We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's fun to be a porch person!”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

As a lifelong Michigander I have been to Mackinaw Island many times! Several times I have stayed at some of the larger hotels and resorts. But as we would walk or bike around the island I would always look longingly at the bed and breakfasts and become envious of the people lounging on the beautiful front porches or in the gardens. I would think, someday I will be on that porch!
Someday came!. My daughter and I recently stayed at the Metivier Inn for 2 nights as a celebration of her birthday and a send off to grad school. It was everything I hoped for and more! We loved being porch people and waving at the wagon tours as they would pass! The lounge chairs in the front garden also are a great spot for a cup of afternoon tea or happy hour!
Our room was an average size for a bed and breakfast and the en suite bath is always a plus. The entire Inn is very clean! Every staff member that we encountered was friendly and professional. The breakfast buffet had many choices including hot or cold cereal, granola, coffee cake, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, an egg dish, French toast and more!
We would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katywampus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful! The room had a gorgeous view and the jacuzzi was wonderful. The only remotely negative thing was it was a smidge cramped with our luggage but that is a very minor complaint. Otherwise it was fantastic. It was close to everything you'd want to do and we very much enjoyed their beautiful landscaping! We highly recommend the Metivier Inn and they provide a wonderful breakfast as well!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acole82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Metievier for two nights to celebrate our 17th anniversary. We stayed in room 5 which is the turret room and is one of the rooms in the original part of the house. It was beautifully decorated and very clean and the flower gardens are some of the most beautiful on the island. The canopy bed was so comfortable with a memory foam topper and a lovely quilt. The room was the perfect size for my husband and me. Loved the lilac soap in the bathroom! Even found some like it in a gift shop so bought it to take some of Mackinac home with me. The breakfast was delicious with something for everyone. The oatmeal was especially delicious with apple and cranberries. There was also sliced ham, cheesy scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, English muffins, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, homemade Danish, small boxes of cold cereal, milk, orange juice, various flavors of tea, and coffee. If you went away hungry, it was your own fault! The staff was very friendly and helpful. There was also a refrigerator, microwave, and ice machine for the residents to use. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Titansfans6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Located just off the main street but close to Grand Hotel and Starline ferry.
Staff is very helpful. Highlight is the front porch overlooking the garden. Perfect for eating breakfast on or mapping out the day's events. The back yard is a great place to relax but I never saw anyone back there. Our room (#7) is the the smallest in the place. As are the other 2 original rooms. Not a problem since we only slept in it. There is a sitting area with plenty of room to stretch out. Did not feel cramped even though it was booked. I think there are about 20 rooms. Breakfast is buffet style from 7:30 to 9:30. Ham and scrambled eggs were served along with breads, desserts, oatmeal and yogurt. We heard the dining room is a little crowded at the 8 - 8:30 peak. We went at 9:00 and had our pick of tables. After check out you are invited use the facilities and help yourself to coffee for the rest of the day. You can keep your luggage in an unguarded shed outside the check in door. Valuables may be kept behind the desk.

Room Tip: The 3 original rooms are small. Still sufficient for sleeping and light luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madfik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I just stayed for 4 days at the Metivier Inn for my 50th birthday. What a beautiful Bed and breakfast. The room was clean, beautifully decorated and had a very warm feel. The staff went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. The hot breakfast was very good and there was always plenty of food. The landscaping surrounding the Inn was gorgeous ! The owner definitely has a green thumb. Many people would just stop to take pictures of the grounds.

The room we stayed in was a little small, but still beautiful. If you have any issues with stairs make sure to let them know this ahead of time. We were on the 3rd floor and we just got used to the stairs. Bringing the suitcases down was a bit of a challenge but we made it work.

My husband and I will definitely come back and would stay at the Metivier Inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Metivier Inn I randomly stumbled upon when looking for a place to stay for five nights on Mackinac Island - what a pleasure it was to stay there! It definitely exceeded our expectations and we will definitely stay at Metivier Inn when we come back to Mackinac Island.

The staff, although busy, was always willing to answer any questions we had. Upon check-in there was fudge available as well as afternoon treats (tea, coffee, water and cookies) and our room was immediately available in the afternoon as promised.

Location was a huge plus - not on the main street which kept it very peaceful yet convenient! It is a very short walk (<5 minutes) from the docks for the Star Line ferry. We used a porter to carry our luggage when arriving on the island for $1/bag (worth it!!).

The porch was wonderful - private enough to sit and watch everyone go by and not feel like you were being exposed. Two tables for eating breakfast outside or just conversing with friends on the porch were also available. Make sure to check-out the backyard gardens - they are beautiful (they back up to the Grand's golf course) and very private.

Breakfast is served from 7:30-9:30 a.m. daily and has a great selection, including hot items.

The upkeep is fantastic - painting outside and gardens make this B&B one of the best on the island in my opinion. The rooms were very clean and the maid service did a great job everyday freshening up our room. Overall the Inn was very quiet.

Our room was pleasantly decorated (queen bed room) - with our own A/C unit. The bed was comfy and there was plenty of room for my husband and I to move about. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom so no need to bring your own!

The only 'watch-outs'...there really isn't an overview of the B&B in your room, for instance the wifi password (ask upon checking-in). That would be a great addition to the rooms - something that gave the lay of the land for guests to understand what is available (include restaurants in the area, etc.). (FYI - there is a small community fridge and ice machine too!) Also a couple friend also staying at Metivier noted that their room had spotty internet (Room 1), while we were fine (Room 18). Note that Rooms 1 & 2 are right off of the porch where guests can sit - however, the Inn does 'close-off' the area between 9 p.m. to 8 a.m. for privacy for these guests.

Look passed the negative reviews by others - this B&B is large (22 rooms) so accommodating to dietary needs for one person is seemingly difficult (would suggest looking for a much smaller B&B then) and the smell from the horses is just a part of Mackinac :)

Room Tip: Ask which room you are reserving when making arrangements - try to stay clear of Rooms 1&2 (righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Came to Mackinac Island with my wife, daughter son in law and Grandbaby and the Metivier Inn was our choice to stay at. This turned out to be a most excellent choice. The staff friendly and very efficient ready to do for you whatever you needed. The breakfast was always very good and the water and snacks amazing. The rooms were perfect, roomy , comfortable, cool and very clean. I am so glad to have stayed here for it made our trip so much better. My heartfelt thanks to the staff of the Metivier Inn. I will be back. And I highly recommend it as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,090 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
539 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $120 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing