We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cupola Bar not recommended do to service and choices” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cupola Bar

Cupola Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cupola Bar not recommended do to service and choices”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The waitress ignored me when I entered for a table, was unfiendly, unhelpful, extremely slow and there is not even a drink menu. The whole place is totally snobby. I will never return there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    69
    33
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great view of the island from this bar!!! The bar was closed while we were there because of a group that was in house. We were able to see the view from the bar though and it was amazing!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good view of the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Located at the top of the Grand Hotel. It is more of a spot to slowly sip a beverage and enjoy the view. Both times I visited, there was a lot of fog, but still offered a beautiful surrounding. It really is beautiful inside with the chandelier in the middle of the room and the little tables lined up against the wall.
On the walk up, the walls are lined with old photos, news clippings and menus from The Grand, dating back to the opening. The service is great and they are very good about not letting run out before offering you a second. That being said, it was quite expensive for 2 glasses of wine, and I probably won't do it again, but it was really nice to sip wine and view the grounds of the Grand.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed awhile andlistened to the music. It was nice but not something that we normally do. The music was nice and relaxing and the scenry outside was breathtaking from most angels in the room!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 21Kathy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax after dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are staying at the Grand Hotel, the Cupola Bar is a nice place to go after dinner. The autumn nighttime view is not as spectacular as in the day but you can still see the lights of some barges passing through the Straights of Mackinac at night. The bar has two stories and a pianist and or singer performs at night. Take the lobby elevator to the fourth floor and then it's stairs from there. You can sit and nurse your drink a long time and digest your five course dinner. Drinks are expensive there but you don't have to order anything really. If you plan to go dancing in the ballroom when it opens at 9:30 pm, The Cupola is a nice place to relax while you wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Canny-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupola Bar also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cupola Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing