We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet and Delightful”
Review of Pine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pine Cottage B&B
Certificate of Excellence
Foley, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Quaint, Quiet and Delightful”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have stayed many places on Mackinac Island. This is not only affordable, it is quiet and comfortable. We had a nice view from our windows on the second floor. There was a little electric fireplace that kept the room cozy on a cold night. The room also had a TV with many channels. We were able to get the Red Wings playoff game. The breakfast was OK. Pine Cottage is located a short walk from town near St. Ann's Catholic Church. Because it is located off the main street, it was nice and quiet at night. There are many interesting antiques in the main dining room. I would stay here again. It was comfortable and a great value. Opt for a room with a private bath.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAtraveler36542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marquette, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I stay on Mackinac Island at least once a year we try a new location every time and prefer bed and breakfasts! We thought this place was decent for the price we were looking for...the bed was a bit lumpy and squeaky and sharing a bathroom with others in the building was a bit awkward but it was a slow time and we didn’t see many people. It had a lot of charm!

My husband was a bit saddened at the “continental breakfast” it was pretty...”petite” for a hungry guy. Hard boiled eggs, toast and bagels...for me it was perfect...the porch was nice and the road the bed and breakfast was on was quiet and charming!

Room Tip: A top floor room is best for quietness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Good value and off the main street , so relatively quiet.
Room was clean. Breakfast was adequate.
Overall this was a fair price and I would stay again. I was not expecting the Grand Hotel so level of service was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh6455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed for our first time on Mackinac Island over the 4th of July. Other visits we always flew back to the mainland to stay. It was a delight to be on the island and this location was perfect for a walk or bike ride to the main dining and shopping locations. Our room was small but neat and clean. Our a/c went out but we got immediate service. The shared bath was nice on the third floor but the toilet was a bit too close to the sink. Felt like you might hit your head if you sat down on it. But never had any issues with waiting to use the bathroom or shower. Breakfast was great! The stollen was excellent. Nice choice of grafruit or yogurt parfaits which was an added surprise. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. Our hats off to Piper....
Thought the value was great....you get what you pay for. If you want a pool, stay somewhere with a pool. If you want a five star hotel, stay there. Don't make this anymore than it is a clean, respectable B & B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cubflyer626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Service not poor...nonexistent. Good luck trying to locate anyone ANY time of day. No housekeeping at all and bed blankets don't seem clean. Terrible continental bfas (i'm talking generic brand cereals in boxes put out on buffet, stale danish and hard boiled eggs). Uncleared tables filled with dirty dishes..no staff in sight entire 3 day stay. A/c and TV went out and can't find anyone to reset fuse. Beds uncomfortable and bathroom rediculously small. Broken miniblinds, no remote for an ient tv. And, don't forget to bring your own shampoo for the trickle of a shower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bbmama109697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff is very nice but the beds are unbelievable uncomfortable. The breakfast was beyond delicious but we struggled a bit to figure out how to get our bags sent to the ferry with labels in the morning. The location was just a block or so down so nice walking location. The price was cheaper but it was very hot and we were wishing for a place with a pool and our room overlooked one right next door. We would probably go somewhere else next time but we will miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Off main street but still with view of water from porch. Robin and Paula were wonderful hosts. Robin makes all the bakery goods served each morning to guests. Rooms were small but nicely furnished. Baths were small but clean. Breakfast was wonderful. They serve tea and cookies from 6:00-9:00 each evening. Robin was very informative about the island and pointed out several things to see that were not in the brochure for the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annalaura54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
893 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
954 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cottage B&B

Property: Pine Cottage B&B
Address: 1427 Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pine Cottage B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of quiet Bogan Lane sits one of Mackinac Island's treasured hideaways - historic Pine Cottage B&B. Tucked away from the bustling Main Street but minutes away from everything wonderful that Mackinac has to offer! Pine Cottage offers beautiful rooms with one double bed or two double beds with private or shared baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Pine Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Cottage Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing