We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View on the Island!”
Review of Cupola Bar

Cupola Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The Cupola Bar is located on the 5th and 6th floors of Grand Hotel with 180 degree views of the Straits of Mackinac and the Mackinac Bridge. Perfect for enjoying the sunset while enjoying a specialty cocktail, serving light bar fare.
Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best View on the Island!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are not staying at the Grand you can take the elevator to the 4th floor, exit to the right and take the stairs to the Cupola Bar (please remember guest rooms are directly under the stairs). The view is a spectacular 3-sided view of the Island, Straights, and Bridge. Drinks are expensive, however no more than Chicago ($12.00 martini, $6.00 Import beer) remember to ask for the snack mix. The most upper floor has music and is just an awesome experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NurseMichigan_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    79
    34
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sunset would be perfect here”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The cupola bar is on top of the Grand Hotel. You have to pay to get on the grounds, but it is worth coming here for a drink. There are beautiful views of the water. We were sorry we weren't there to see the sunset- they catch sunrise on one side and sunset on the other, and it is windows all around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stargal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy a glass of wine at the Top of the Grand Hotel!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The Cupola Bar was a must visit for us during our tour of the Grand Hotel, and it did not disappoint. We had a wonderful view of the Mackinaw Bridge, sipping great wine at a very reasonable price, in a cozy yet spacious atmosphere. The decor was fun yet stylish with a beautiful chandelier in the center of the room. Definitely worth the couple flights of stairs to get to the top!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onery13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Had a great view of the Bridge, delicious appetizers, good drinks and a FABULOUS pianist "Pete" and dance with my hubby.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but Pricey”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love this bar as it overlooks the Grand Hotel's front lawn. I go every time I visit the island... We ordered one drink, champagne and a beer: $30.00. Well, you kind of expect that if you frequent the Grand Hotel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cupola Bar also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cupola Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing