We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy rooms, nice breakfast, great location”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, IN
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Comfy rooms, nice breakfast, great location”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed at the Metivier over the last weekend with my husband and eight year old son, as well as some good friends. The rooms, as always, were nicely decorated and cozy. They had soft sheets above and below a thin comforter-type blanket, which I always appreciate. We had a room that faced the rear garden, so no real view. We had a window air conditioner (it was unusually hot), and while I prefer the ones on the wall, but it did cool things off. Towels were soft, bath products proviced were good, especially glycerin and lilac soaps.

The breakfast was very tasty both mornings we were there. There are always hard-boiled eggs, "George's oatmeal", and breads of all kinds. There was a cheesy egg casserole one morning and sausage, and a sausage and biscuit casserole another morning, and don't forget the yummy pastry. Juice, milk, water, coffee and tea are always available. There was lemonade and ice water available in the afternoons. and fudge arrived every afternoon in the mid-afternoon .

Our friends stayed in the little suite on the side porch. It had a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, and small table and chairs in one room and a queen size bed in the other. The bathroom had a nice, long counter with with a sink, but the shower was a very small stall that our tall friend had a real challenge getting in to.

If we had any comment for improvement, it would just be to have more friendly and smiling service from the innkeepers. I know they must get tired living where they work, but the friendliest person there was an older gentleman who was part of the staff (not sure if he was an innkeeper or owner). If they all just smiled and chatted a little more, it would be an even more positive experience.

All in all, I would highly recommend The Metivier Inn as a wonderful and comfortable place to stay on Mackinac. It's close to everything, yet not on the very busy main street.

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the front and along the side porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MackinacMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind response after staying with us at Metivier Inn. We take pride in keeping our Inn comfortable for our guests. We appreciate your comments and we always strive to provide the best service for you. We hope you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    43
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
123
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
central Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We keep returning only to find things improved each time! The new shower heads were welcomed by the taller guys in our party who used to complain about them being too low. The one addition/change that I didn't care for is a personal dislike of memory foam toppers on the beds. They feel great but I get too warm. One part of our group was disappointed to see that televisions had been added to the rooms since they last joined us but the TV didn't bother us and came in handy for weather reports.

The grounds were as beautiful as before thanks to Diane's hard work, as well as their staff. Two of the owners, Mike and Diane, are as warm and genuine as ever and the managers, Blanca and Dave, were always tending to the needs of guests.and doing a great job---as usual. I always look forward to that great oatmeal and the breakfasts are wonderful. By the way, the rooms are air conditioned and many places on the island are not. The prices are high, but so is everything on the island...and it's worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MimiMom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for responding! The best compliment we can receive as Innkeepers is to hear that Metivier is your home-away-from-home. We continually upgrade and improve Metivier so you always receive the highest quality accomodations for the best value on Mackinac Island. Thanks again and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We spent three relaxing nights at this delightful inn one block off Main Street, which proved to be an excellent choice. We got to sit on the veranda, sip cool beverages, and watch the carriages, bicyclists, and walkers go by but without the congestion on Main. We were within walking distance, however, of shops and restaurants, as well as historical, cultural, and recreational opportunities.The breakfasts were excellent; we enjoyed handmade fudge every afternoon, which is the specialty of the island. This is one of the most beautiful Victorian mansions on the island! The owners and staff were friendly and helpful, too. We would definitely return to Mackinac Island and this charming B&B!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your reply! We are happy you found our location to be perfect for your stay. Our Inn is located in the ideal place to experience all Mackinac Island has to offer. We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was one of the prettiest, if not the prettiest, Inn on the Island. Was actually more peaceful than staying on main street but just as convenient as was only a two minute walk to everything there and not as much hustle and bustle in front. Very clean rooms and common areas. Good amenities in the room, toiletries, good towels, hair dryer. Beautiful big porch to have breakfast on and relax later in the day. Buffet breakfast was very good and fresh, though was not "gourmet" as was in the ad. But we were not looking for "gourmet" anyway so it didn't matter. We kept missing the afternoon snacks. It didn't seem to be put out at a specific time so in the 3 afternoons we were there seemed to always fall on the leftover bits. Would have been nice to have some lemonade or ice tea instead of just coffee and tea then as well. Convenient bike rack in front. Overall we were quite pleased with our choice of Inn and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want the afternoon snacks ask exactly what time they put it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for responding to your stay with us here at Metivier Inn. We try our hardest to make every experience memorable for our guests. Thank you for notifying us about the afternoon sweet. We normally put out the sweets around 3pm. We appreciate your comment and we look forward to your next stay with us at Metivier Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have stayed on the island around 10 times at various locations. All except one of the locations we would return to but really enjoyed the Metivier the first time around so gave them another chance. We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and seemed to always ask if there was anything they could do. The breakfast was great and had plenty of choices. The first time around we stayed in the suite in the back but this time stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the garden. The room was on the side of the property and very quiet. There was a porch outside our room available to relax but we generally sat on the front porch overlooking Market Street watching the horses and vistors go by. It was not on the main street of the city but there is some shopping and is only about a block from downtown shopping and eating establishments. Coffee and cookies were served in the afternoon. There was only one minor issue and would not affect most visitors - My wife and I enjoy coffee in the evening and there is none available after 7:00. Other than that my wife and I will plan to stay at the Metiever again next year if not later this fall.
Just as an FYI we enjoy: Eating lunch at the Tea Room in the fort overlooking the city. Horn's Bar and Grill for dinner. Walking to the West Bluff to view the "Cottages". Walking the Boardwalk. Another plus for us this year was visiting the new Art Museum.
If going to Mackinac Island enjoy your trip. A day trip is fine but being on the island at night is an experience in itself with less hustle and bustle. Take your time and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackinacDreamerDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words! You offer some great suggestions for guests visiting our beautiful Island! We are also glad to hear you are a returning guest to Metivier Inn. It is a wonderful compliment for us. We look forward to your return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed at the Metivier Inn on a Monday night the first week of June, 2011. The Inn was very clean as was our room. Our room had a private bath with a partial view of the water. Their buffet breakfast was extensive with a hot egg dish, delicious oatmeal, sausage, sweet rolls, juice, fruit, etc. Everyone at the Inn was very nice and accomodating. They stored our luggage for some time after checkout until we were ready to leave the island. This Inn is located on Market Street very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambiBSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Happy Anniversary! We are excited to hear you chose to stay at Metivier on your special day. Thank you for your positive words and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This bed and breakfast has a great location, one block off the main drag of Mac Island. Most resturants, bars, etc are within walking distance. They have a great breakfast; the rooms are ample in size. The whole "home" was very clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly. Check out is at 11:00 am, but you can leave your bags for pick up later in the day, which was very accomodating. We enjoyed our stay at this B&B on Market St on Mac Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for responding! We are excited to hear you took advantage of our special rates had a wonderful stay with us at Metivier Inn! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Property: Metivier Inn
Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing