We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Cadillac, MI
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

The genuine warmth of Marti and Paul and Clover is the best. Marti checked us in and we had questions about eateries as well as things to do, and from her recommendations she made the good experience a great experience on the Island. Our room was spotless and very comfortable and were hoping when we return will be able to get the same room. The breakfast was was very good. The only regret was we did not book two nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfellow55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    21
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
108
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

This was one of a few recommendations given to us by a local business owner we know, and it turned out great. Marti and Paul were super friendly, gladly chatting with us and the other guests whenever we were around.

The room was very comfortably sized, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was fine. Being a block off the main street seemed perfect - away from most of the hustle and bustle, but close enough that some horses would go up and down the street (clip-clop, clip-clop), and it was just a few seconds to get to the shops, etc.

The breakfast was what we expected - not a gourmet, multi-course, gigantic meal - so that was fine with us. We liked the set-up in the dining room (separate tables, but close together), which allowed us to either keep to ourselves or chat with the other guests depending on what we felt like doing that day.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, decor, rooms named after the original family's children
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BowlderMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, IN
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Cloghaun for two nights, July 30th and 31st with another couple. It was our first time on the island, and it was amazing! The B&B is very centrally located, yet off the main street so that the noise is low. The house is beautiful, the grounds are even prettier, the food was excellent, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I can not recommend this location enough.

One note was the house does not have air conditioning, but with the cool breezes on the island, it doesn't need it. It's good to know before you go, though.

  • Liked — Extremely high quality and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonc128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Cloghaun to celebrate our anniversary. This was our second time staying there, this time we got one of the balcony rooms (Thomas, room 1). The bed was perhaps the most comfortable hotel bed we've stayed in and innkeepers Marti and Paul are wonderful and will help with anything. The weather was beautiful most of the time so we were able to make good use of the balcony, watching the boats come and go from the harbor. The room was very clean and very cute, just perfect for us!

The breakfast is quite good as long as you don't need to have a huge, american-style hot breakfast. There are bagels, croissants, jams, cream cheese, oatmeal, big bowl of fresh fruit salad, a different baked egg dish each morning (one morning was rosemary and cheese, another was bacon and cheese), some type of home-made coffee cake, coffee, tea, juice, etc. Afternoon tea is a nice touch, with both hot and iced tea and cookies, brownies or cake depending on the day.

It's very close to the island's boardwalk where you can see fantastic views of the Mackinac Bridge at sunset, and is close to Main Street but just far enough away that you don't feel crowded.

We absolutely love the Cloghaun and plan to return in the years to come!

  • Liked — Comfort of the room, friendliness of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kidmozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2008

I've been to the island around 15 times and have wanted to stay at the Cloghaun for many years. I finally did last month with my husband for two nights. We had one of the balcony rooms. As we had no control over the weather (rain, chilly), we weren't able to use the balcony much to make it worth the extra price. Did use the coverage porch which was also nice. One very negative thing is there is a large porch light on each balcony, ended up hanging a jacket over the balcony door to block it. Bed was very comfortable and I slept very well. Good thing I automatically pack shampoo/conditioner but forget a hair dryer since so many hotels have them now. The only thing in the bathrooms as far as amenties was liquid soap for handwashing and a new bar of soap for the shower.

Room and inn were beautiful and have many nice antiques. We knew thanks to these reviews to not expect a gourmet breakfast. Husband enjoyed the egg dish (same both mornings) while I had instant oatmeal and bagels. Afternoon tea was very disappointing, just a carafe of hot water, tea bags and two types of baked goods. There was no milk, lemon or honey to put in our tea, only sugar! Didn't understand why they couldn't have left out the hot water all afternoon/evening for our enjoyment. The ice machine was nice but besides breakfast and tea had to buy something from the general store to drink besides tap water.

We never heard Welcome Home at any point during our stay. Marti was very nice but both of the male innkeepers weren't as friendly as one would expect at a b&b. The only tv is in a common living room that closes at 11pm because there is a room right off of it. We would have been happier had they lit a fire in there instead of having a tv as that would have provided a chance to get to know other guests. There isn't alot to do on the island after dinner especially when its yucky outside. We ended up on our bed playing scrabble both evenings.

I can't say we'll never be back, but there are many other hotels I'd like to try on the island first or even return to instead.

  • Liked — Location, balcony, history of inn
  • Disliked — One tv for whole inn, lack of public restroom, lack of amenities
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sabinebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2005

I really enjoyed my stay at this B&B! Paul and Marti make you feel right at home. I absolutely loved our room. The afternoon tea is very nice and I really enjoyed the breakfast they serve. (if you are looking for scrambled eggs and sausage you might be disapointed). The porch is very relaxing. I liked our location alot and that it was not on the main drag. I can only describe this experience as ...Lovely!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StephM76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, CA, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2003

We've stayed at many B&Bs and we were pleased when we arrived at the Cloghaun. It's not too far from the ferry dock, but just off the main tourist street. The garden is well tended and beautiful, as is the house. We have only two things that were a bit off: a small, noisy double bed (good thing I like my husband!) and the fact that there was no cooked B&B breakfast. Innkeepers were very nice and the porch gave good views of the street below.

Helpful?
7 Thank ZoomLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cloghaun Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7504 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5172
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Cloghaun b&b
Cloghaun Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing