We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome piece of history”
Review of Fort Mackinac

Fort Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical site of the re-enactment of the fort's 1763 Indian capture and massacre.
Bronson, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome piece of history”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband & I knew we wanted to visit the fort while spending a day on the island. So very glad we did! The fort is well maintained, seems to be very historically accurate, & all the reenactors are patient, professional, & friendly w/ the public. There are so many buildings to visit, plaques to read, & pictures to take! Along that line, you have about the best view of the front side of the island from up on the fort's rampart. There are firing demonstrations, including canon & rifle firing, plus formation demonstrations on the main lawn. Sure, the tickets are not cheap, but that same ticket will also gain you entry into about a half dozen other historical attractions on the island. Come see the fort folks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank epica101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    433
    77
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Use of Time”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had middle ages, old age and one young one (9 years old) in our group and we all found it to be interesting. Lots to do and see and many activities. Well worth a trip. We stayed for about 2 hours and saw everything.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drjlj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Our favorite site on the island”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We visit the fort every time we go to the island. The walk up the hill us steep but the views are terrific. The re- enactors were friendly and knowledgable. Enjoyed the buildings and demonstrations and our granddaughter enjoyed the Children's Tour and the kids Quarters. She really got a feel for archeology. Plan on spending a few hours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grmabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If nothing else, go for the view!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a great, well-maintained historical site. It's quite a walk up to it, but so worth it. Sit a little while and have some pie at the Tea Room. It's got to be the best view on the island.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuckyIndyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must do”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great history, amazing views. Loved learning about the history. My husband liked the artifacts. They have kid activities to keep them engaged as well. Steep climb up but worth it for the views. Take your time and enjoy your visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristylbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Fort Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing