We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done”
Review of Fort Mackinac

Fort Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical site of the re-enactment of the fort's 1763 Indian capture and massacre.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well done”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Wonderful opportunity to learn about life on the island in the early days. Displays and actors were full of information at your own pace.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank acriebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    935
    446
    79
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great view from the fort”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We loved the demonstrations, loud, so plug the ears. The views from the fort are great. Especially liked the medical exhibits.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank twyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We enjoyed walking around and seeing the fort and all the grounds around it. Our guide was delightful ..always funny..but very alot of knowledge about the area and the fort.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 21Kathy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“My Favorite Fort”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband is quite a history buff so I have been drug to numerous forts over the years. I must say, I loved everything about this one. The exhibits were great. The rein-actors doing the presentations were the best I have ever listened too. And it is so pretty perched atop the town of Mackinac Island. My best fort to date!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GatorPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We tend to stop at many forts as we travel. This one has a great view but not a strong sense of the past. The youngish staff portrayed soldiers with enthusiasm and knowledge. Camera buffs will love the harbor views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Fort Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing