We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 5th anniversary at the Metivier. From Lucas to Bob to George and Blanca it was a great stay! The room and Inn is SO clean! We will never stay anywhere else but the Metivier. Breakfast was outstanding and very filling. We felt at home and comfortable. Leave your cell phones in the room and enjoy every minute!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    45
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
129
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Three Rivers, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We absolutely LOVED the Metivier. The owners and staff are friendly, professional, and accomodating. The inn and its grounds are gorgeous. Will be staying again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CappysGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband & I highly recommend Metivier Inn. This was our fourth trip to Mackinac Island. We have stayed at the Grand Hotel & Iroquois Hotel, both with their own uniqueness. And once at Mission Point with the children, worst place to stay for many reasons. However, now after my stay at Metivier, we have found a place to return to year after year. I felt at home here & spoiled by the Inn keepers David & Blanca. Our room was the Grand View, with our own private patio & whirlpool. I truly felt like I was in paradise. Waking up in the morning to a soft rain & seeing the beautiful hydrangeas out my window with the sound of horse hoofs clip-clopping in the distance. It is a slower pace & that’s why we come here & stay for days. The breakfast was over the top. David & Blanca served hot oatmeal with homemade granola, yogurt, hot egg dish, sausage, fresh fruit bowl, pastry with huge slices of apple in it ( I can still taste it, so good ), gourmet breads, coffees & teas. Oh, & cereals for the kids. My husband & I love to bike, usually until dark & this breakfast kept us going! This Inn is perfect – the flowers – the service – the breakfast – the porch for people watching – the room & private patio. Please don’t change a thing. Visitor tips for the Island : Bring your own bike, stay away from Main street except for getting Fudge, pack a lunch & sit on the shore, eat at the Tea room & get there at 11 for a table under the yellow umbrella, tour the Grand Hotel , bike every possible road & stay over night because it is so quiet & beautiful. My teenage kids even enjoyed themselves on the Island, without their video games! Our next trip will be with all the kids & we will be only staying at Metivier Inn. Thank you so much for a perfect vacation get away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BikePrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I loved my stay at the Metivier Inn! The employees are very friendly and accomodating, the rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable. The inn has a wonderful porch that wraps around the building and beautiful flower beds. It's very close to everything. I would strongly recommend the Metivier to anyone interested in visiting the island.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mississippi1756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2009

As the tour guides pass the inn we hear them say, "this is the best inn on the island." We whole-heartedly agree. Each time we stay at the Metivier Inn we want to stay longer next time. The ambiance of the inn is perfect with several porches and areas to relax in solitude, or observe the fabulous gardens. The gardens are exquisitely planned, groomed, and the object of several painters on the island. The bedrooms are typical hotel room size with everything you need, up-to-date televisions, and most importantly, VERY comfortable beds. Finally, the service is friendly, prompt and accommodating. With the ideal location, I recommend this inn to all for a great vacation.

Helpful?
1 Thank 20137-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pentwater, mi
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

I chose the Metivier Inn because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. Let me start by saying this is not a typical bed & breakfast. The Inn has 22 rooms. It gets very crowded in the high season. Also, I paid for a standard plus room (not the cheapest) and we were put on the 3rd floor in a room that you could barely turn around in. We counted the steps from the street and there were 41 steps to get to our room. If anyone in your party is elderly or has any limitations you need to let the Inn know BEFORE you make a reservation.....otherwise be prepared to climb!
The people are very pleasant and polite! The gardens are beautiful. The porches are also nice. This Inn has been re-done in the Victorian manner of the Island.
The breakfast is filling but NOT gourmet as they advertise. My husband and I have stayed at the Windermere, the Grand Hotel and Stonecliffe on the Island and we would recommend the Windermere over the Metivier Inn at this point. Let's put it this way......if you like a small room for $215.00 a night and love to climb steps....this is the place for you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jegaPentwater_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Metivier Inn has become our home away from home for extended family vacations. Everyone who has joined us over the years has fallen in love with the place. The hosts are the best, the accommodations are very nice and comfortable, the location is nearly perfect (except the year while they were building the new medical clinic next door), and the place is the talk of the island due to the beautiful landscaping. Breakfasts are wonderful, as are the afternoon treats. The porches are perfect for sitting and listening to the passing of the horses. You can even rent one to ride directly across the street. And no, the showers are not perfect---rather small and not convenient for those who are tall.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimiMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
723 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Property: Metivier Inn
Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing