We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Much for the Location as the Food”

The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As Much for the Location as the Food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Yes, it is overpriced for the food, though the food is not bad at all. But you are paying for the place and the ambience as well.

A vast room opening onto the famous porch of the famed Grand Hotel, you are served by an old fashioned starched-jacket staff on tables with abundant classic silverware and linen napkins. The food is abundant, but as it is a buffet the quality depends on what you are eating. Hot dishes in trays are not as good as cold things on platters or hand carved meats. I ate nothing but raw oysters, cold shrimp and smoked fish, which were very good for being so far from the ocean. A fish terrine was lovely. The marinated vegetables were very good alongside. The croissant was merely average. Desserts were ample, but the cherry cobbler - being on a hot tray, was disappointingly gummy in texture. The small pastries were better, notably the lemon curd filled pastry puffs. But the best part was looking out the enormous windows onto the straits of Mackinac, a scene unavailable anywhere else. Would I do it again? No. Am I glad I did it once? Yes. The price includes a sit in the famous rockers on the front porch. Do not omit it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    103
    70
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Glorified cafeteria food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went to visit Mackinac Island with our kids to celebrate an anniversary. Heard a lot about the Grand Hotel and we were excited to visit. Though we're glad we visited and would do it again, we were disappointed. The buffet lunch ($40 per adult and half that for kids) was very disappointing. There was really only shrimp and bad oysters for seafood. The carving station only had ham. We're used to going to hotels such as these (Mohonk for example in New Paltz). Mohonk is double the price for their lunch but the quality of the food is doubly superior. We walked around the grounds a bit but there is much more to see outside of the Grand Hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingalong2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Royal Treatment”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Delicious food served in a breathtakingly opulent environment. They definitely have something to satisfy everyone. We felt like royalty not only because of the surroundings but also because of the supreme service. All of us overindulged so we worked off some of our lunch by taking time afterward to tour the hotel and its fabulous grounds. Spectacular views abound from the porch and cupola.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PigwithAdjectives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
1,628 reviews
423 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,309 helpful votes
“As nice as the Biltmore”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a great lunch at the Biltmore estate in Asheville, NC and paid $125. This buffet is a bargain considering you get to tour the hotel and grounds all the way up to the Cupola Bar. The buffet beef, chicken, shrimp, and salmon were delicious and fresh. I rarely take the salad at a buffet, but this one had some very unique features. the dessert and beverages were wonderful as well. Ate too much, but stayed two hours enjoying the hotel as if I were a paying guest. The porch has a terrific view of the waterway and the rocking chairs are comfortable. Go to the top of the hotel 4th floor to the Cupola Bar and take in the views from all sides...wonderful. This is a first class operation and every staff member makes you feel welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“The food, view and ambiance were worth the cost”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent quality food is first. Used expensive ingredients ( e.g. Lox, smoked whitefish, shrimp and scallops were the fish offerings). Well prepared and presented by an attentive and gracious wait staff. Very wide selection. Pastries particularly well done. Afterwards, sit awhile in one of the rocking chairs on the front porch and enjoy the view

Luncheon cost is $40 p/p. It costs $10 just to enter the building unless you are eating or staying there. Unless you are Daddy Warbucks, you won't be staying there. (Aside---cheaper to stay in Mackinaw City or St Ignace and do a day trip. Bring your own bikes if possible; nice to cycle around the Island and cheaper than the $44/day Island bike companies charge).

I have been in 82 of Michigan's 83 counties; for my money, Mackinaw Island is still Michigan's #1 tourist attraction.

Ask for a seat by the windows

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Grand Hotel Luncheon Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing