We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haan's was just OK”
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago,Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Haan's was just OK”
Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at B and B's for about 25 years. We have many experience to compare our stay at Haan's to this past weekend. The inn keepers were pleasent but we found them to be unaccomodating to a small need that we had that concerned our religious requirements on a Sunday before attending Mass. The request concerned coming to breakfast at 8am instead of 8:30am. Since they did not prepare a cooked breakfast, this should not have been a problem. All foods were help yourself. We gave them several occasions to meet our need with no consideration. The room was lovely and clean. The location was perfect. Sorry to say that Haan's lost big points with us when it would have taken so little effort to say " come down at
8am, it won't be a problem."

Future Minocqua Innkeepers.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jujubee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mackinacnick, owner at Haan's 1830 Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2009
they wanted to come down at 5 AM ! and were very offended when I mentioned that we could not get up that early
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Center, MI
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We were very pleased with our stay at Haan's 1830 Inn. When we arrived at the Inn, we were greated by Bud, who showed us to our room, the Governor Cass Suite. The room was clean and the decor was charming. Throughout our stay, Bud and his wife Judy made every effort to make our stay enjoyable for us and our three young children. The price for our stay was very reasonable; the cost was the same or less than what we would have paid in Mackinaw City. Best of all for us was the fact that the Inn was close to town (about a 5 minute walk) but not in town, which kept us away from the bustle and bar noise. We will definitely stay there the next time we go to the island.

A couple of things to keep in mind. There are no hair dryers in the rooms, so if that is important to you, you will want to bring one along. Also, the shower had great water pressure, but it did not have anti-scald shower valves (not sure if it was just this room or all the rooms), so be prepared for some extremes in temperature if another guest is using water at the same time.

  • Liked — The location and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The size of the bed--I think it was full or queen and I wish it was a king; very cramped
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wolverinefanbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
218 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2006

Mackinac Island abounds with B&Bs, and we have stayed at several. Haan's was not the best, but it was quite pleasant and we can recommend staying here. The location is close to the main tourist drag, but far enough away to avoid the major noise and heavy crowds (although outdoor events at the church next door can be noisy, they don't last late at night). The rooms are lovingly decorated and very attractive. The very best feature of this property is the wide shady porches on both levels, where it is very pleasant to sit, read a book, and watch people and horses go by. The breakfast breads are yummy and fresh, although during our stay the fruit was canned, a disappointment. Two minor peeves - no hair dryers in the rooms, and no access to coffee or tea except during breakfast. But the hosts are friendly and welcoming, and provide a good atmosphere.

Helpful?
3 Thank Fuzby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 9, 2005

For ten consecutive years I stayed a weekend at Haan's Inn. The innkeepers became extended family. Each year we were treated like royalty. They went above and beyond to make my stay special. Every day is a beautiful day on Mackinac Island when you stay at Haan's 1830 Inn.

The rooms are terrific and the inn is off of the Main Drag and therefore does not have the noise from the bars.

Make certain to book VERY early in the year. Now that Haan's has hit the web they book in very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 15, 2004

We stayed at Haan's B & B on June 12, 2004. The room was very nice and extremely clean. Some of the rooms have two bedrooms. The owners were great. We brought are two girls ages 6 & 11 and they loved it.

I would have given it five stars, but the breakfast didn't have a hot dish.

Take Arnold's Ferry becasue they will take your luggage to your hotel for you. (Shepler's doesn't)

You have to eat at WAFFLE WORLD!!! (Ask for the WACKY Waffle, it's to die for!)

SPANKY'S CAFE is a cool clothing store for guys and Gals. It has the only car on the island.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Property: Haan's 1830 Inn
Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing