We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was our 10th year staying at Cloghaun B&B. Marti and her son, Paul are wonderful and make you feel right at home. The breakfast is always amazing and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. The guest rooms are beautifully decorated and very cozy and clean. We usually stay in room # 11. There has been a year or two when #11 was not available and we stayed in others and they were just as beautiful and cozy. I enjoy spotting the new additions made to the gardens every year and long lazy afternoons on the front porch reading.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keyd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 202 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

The Cloghan provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere. There is a casual and comfortable attitude. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They provide a huge breakfast to suit all appetites. Marti-that Mexican egg casserole was fabulous. The location is one block from the main street and all the shops and restaurants. It is an easy walk to the Grand Hotel and the Fort. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and spotless. Our gathering time is so much fun at happy hour on the expansive front porch. Thanks again for another great weekend at the Cloghaun!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerryJ56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

An historic building and antique furnishings create the perfect, authentic, Victorian atmosphere for a stay on Mackinac Island. But the building and antiques are second to the guests who stay there and the innkeepers. It says a lot about an inn where most of the guests are not only repeat guests, but have been coming for 12 years or more! Our room, Kitty, is prettier than the web site pictures show. The bathroom is fresh and updated, with fluffy towels, night light, and very clean. The bedroom has an overhead fan. large closet, ice bucket, real 'glass' glasses, alarm clock. Breakfast consisted of fresh-baked coffee cake, egg casserole, fresh fruit, bagels, cereal, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea. There are fridges upstairs and downstairs for guests to use, as well as an ice machine. Iron, Ironing board, Corkscrew, & wine glasses available. No phones, or TV in rooms (yea,) but a TV with video and DVD player in Library. There is wireless internet access. Although there are only 11 rooms, we felt we had plenty of privacy. Gardens are magnificent, and Marti is more than happy to share her garden expertise. Location is perfect, a block from Sheplers ferry and Main Street. The front porch is great to sit and have coffee, a glass of wine, take a snooze, or just people-watch. The only negative for some people: since there is no air conditioning and the windows could be open on warm nights, you can hear the horses "clip clop" as well as late-night revelers, (although not nearly as loud as staying somewhere on Main Street}. Other than that, it is just exactly, and more, than you would want in a Bed and Breakfast. We recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kimmyklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Cloghaun is very charming, very clean, and a stone's throw from the ferry service on Mackinac Island. We paid someone to bike our luggage there because we didn't realize how close they were to the ferry dock. We definitely could have carried our own luggage! We stayed in the Catherine room, which is the only one with its own entrance. We enjoyed that "extra". There was a stone patio surrounded by flowers right outside the door. You can also access the rest of the house through the spacious bathroom, which was convenient when you needed something, or at breakfast time. It was easy to pop back to our room.
The breakfast was delicious - definitely something for everyone. The hot dish was banana walnut french toast, and when that was gone they brought out an egg casserole. Fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, bagels and english muffins to toast - quite a nice spread. But, no coffee. We aren't coffee drinkers so it didn't bother us. If you want your fix you'll have to walk to a local bakery, unless you like instant. Afternoon tea and desserts was very nice. Everything was very fresh and yummy.
The only negative for us was that during the night there was a lot of loud street noise outside, so my husband didn't get a good night sleep. It may have just been that night, but a disappointment for him. I ALWAYS wear earplugs when we travel, so I slept great! We'd stay at the Cloghaun again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug14617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We have visited Cloghaun every year for the past many years and always find the B&B friendly, warm and inviting. It is located in a wonderful spot where you can sit on the porch swing and people watch. Also so close to shopping, restaurants and the sights of Mackinac Island and yet on a very quiet street where you can listen to the clip clop of the island horses as they pass by. The innkeeper, Marti is just the best and is helped by her son Paul who is always so helpful. Our stay on Mackinac Island would not be the same without staying at Cloghaun. It is a wonderful inn where my daughter and granddaughter look forward to staying on their yearly visit from Tallahassee. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxrunrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The staff went out of their way to make sure that all my arrangements went right. Cozy and laid back atmosphere helped me to feel at home and at ease. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldenath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

This past decade we have been to Mackinac Island 6 times and each time we have stayed on the island at least a minimum of three days. On our first trip to Mackinac Island we stayed at The Cloghaun and we loved it there because it felt like home. The facility is clean and tastefully decorated, breakfasts are flavorsome, the grounds are well maintained, and the friendly staff members (James, Marti, Paul, and Clover) feel like family. On a scale of 1 to 10 we would definitely rate it a 10, and we would both agree The Cloghaun is second to none. As a result we not interested in staying anywhere else, because each time our stay there has been such a pleasant experience. I’m sure there are other places people would argue to be competitive, but for us The Cloghaun is our home away from home and we look forward to returning soon.
Richard and Kathy R.
Pewaukee, WI

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kodiak_53072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7504 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $100 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cloghaun Hotel Mackinac Island
Cloghaun b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing