We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can go home again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“You can go home again”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

This was our 12th year of spending four wonderful days at the Cloghaun on Mackinac Island. The wonderful elegant house has so much character and history. Marti, Paul, Jim and Clover are like our family - summer would not be complete without our trip to the Cloghaun. I would recommend the Cloghaun to everyone - good company and good breakfast - we love it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    23
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
114
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alto
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have stayed at Cloghaun for 13 years- every year on our anniversary- since our honeymoon. Room 1 has come to feel like our own, and we love the quaintness and historic charm of this beautiful home. We count the days between visits, as we know we will enjoy such a relaxing stay with wonderful breakfasts and hospitality. Other favorite things include the comfortable king-size bed, wonderful porch, and warm service. We cherish new friends we have made, including the owner and innkeepers. They always make sure we are well taken care of. Cloghaun has created treasured memories for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelle1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was a surprise anniversary getaway. My wife thinks I'm a genius! We stayed in B&B's when we went to Ireland. The only thing missing was the Irish accents. The accommodations and hospitality were outstanding! Just sitting on the front porch watching the Island come alive each morning was relaxing. The location is great in that you are in easy walking distance to the main street, but you don't have the hustle and bustle. I was informed by my better half that we will be back! She's Right. (This time)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramblingman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at the Cloghaun every June for the last twelve years. It's one luxury that we give ourselves every year on our anniversary, this past trip we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there. The Innkeepers and staff are superb, the rooms and grounds, immaculate, and the ambiance, delightful. The Cloghaun's location is absolutely perfect; half a block from restaurants and shopping, and on the route to the Grand Hotel. Each year, as we prepare to leave this B & B, we book our room for the following year so that we're able to look forward to it all winter long.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PstrTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

T he entire staff of the Cloghaun does an excellent job of making us feel welcome, like we're old friends...The breakfast and tea time baked goods are excellent. We also enjoy the company of the other travelers and always meet the most interesting people there.

We keep going back for the friendliness, cleanliness and beauty of this lovely and well kept Victorian home. It is close to the main attractions, but away from main street where the noise level is higher.

Thanks Paul, Marty and Clover... we miss you already!

John & Sherry Weaver
Indiana

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hosack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clyde
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2010

The minute you step your foot inside the door of the Cloghaun you are greeted with Welcome Home and you truly feel at home! The beauty of the island is reflected in t he charm of the Inn. The rooms are beautiful and clean!! The innkeepers are like family and truly want you to feel as if you are home.Front porch relaxing is a must; after which a tour of the beautiful gardens compliments your stay. Before you have to say good-bye to the charming victorian Cloghaun, be sure to re-book your stay for next year!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

First time to this island, chose Cloghaun based on other reviews and availability. Would definitely recommend. Owner was very nice - helpful and welcoming without being intrusive. Breakfast was homemade and delicious. Afternoon tea was a special treat with homemade goodies. Only improvement would have been to have had a water view, but location was very convenient. Price was comparable to other B & B options.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosiervalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
259 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7504 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cloghaun Hotel Mackinac Island
Cloghaun b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing