We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Island House Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn at Stonecliffe(Mackinac Island)
$218
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbour View Inn(Mackinac Island)
$194
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$229
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mission Point(Mackinac Island)
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa(Mackinac Island)
$258
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Grand Hotel(Mackinac Island)
$849
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveler rating
150
41
19
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
41
19
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening dessertcookiesstrawberry shortcakequichebed and breakfastfront porchfrom the ovenmaster suitedecadent dessertssmall roomdining roomprivate balconyfirst floorhorse hoovesoverlooking the waterfresh fruitstaff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 234 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2006

We had stayed at the Bayview 3 times prior to 2005 and thought it to be a great bed and breakfast in a fantastic location. The 4th time, however, we had a problem in our suite that I won't expand on. We were assured that an adjustment would be made. After several attempts over a year's period to get the promised adjustment we finally gave up. We missed staying at the Bayview this year. (See my review of the Iroqois) Prior to this experience we really enjoyed the great breakfast and thought the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank heavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We spent one night at the Bay View Inn and had a wonderful time the staff was very kind and we loved Rosie the cook - the food was delicious from the cookies (hot from the oven) to the great breakfast. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lansing, MIchigan
16
Reviewed April 9, 2006

My husband and I try to go to Mackinac Island twice a year - once in the summer and again at the end of the season, in October. We always stay at the Bay View. The Bay View is not like most hotels that are the same in every city in the world. The Bay View conveys the character of the Island, itself - unique, relaxed, well-cared for, romantic.
The fabrics and furniture in the bedrooms are lovely. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are the perfect size for snuggling in after a day of activity. The large dining room is a pretty place to eat wonderful food, chat with interesting guests and the staff, and linger over a great cup of coffee.
One of our favorite things - reading on the front porch in the wicker chairs, watching the people and the horses ease on by and listening to the bells ring at St. Anne's.
I can't wait to get back to the Bay View.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2005

We spent 3 nights at the Bay View in a standard room. It was elegantly decorated although very small. The bed was comfortable and since we didn't spend much time in the room we didn't mind. Would probably prefer a slightly larger room the next time, however. Rose and her staff were probably the highlight of our visit. The food was outstanding each morning and evening. Considered it a treat to be able to stay in this elegant old home.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank katie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Our first-time visit to Mackinac Island was made even more special by the wonderful time we had at the Bay View. The cheery yellow b&b, built in 1891, is conveniently located on Huron Street, making for an easy walk to downtown. Relaxing on the front porch was entertaining because of all the people strolling or bicycling by, and the horse-drawn carriages and taxis made their own unforgettable clop-clop music. Although our standard room was small, it was beautifully decorated with florals and plaids, and we enjoyed being able to see a bit of the lake, plus the steeple of St. Anne's Church, from our window. The third floor deck provided ample opportunities for taking pictures of the harbor and the fort and was a nice place to sit in the mornings and evenings. Without a doubt, the highlight of our Bay View experience was the food. The breakfasts--omelets, quiche, biscuits, fruit, pastries--were very filling and delicious. Freshly-baked cookies every afternoon and yummy desserts at night were served in the lovely dining room which offered great views of the marina and the ferries coming and going. Kudos to the kitchen staff who worked long hours yet remained friendly and pleasant; the housekeeping ladies were very nice, too. We plan to visit Mackinac Island again and will enjoy returning to the Bay View. However, we will take the Arnold Ferry instead of Shepler's because it's closer; also, we didn't appreciate one of the Shepler's employees smart aleck tone when he said "Enjoy your walk" when we told him we'd take our bags ourselves to the Bay View. He and a clerk in a store who literally put her open palm under my nose as I was getting out my money to pay for a sweatshirt were the only negatives to our Mackinac stay, and their rudeness certainly won't ruin the heavenly time we had. We will focus on the beautiful Victorian cottages/mansions, the bicycle ride around the island, the colorful flowers, the Adirondack chairs, the informative and friendly guides on the carriage tour, the views from the West Bluff, walking on the boardwalk at sunset, and the personable lady at the Island Breeze where we bought a print of the Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jblwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews