We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly Clean and Great Location”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fenton, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazingly Clean and Great Location”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in Suite 23 which is their nicest room. We were TOTALLY happy with everything! We arrived early and used their luggage storage area until we could check in. When we came in, the lady behind the counter was helpful, but not very welcoming. We received a quick tour of the property and was directed to our room. The grounds upon first glance are very clean, modernized, and very pleasing. When we got to our room, we were amazed! It was so clean, updated, and new! Suite 23 has a private balcony (not as private as one might like, but we were happy with it, there is a public door that backs right up to the balcony. We only had one gentleman come through that door to smoke out in the gardens). Our room was great. The breakfast was a buffet style and had plenty of choices. However, it was basically a really fancy continental breakfast, but more quality stuff. We left satisfied, but wasn't like the other place we stayed that served us in a dining area. The large flat screen tv was great to relax to and they had a lot of channels to view. The room AC was turned on prior to our arrival and that was much appreciated. We WILL be coming back to this place and paying the premium price for suite 23. You won't be disappointed. It's great. (the jacuzzi suite as described on their site with the green walls and decor). The location is the best and a VERY short walk to all of the shops, horse stables, bike rentals, and ferrys. The easiest to use would be Sheplers as it's a 2 minute walk from the dock. GREAT PLACE. Can't say enough!!

Room Tip: Suite 23 (grand view jacuzzi suite) is amazing. Backs right up to the garden in the back which is am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coastie165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
123
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just had our 5th stay at the Metivier Inn and this is the only place we suggest to everyone for their vacation. We have stayed at a few of the other inns over the years but the Metivier is priced right and the innkeepers are so endearing you want to create a lasting friendship with them. For me to sleep well means the beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean. The gardens are beautiful and relaxing to watch as you enjoy a glass of wine while sitting on the broad veranda. If you are staying there be sure to have Dave's oatmeal for beakfast, which is so yummy! We can't wait until next July to once again return to the care and relaxation this inn provides. Maybe we won't wait until next year but return for Halloween!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Our family of four stayed in a room with a queen bed and a pull-out sofa. We loved it, although I would recommend a suite for a family if possible. The beds were wonderfully comfortable!

The food was good, there was a little bit of everything to please all types of eaters. My older daughter wished for pancakes, but I guess you can't make everyone happy! I appreciated the coffee, teas, lemonade, and water that was available throughout the day. It was nice to stop in and refresh before embarking on our next island adventure. The front porch was wonderful and the gardens are absolutely spectacular!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Croperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We tried to book a last minute stay the week of July 4th at another B&B on the Island that we like, but they were booked. My wife asked for suggestions, and the Metivier Inn was recommended. We gave them a call and luckily they had a room available. The Inn more than exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location is awesome - close enough to main street to walk there easily, but not right on the main street, where the crowds can become a bit overwhelming during the day. We enjoyed our room very much. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. Each room has its own temperature control, which was nice because it was very hot for Mackinac Island when we visited. We also enjoyed sitting out on the huge front porch, enjoying a bottle of wine, some cheese and crackers, and people watching. You can also watch the horses leave and return from the stable right across the street, which was nice. Our hosts were very busy with a full Inn, but were always willing to help take a picture or offer a suggestion. We enjoyed our stay so much, this may become our new go to place on the Island. The B&B that recommended the Metivier Inn to us may be sorry they did!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmeade88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Staying on Mackinac Island is a little like fantasy. It's a step back in time and so beautiful. It's hard to know where to stay for sure. This is the 4th time for me staying over night on the Island, and the first time at Metivier Inn. It's a wonderful B&B and I would say that I would definitely stay there again.
We had a nice comfortable room. Breakfast was great. .... but the porch..... There is a great porch to sit and relax during the day or into the evening. We weren't the only people to enjoy that.

There is something magical about Mackinac Island in the evening. Once the last boats leave with day visitors, and the Island quiets down, you feel the real essence of the place. It is gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-bella24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was my first trip to the island but my sister's been there several times and she had wanted to stay at the Metivier Inn so she chose the tower room for us. It's a beautiful room facing Market street which is bustling during the day but nice and quiet at night. It rained almost the entire time we were there so we spent more time than usual in our room. Coming in damp and chilled from being outside I loved the adjustable heat control. The snowy white sheets and towels in our room were beautiful. And I loved the glycerine hand soap! Yummy. I would have liked to take some of that home. The only suggestion I have is that it would have been nice if there was an information sheet in our room outlining things like when breakfast and afternoon snacks would be served. And how to get our luggage transport arranged. General guest information. Oh and by the way... It's true about their oatmeal... It's delicious!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the view from the tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently stayed for a second time at The Metivier Inn on Mackinac Island. We took advantage of the early season on the island and the Inn's "stay 2 nights get a 3rd night free" offer. Although it was too early for all the lilacs and flowers we still enjoyed the beauty of the grounds and sitting both in the yard and on the large front porch. The Inn is on Market Street, one block from Main Street, but is much quieter yet close to the action.

We had stayed at the inn 2 years ago with our kids in their larger Deluxe Suite so we wanted the same room again. We planned 3 days of bike riding and we wanted a refrigerator and more space. Room 12 has a separate entrance from a side porch and we enjoyed sitting on the porch for our afternoon cocktails and morning rest. Because our room has a refrigerator and a table and chairs we brought some grocery items and had lunch and snacks in our room. That way we didn't have to eat every meal out in a restaurant. That really helped save on dollars and calories!! We also liked having the couch and table for relaxing, reading emails, etc., instead of just sitting on the bed or in an arm chair.

Breakfast was always good and the staff was always friendly and helpful. The ferry line misplaced our cooler, with all our food, and the staff was very helpful to make sure it finally caught up with us! Afternoon cookies with a cup of fresh coffee was a perfect pick me up before an afternoon ride. I remarked to my husband that Mackinac Island was like Disney World in that no matter how many times you go you can find new things you haven't seen or done before!!

We will definitely go again and stay at the Metivier.

Room Tip: Call and ask about the different rooms, they are very helpful. Book rooms 12-15 if you want the love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaelicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Property: Metivier Inn
Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing