We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf at the Wirrina Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Golf at the Wirrina Resort”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

The quality of Wirrina Resort's golf course was a very pleasant surprise. In this area I have also played Links Lady Bay, Victor Harbour GC and McCracken CC. Whilst LLB is a great course, the traditional tree lined fairways of Wirrina are a great contrast if you plan to spend a few days on the Peninsular. I would definitely play Wirrina ahead of McCracken and Victor Harbour. The friendly service in the Pro Shop at Wirrina is undoubtedly ahead of the rest. Planning to play LLB 3 times and Wirrina once, we actually cancelled a booking at LLB to play Wirrina a second time. A very good decision! This course provides a great diversity for golfers of all levels. A great mix of holes, each with their individual challenges, making good use of the natural terrain. I'll be going back and recommend to all to give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaleofPlenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We the VR group of hotels and Resort as the new owners acquired Wirrina Cove resort on 12th December 2014.

We feel proud that you have liked our Golf course and what we offer at the resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

with best regards,

Sahil

Manager Business development and Public relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    67
    27
    19
See reviews for
60
142
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Spent 2 nights at the resort. had a ball .Golf, putt putt, spa ,arcade machines, jukebox, sauna,swimming, 8 ball and the meal in the restaurant was beautiful and came within 15 minutes of ordering. Since the last time I was there something has changed big time and its all for the best. Every staff member was so pleasant and helpful it made the atmosphere great. The upgrades are moving along quickly and the resort is amazing. First class all the way. Well done to all involved. Thanks for a great time had. ILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We the VR group of hotels and Resort as the new owners acquired Wirrina Cove resort on 12th December 2014.

We feel proud that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed all what we offer at the resort.

Thank you for your honest feedback and encouragement.

We look forward to having stay with us in future.

with best regards,

Sahil
Manager Business Development and Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Brook, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My family and I stayed here one night on our way to Kangaroo Island. It would also be well suited as a base for a longer visit to the southern Mount Lofty Ranges and Fleurieu Peninsula. The rooms are good, but the shared areas, bar, dining, etc. are even better; and the prices are moderate.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We the VR group of hotels and Resort as the new owners acquired Wirrina Cove resort on 12th December 2014.

We feel honoured that you chose to stay with us and happy to hear that you had a great time and enjoyed what we offer here at Wirrina.

Thanking you and looking forward to welcoming you back again in future.

With best regards,

Sahil
Manager Business Development and Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

An excellent get away! A game of golf, an overnight stay not too far from home.
The new owners are so welcoming, you feel like part of their family.
We will take up the challenge of the golf course again soon......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We the VR group of hotels and Resort as the new owners acquired Wirrina Cove resort on 12th December 2014.
We appreciate your great reviews and thank you for having taken your valuable time to share your experience during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With best regards,

Rajesh

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This was our first time to Wirrina. Heard about the new management. It looks awesome with new look renovations. Heated pool would be good for children. Game of golf awesome. Cant wait to come back for more weekend outings. We were shown the convention centre. What a hidden gem of a venue. We will definitely book our function next time. Please keep it up

Room Tip: choose the renovated rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are happy to hear that your stay was delightful and thank you for taking your time to sharing your experience here!

As the new Owners, the resort is currently being upgraded in a phased manner and we do plan to have a heated pool in later part of upgradation.

We look forwarding to welcoming you back again in near future.

With best regards,

Rajesh Kashyap
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It was a pleasure to spend a night at Wirrina Cove Resort last week, we had a very spacious and comfortable room and a pleasant dinner overlooking the scenic Golf Course with roos on the course enjoying their wonderful surroundings and putting on a show for us. With the Wirrina Golf Course we took advantage of playing on one of the most attractive courses around, great to play on and very affordable memberships and daily fees on offer.
There certainly is plenty to do at Wirrina Cove Resort with a stack of facilities, it also makes a great base to explore and enjoy the Southern Fleurieu and what it offers.
We felt reinvigorated after our stay but so is the Resort, with new owners taking over recently there is a sense of pride and enthusiasm flowing from the staff through to the owners. The plans for further upgrades are exciting and area breath of fresh air.
Wirrina Cove Resort is well worth checking out and for those of you who have been there years back like us- time to go back but don’t forget your camera and golf clubs (although the latter can be hired)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DABN06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for taking your time to share your great reviews and glad to know that you had a delightful stay.

VR group as the new owner is underway upgrading the resort and facilities with great enthusiasm.

We look forward to your continued patronage and assure you of our best services at all times.

With best regards,

Rajesh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Met the new owners on our visit who are freshest breath of air. So friendly and caring and informative that we felt as comfortable as a baby in mums folds. JC gave us tour of a sample of the refurbished rooms that they are going to provide under their over a million dollar refurb plan for the guest rooms, restaurants, meeting rooms, Gym, sauna, kids activities, mini golf and what not. We forgot courtesy and demanded to be shifted to the sample room. Such a five star refurbish. Great with colour choices. The new rocking chair in the balcony, overlooking golf course and hills, were so relaxing that you could sit in them for hours with a glass of wine without a stiff back. The beds with memory foam are soft and rejuvenating. The 18 hole very well maintained golf course and army of Kangaroos to be seen around us was a treat. One of the other guest told me that they found much more Kangaroos at this resort than in the Kangaroo Island where they saw more of Seals. These guys with friendly staff are going to bring proud to South Australia. Have planned to revisit with friends at next Christmas. Cheers to all visitors to this heaven, as we said. Fullers

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnBtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRGroup, General Manager at Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We the VR group of hotels and Resort as the new owners acquired Wirrina Cove resort on 12th December 2013.

We thank you for the great reviews and sharing your honest experience .

We are glad to know that you had a delightful stay and enjoyed what we offer here at the Resort.

Just to share some more information, we have laid a new carpet in Heysen's restaurant and some of the room corridors.

We look forward to welcoming you back in future.

With best regards,

Rajesh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wirrina Cove
4.5 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
329 reviews
21.2 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
323 reviews
23.2 mi away
Kangaroo Island Seafront
Kangaroo Island Seafront
#1 of 1 in Penneshaw
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#1 of 4 in Normanville
172 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cape Jervis Accommodation & Caravan Park
21.6 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort

Property: Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort
Address: Paradise Drive, Wirrina Cove, South Australia 5204, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Wirrina Cove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wirrina Cove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spread over 1200 acres of stunning South Australian landscape and just 75 minutes South of Adelaide on the picturesque Fleurieu Peninsula, you’ll find Wirrina Resort and Conference Centre. The Resort presents an enticing mix of casual and fine dining, wildlife, water, golf, accommodation and event facilities, all combining to create a special and memorable holiday getaway, conference or function experience. Wirrina Cove boasts 5km of waterfront coastline and is only a hop, skip and a jump away from the unspoilt Kangaroo Island. It is the ideal base from which to explore the beautiful Fleurieu Peninsula and its attractions. Immerse yourself in the unique nature of South Australia with its rugged cliffs, beaches, stunning coastal seascapes and sheltered coves, whilst enjoying dramatic sunsets in an idyllic climate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Wirrina Hotel & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing