We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We only stayed for one night. We found that this B&B badly needs renovation of all upholstery, carpet and curtains. The bathroom was very small, and the wahsbasin is in the room, with a shelf on top that makes its use nearly impossible. The sheets were clean, but very old, with stains. The bed is very soft.The room is very small too. We liked the idea of the dessert at night and the breakfast was decent. They kindly hold the baggage after check out. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EnSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 231 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Everything you would expect from a B&B, and then some! The staff is hands down the friendliest group of people you will ever meet. We stayed the last weekend the island was "open" and we were treated so great even when most of the guests left on Sunday and everyone was closing down. It is a long season and everyone is usually ready to go home and say good bye to the tourists, but you would have never known that based on the hospitality and kindness from everyone at Bay View.
Our room was a beautiful, and comfortable suite with a kitchenette, and a nice living room area on the first floor. We were able to peek in at other rooms once everyone checked out and they were just as beautiful, but our suite was really roomy and had an outside entrance and balcony.
Every morning they serve a very nice breakfast in the dinning room that is sure to please. It isn't buffet style (thankfully), and is brought to your table. I was blown away, at the yumminess they created every morning. On our last morning, they made the very few of us that were left, blue berry pancakes with scrambled eggs, bacon and fruit. They serve their signature Bay View coffee (which is so delicious) all day, as well as cranberry muffins. At 3pm they set out warm cookies, and every evening delicious desserts! These are not just desserts...they are bowls of gooey, yummy, and mmmmmmm! The last evening was vanilla ice cream with caramel sauce and chocolate cake.
I must say that even though the rooms were clean and beautiful and the food was fantastic, the staff hands down were the reason for this review. Every time I've been to the island, I like to stay some place new, but because they were so wonderful, this will be my first choice every time. That doesn't mean I haven't been happy at the other hotels, but Bay View just adds that extra bit with the staff. They were so happy and ALWAYS greeted us with a smile, it just lifted us up and really made our visit over the top!

Room Tip: If more than 2, I suggest one of the suites over looking the lake. Best view is on the lake side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This was our first time on Mackinaw Island and the first time to stay at a Bed and Breakfast. Both were beyond our expectatons. The inn was well maintained, clean and nicely decorated. The big thing is the wonderful breakfast, afternoon cookie break and evening deserts. The staff were friendly and charming. At our opportunity we will certainly return here.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank CyndiI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My girlfriend and I had spent a week in Nova Scotia, with a real whirlwind driving tour, and we were ending our vacation at Mackinac Island at the Bay View. With no cars, horse driven buggy rides, a relaxing facial and massage, fantastic food, reading looking over the bay we were ready to go back and face the real world

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank btrfly206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay last week. The accommodations were lovely!. The breakfast was delicious. A huge unexpected bonus was dessert (included in basic fee) every night at 8PM in the dining room. The first night was a huge piece of cheesecake that was warmed (a delightful touch!). The second night was strawberry shortcake with two huge scoops of ice cream. The staff all were very helpful and very friendly! This B&B is convenient to the ferries. And we were able to store our packages at the front desk after checkout time until we were ready to board the ferry. A delightful experience! We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PhilS22112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Arriving later then expected due to the weather we were very happy for a warm and cozy room. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The next day they directed us to the bike rental shop next door and off we went on the 8 mile trip around the island which was beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PortStJohnFirewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Best breakfast, incredible desserts every night, quiet and comfy. Gorgeous harbor views, close to town (walking distance) - truly the best place on the Island! We will be back to enjoy Bay View and your wonderful staff. Thanks to Harold - he is the best! Rosie the chef did an awesome job on breakfast; the presentation beautiful; Angie and Arlene happily serenaded us all each morning with familiar tunes!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LindaM852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
975 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,069 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View of Mackinac Bed & Breakfast

Address: PO Box 448, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0448
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $95 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Bay View At Mackinac Island Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing