We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Quaint”
Review of Haan's 1830 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haan's 1830 Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Mascoutah, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Quaint”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I took a solo trip to Mackinac Island, and after reading other B & B reviews, and checking out prices, I settled with Haan's 1830 Inn. I called and reserved the Beaumont Timeless Luxury Suite and was laughed at over the phone when I said I would be staying there alone. (There are 3 beds in the room.) When I arrived, I was greeted by name and immediately shown to my room. I was told I could pay any time that was convenient for me, as long as it was before I left. The room was clean and well furnished. There was a large bed in the center, plenty of lighting, a chair, small sofa/bench, a desk, two end tables, and a large dresser. The most interesting furnishing by far was a large bookshelf built in to the wall with about 70 years' worth of National Geographic magazines. Very cool. The conjoining room had two twin beds, an end table, a large dresser, and two lamps. As other reviewers have stated, there was no TV. Which was fine by me. The only slightly annoying thing was the wireless internet. There was no security key code given at check- in, so if you want to use the internet, just make sure you ask for the code during duty hours or you won't be using it.
I noticed another reviewer said not to use Sheplers Ferry because it was too far from the inn, so I made sure I used Arnold's. I would recommend doing the same, even though Arnold's isn't that much closer. I guarantee your shoulder will start hurting from carrying your bags by the time you get to Haan's, so you will want to get as close as possible.
To get to Haan's from either Shepler's or Arnold's, you will make a right turn from the ferry service, then walk through town maybe a half mile- three quarters. Then you will pass the Butterfly House and St Anne's Catholic church, and Haan's will be the next house on the left.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    19
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Haan's embodies the whole purpose of Mackinac Island - simplicity... unplug, slow down, and actually appreciate time. We've stayed at Haan's every year we could since 1994, for those reasons, and because the owners are so friendly and accommodating, yet unobtrusive. You can curl up in your own little world in the room, porch or parlor, or Nick Haan can tell you stories and history until he's blue in the face.

No, there's no TV. You don't need TV... you're on the wrong island. Go to the Seabiscuit or Goodfellows, or back to America.

Haan's is a few blocks from downtown and the ferry docks, about a 10-15 minutes walk. Dock porters will bring your bags for a tip, or catch a taxi. Luggage can be dropped early if your room isn't ready for check-in yet. Bike parking is plenty.

Continental breakfast and coffee hit the spot - no one needs 6 eggs before biking the island. Try Jesse's Chuckwagon sometime. Or run to Doud's Market for some Whitefish Pate, crackers and a couple Labatts or wine. Ryba's a good chilli-cheese fries.

Haan's is a great jumping-off point for a bike ride... take a left out of the Inn, and go around the island, or take the next left to go quickly (and steeply) toward the center of the island, the cemeteries, Arch Rock, Sugarloaf, the airport, and wooded trails - try all of them! though I prefer those left traveled and those East of Cadotte Ave and British Landing Rd.
Then come down to British landing and back into town for ice cream at Kilwin's.

Horn's Bar and Village Inn are great eating, I especially favor Horn's. Or finish dinner and grab a Kilwin's ice cream, then walk through town to the school and watch the sunset.

Save the fudge you got in the middle of the day (Like Murdick's Peanut Butter or Murray Hotel's Pumpkin), and eat on the porch at night while the horses clip-clop by.

But it's Mackinac... leave the worries of "America" and enjoy the simplicity of a book, a walk, a bike ride, history, a meal, a sunset, and most of all - a view.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the Beaumont and Cass are especially beautiful. William Preston has a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ratherbtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was my second stay at the Haan. My sister, sister-in-law and I liked it so much two years ago that we booked the same suite this year. It has the charm of the early period on Mackinac Island and is decoratd to the period. The hosts were wonderful and very helpful. Breakfast consisted of homemade sweet breads, hot and cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast, juice, etc. It is only a five minute walk or bike ride to the main area of town. You can sit in rocking chairs on the front poarch and watch the horse and buggies go by. A very quiet relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with friends or family and want your own bed try one of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came up here to celebrate our anniversary and had a great time. The price was even better then advertised! The room was bigger then it looked in the pictures, and the calm noise of horses strolling by was just outside our window. The hosts were great, and took good care of us! If you thinking about staying here just do it :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoovers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our first trip to Mackinac Island, but we would definitely consider Haan's again. Walking around, it looked like one of the best places to stay, maybe the best. A great location, across the street from the water, with a big, shady yard. About a five minute walk from the heart of downtown.

Hosts Larry and Ruth seem to attract a very good set of guests. The guests like to hang out on the three porches, and this is a great place to meet new people and hear about their travels. Likewise, the breakfast table is a very relaxing place at Haan's.

We stayed in the Woolson room, a smaller room in the old wing. The house has a very good feel to it, quite old, well kept, and without some of the frilly decorations B&B's seem to love. The room was not remarkable, good or bad, which is what you'd expect for the lower price range on Mackinac. We would have preferred a screen in the bathroom window, so you could cross-ventilate with the window in the bedroom. Everything worked fine. The shower is new. There is a ceiling fan and window air conditioner if you're there in a week where climate change is bringing more southern weather.

Overall, this is one of our favorite B&Bs in the U.S. Beautiful yard and porches, great people, very relaxing, affordable.

If you haven't been to Mackinac, and are wondering about it, we recommend it highly. Great place for any novice cyclists (there's one in our family). They can tour the 8-mile perimeter highway as many times as they wish. A huge network of trails in the state park, which takes up 80% of the island. The narrower trails were free of hikers, and too thin for bicycles. Great combination of park and town -- one of the few places you get this. Not an especially good town for restaurants. Millies is decent. Everything is over-priced. You might want to get a kitchenette suite at Haan's and buy groceries at Doud's downtown. Something to know ahead -- Mackinac is a dense town. Horse taxis and people coming home from bars give it a city atmosphere as late as 3 a.m. This seemed to surprise guests who thought of it as a country getaway.

Room Tip: Think about a kitchenette at Haan's. The restaurants are expensive; the choices are underwhelmin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank midwesterner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This Inn is first class offering great accomodation and breakfast. Staff are very friendly and rooms are clean and layed out very well. Location is ideal just off the main areas but within easy walking distance to main shops and bars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveR1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in July. Owners/Managers very friendly and helpful..BUT room and mattress had a very strong moldy mildew smell..not good for allergies also found cobwebs with bugs and long black hairs all over the bathroom heater. Location is away from the busy downtown and the price is a bargain compared to most places but next time we will pay more somewhere else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank nana733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haan's 1830 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haan's 1830 Inn

Property: Haan's 1830 Inn
Address: 6806 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haan's 1830 Inn is your Mackinac Island bed and breakfast home. The stately Greek Revival house--built on the foundations of an American Revolution era trader cabin--served as the private residence of Colonel Preston, a Fort Mackinac officer and first mayor of the island. The Inn has been completely restored and now operates as a Mackinac Island B&B to share the grace of history, the warmth of family, and the wonders of Mackinac Island weather. The guestrooms are freshly decorated and furnished with period antiques and quality mattresses. Your host, Nick Haan, invites you to be at home, relax on the wicker-furnished porches, and listen to the cadence of horses as carriage tours pass by on Huron Street. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Haan`s 1830 Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing