We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mackinac-style B&B”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
36
Reviewed August 19, 2004

The hotel is very clean although the rooms are pretty small, and the walls thin. There are no TVs in the rooms. You can go downstairs to the TV room though. Good location to shops and restaurants although you can't see the water. Good breakfast, but little kids might not like the food. Very hospitable owners and great gardens!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 211 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, OH
110
Reviewed August 10, 2004

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Metivier this month. Everything about our stay was perfect. We talked frequently about the location. Being on Market street, we were away from the crowd, but on the carriage routes. The clip-clopping horses added to the turn of the century atmosphere. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch with our coffee or tea and just watching the carriages go by. Call ahead and have them schedule perfect weather (like we had)! It was a truly memorable weekend.


  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2003

I LOVED the Mitivier Inn!!! It was beautiful and very homey! The owners were very hospitable and I would definitely return there!! Congrats to Claudia and Al!!

3  Thank kourtneyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
eastpointe, michigan
13
Reviewed October 9, 2003

Angie and Leonard are by far the best people on Mackinac Island. The Metivier is beautiful, serene and ready to take on the challenge of a bride and grooms family. We will be back! You have the best breakfast on the island.
Quiqui

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2003

Mackinac Island is my favorite place on earth by far! We (our whole family) goes to the island at least twice a year. We have stayed at just about every place on the island (except for the Grand-I did not think it was kid friendly enough and the price is outrageous!) but, Metivier is by far our favorite place. I have stayed there 3 times now and husband and I are scheduled to visit there in less than 2 weeks from now-we will be staying in our favorite room....the turret room!
The porch is so awesome! Comfortable furniture and an awesome view of the street and people below. You can't go wrong staying here.
Everything about the Metivier is A+~ If you want the view of someone with experience-then take my word...Metivier is worth every penny!

Have fun~

11  Thank treeoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2003

We just spent a night at the Inn and had a pleasant stay. It's one block up from the docks so you can easily take your own luggage. The rooms were simply furnished and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The front porch and lawn were delightful.

7  Thank MGreene16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
TOLEDO OHIO
19
Reviewed July 10, 2003

My wife and I have gone to the island for the last 9 years. in October.
We would go to a new place each year, but after stayng at The Metivier 4 years ago we found a home. The location, rooms and staff have always top notch. We have already confirmed our reservation for this year.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
765 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $120 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing