustle and bustle of main street, the Park Place is in a perfect location to explore the Island, but still close to everything.

We will be back!!!

Room Tip: The Northern Sleeper is perfect for small families with one bed and a pull out couch in the main roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We recently stayed at Park Place Suites on Mackinac Island and it was the best place we have stayed yet. We've been going for multiple years and always stay someplace different. Park Place Suites is one of the only places on the island that allows you to bring your dog. In search of somewhere that would allow our small dog we booked the Northern Sleeper. We were totally IMPRESSED. We were prepared for some deterioration due to allowance of pets but the room showed ZERO sign of wear. This is NOT a flea motel. We met the family across the hall that had been staying at Park Place for consecutive years and had no idea dogs were allowed. This gives you an idea of how impeccably CLEAN these suites are. Having a full kitchen cut down on restaurant costs and is well worth the price. We will definitely be back. It is situated on Market St. just behind Main St. across from the Arnold Dock. It is literally within steps of the busy downtown but is by far the quietest place we've stayed. These suites are apartment-like and couldn't be any more charming. Make your next stay on the island at Park Place Suites... you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Awesome location with a beautiful fenced in yard. It was so much fun to relax in the yard with our dogs and watch the people and carriages go by, after a long bike ride or shopping trip. The owner who lives in the building, is very nice and great at accommodating her guests. Our extended family group stayed in all three suites with our two small dogs. All of the suites are very clean and nicely decorated. There is also a nice area to store your bikes in the yard. I have stayed on the island more than 10 times and this is hands down the best place to stay if you are a family or couple traveling with (or without) a dog.

Room Tip: The Honeymoom Suite has a nice view. All suites are quiet, clean and comfortable. Wifi works great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sw250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Very cute place right off Main Street. I ditto what others have said about minimal noise, but it's my first night here so I'll update if that changes. We are in the southern sleeper and it is HUGE! Like an apartment! The lady Kris is very sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 72cooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mission Point
Mission Point
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Place Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Place Suites

Address: 7323 Market St, P.O. Box 1629, Mackinac Island, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $120 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the center of the downtown area. All of our units offer full size kitchens and there is an outdoor grill and eating area. We are children and pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Place Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing