We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buyer beware...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Pine Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Cottage B&B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Buyer beware...”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Service not poor...nonexistent. Good luck trying to locate anyone ANY time of day. No housekeeping at all and bed blankets don't seem clean. Terrible continental bfas (i'm talking generic brand cereals in boxes put out on buffet, stale danish and hard boiled eggs). Uncleared tables filled with dirty dishes..no staff in sight entire 3 day stay. A/c and TV went out and can't find anyone to reset fuse. Beds uncomfortable and bathroom rediculously small. Broken miniblinds, no remote for an ient tv. And, don't forget to bring your own shampoo for the trickle of a shower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bbmama109697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The staff is very nice but the beds are unbelievable uncomfortable. The breakfast was beyond delicious but we struggled a bit to figure out how to get our bags sent to the ferry with labels in the morning. The location was just a block or so down so nice walking location. The price was cheaper but it was very hot and we were wishing for a place with a pool and our room overlooked one right next door. We would probably go somewhere else next time but we will miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaRae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
Level Contributor
169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Off main street but still with view of water from porch. Robin and Paula were wonderful hosts. Robin makes all the bakery goods served each morning to guests. Rooms were small but nicely furnished. Baths were small but clean. Breakfast was wonderful. They serve tea and cookies from 6:00-9:00 each evening. Robin was very informative about the island and pointed out several things to see that were not in the brochure for the island.

Room Tip: All rooms are on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annalaura54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

My husband and i went to Mackinac island In September of this year. We stayed at the pine cottage. The porch is so inviting. My husband and i sat in the afternoon sun just relaxing in the rocking chairs and enjoying the scenery. The room was very charming and cozy, except the bed was not very comfortable at all! It leaned to one side. Although the bed wasn't comfortable, the room was clean. The breakfast was delicious and the coffee was great! The tables were set to perfection! The room rates were also affordable. I would give it another try and stay here again but i wouldn't stay in room # 9 simply because of the bed.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room # 9 the bed leans to one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saunaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have been to Mackinac Island over twenty times and have stayed at so many places on the island including Mission Point, The Inn on Mackinac, Murray Hotel, etc. I can honestly say that Pine Cottage is one of, if not the best value on the island and their staff is extremely courteous and attentive to the needs of their guests as well. I always recommend this establishment when my family and friends ask for lodging recommendations on the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrizzlyB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My family and I continue our tradition of visiting Mackinac Island every year. And every year we stay at Pine Cottage or Chateau Lorraine.

We feel very at home at either B&B. Comfortable rooms with community bathrooms are perfect. We feel that we are always getting our monies worth when we stay here.

Because Mackinac is a place where you are mostly enjoying the outdoors its important that we aren't cooped up in our hotel all day long. Pine Cottage and Chateau Lorraine are a great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aalexanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Pine Cottage and just loved it! The accomodations were clean, comfortable and very charming. We also enjoyed the continental breakfast every morning and the rap around porch was a lovely place to relax throughout the day. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone looking for a comfortable, quiet place to relax while enjoying the island.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WannaGo2Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
817 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
907 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Cottage B&B

Property: Pine Cottage B&B
Address: 1427 Bogan Lane, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the end of quiet Bogan Lane sits one of Mackinac Island's treasured hideaways - historic Pine Cottage B&B. Tucked away from the bustling Main Street but minutes away from everything wonderful that Mackinac has to offer! Pine Cottage offers beautiful rooms with one double bed or two double beds with private or shared baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Cottage Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing