We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Knowledgeable Staff”
Review of Fort Mackinac

Fort Mackinac
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historical site of the re-enactment of the fort's 1763 Indian capture and massacre.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We tend to stop at many forts as we travel. This one has a great view but not a strong sense of the past. The youngish staff portrayed soldiers with enthusiasm and knowledge. Camera buffs will love the harbor views.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GinMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    911
    435
    77
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“As expected”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

First, I really do like historical sites. But there is little to set it apart from others to make it extraordinary. We saw the cannon demonstration and the rifle demonstration. We walked through many buildings with original furnishings etc inside which I do enjoy comparing to what we have now. It is possible that there would be more to report enthusiastically about but the power was out while we were there so none of the audio-visual displays worked. Would I take a friend there on a future visit? Yes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank kimporterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
313 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“History at its Best!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This fort tells the story of the Native Americans, French fur traders and British soldiers from a time long ago. These stories added to my knowledge of that period in history and was a welcome addition to our tour of Mackinac Island.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“ENjoy the Fort”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Love the Fort, we take it in on every visit. And the Tea room over looking the lake is a great place for lunch!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
259 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Amazingly preserved historical site”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We braved low temperatures and blustery conditions to tour this fort, and it was well worth the effort. The buildings and artifacts are in amazing condition; it's obvious that a lot of pride goes into its preservation. A young uniformed "soldier" gave a brief tour and he and another "soldier" demonstrated rifle and cannon firing. It would be easy to spend several hours here in friendlier weather.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Mackinac also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Fort Mackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing