We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn...Great stay”
Review of Metivier Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metivier Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn...Great stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was one of the prettiest, if not the prettiest, Inn on the Island. Was actually more peaceful than staying on main street but just as convenient as was only a two minute walk to everything there and not as much hustle and bustle in front. Very clean rooms and common areas. Good amenities in the room, toiletries, good towels, hair dryer. Beautiful big porch to have breakfast on and relax later in the day. Buffet breakfast was very good and fresh, though was not "gourmet" as was in the ad. But we were not looking for "gourmet" anyway so it didn't matter. We kept missing the afternoon snacks. It didn't seem to be put out at a specific time so in the 3 afternoons we were there seemed to always fall on the leftover bits. Would have been nice to have some lemonade or ice tea instead of just coffee and tea then as well. Convenient bike rack in front. Overall we were quite pleased with our choice of Inn and would definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want the afternoon snacks ask exactly what time they put it out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for responding to your stay with us here at Metivier Inn. We try our hardest to make every experience memorable for our guests. Thank you for notifying us about the afternoon sweet. We normally put out the sweets around 3pm. We appreciate your comment and we look forward to your next stay with us at Metivier Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    38
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wabash, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We have stayed on the island around 10 times at various locations. All except one of the locations we would return to but really enjoyed the Metivier the first time around so gave them another chance. We were not disappointed. The staff was friendly and seemed to always ask if there was anything they could do. The breakfast was great and had plenty of choices. The first time around we stayed in the suite in the back but this time stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the garden. The room was on the side of the property and very quiet. There was a porch outside our room available to relax but we generally sat on the front porch overlooking Market Street watching the horses and vistors go by. It was not on the main street of the city but there is some shopping and is only about a block from downtown shopping and eating establishments. Coffee and cookies were served in the afternoon. There was only one minor issue and would not affect most visitors - My wife and I enjoy coffee in the evening and there is none available after 7:00. Other than that my wife and I will plan to stay at the Metiever again next year if not later this fall.
Just as an FYI we enjoy: Eating lunch at the Tea Room in the fort overlooking the city. Horn's Bar and Grill for dinner. Walking to the West Bluff to view the "Cottages". Walking the Boardwalk. Another plus for us this year was visiting the new Art Museum.
If going to Mackinac Island enjoy your trip. A day trip is fine but being on the island at night is an experience in itself with less hustle and bustle. Take your time and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackinacDreamerDDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words! You offer some great suggestions for guests visiting our beautiful Island! We are also glad to hear you are a returning guest to Metivier Inn. It is a wonderful compliment for us. We look forward to your return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Stayed at the Metivier Inn on a Monday night the first week of June, 2011. The Inn was very clean as was our room. Our room had a private bath with a partial view of the water. Their buffet breakfast was extensive with a hot egg dish, delicious oatmeal, sausage, sweet rolls, juice, fruit, etc. Everyone at the Inn was very nice and accomodating. They stored our luggage for some time after checkout until we were ready to leave the island. This Inn is located on Market Street very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambiBSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Happy Anniversary! We are excited to hear you chose to stay at Metivier on your special day. Thank you for your positive words and we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellaire, MI
Level Contributor
269 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This bed and breakfast has a great location, one block off the main drag of Mac Island. Most resturants, bars, etc are within walking distance. They have a great breakfast; the rooms are ample in size. The whole "home" was very clean and tidy. The staff was very friendly. Check out is at 11:00 am, but you can leave your bags for pick up later in the day, which was very accomodating. We enjoyed our stay at this B&B on Market St on Mac Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaire56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fudgie2008, Owner at Metivier Inn, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for responding! We are excited to hear you took advantage of our special rates had a wonderful stay with us at Metivier Inn! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Went to Mackinac Island for the first time in Aug 2010. We loved the Metivier. It is so beautiful, the flowers are breathtaking, the front porch was a wonderful place to relax and read and our room was very pretty, super clean and very comfortable. A little on the small side but that didn't bother us. Breakfast was varied and tasty. Wonderful oatmeal, rolls, egg dish, etc. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

this is not the B&B for you. Maybe my expectations were too high. During past B&B visits, when checking in you're greeted by either the owner or a comparable representative. We arrived at the Metivier Inn mid-afternoon on a Saturday. It appeared that the B&B was being run by a group of Filapino workers. The only person that didn't speak broken English was the Filapino gentleman at the front desk. Loud music was playing, and it was not what I would refer to as island music. It felt like I was checking in to a $35/night Econolodge. I asked for assistance with the A/C, and the worker had difficulty communicating. The furnishings were nice and our room was very clean. We did not see the owner until the following morning, as he was preparing breakfast. Other than powdered eggs in the casserole, the breakfast was plentiful. I discussed my thoughts with the owner the following day. I was told the island is "seasonal," and it's difficult to find workers since most want year-round employment. I'm not intending to sound racist here. When visiting Mackinac Island, and paying top dollar for a night's stay, I expect the Inn to have an "American" feel. This Inn did not.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilidog040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

The rooms are cozy and beautiful, the breakfasts are simple but creative, yummy (I think my husband would sell his soul for the cheese danish recipe) and filling, and the gardens are AMAZING! I love that it's one block off of main street - still close to all the touristy shops, but on a much quieter street. This is our second stay here and it will NOT be our last! If you've never been to Mackinac Island overnight, I would highly recommend trying it and staying here. The evenings after the last ferry leaves and the mornings before the first ferry arrives are like slices of heaven.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metivier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metivier Inn

Property: Metivier Inn
Address: 7466 Market St, P.O. Box 285, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Metivier Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metivier Inn, conveniently located on historic Market Street on Mackinac Island, Michigan, was built by Louis Metivier as a private residence in 1877. Shortly after its 100th anniversary, the current owner remodeled the inn keeping the original French and English influence. Metivier Inn offers 22 charming guest rooms for your stay, each including air conditioning and private baths, flat screen T.V. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Metivier Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing