We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little village very peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room Sitting room with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room
Sitting room with dining area
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with shower over the batch
Coach House from the garden
Coach House drive
Old Rectory Coach House garden
Old Rectory Coach House - Farm View on the left; the Elms on the right
Trampoline and garden
Cottage garden
Dogs welcome!
Sampford Brett village
Sampford Brett village and the Quantocks
Swimming time!
Brendon hills - fabulous cycling both on and off road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sampford Brett, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Buoying
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little village very peaceful”
Reviewed July 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Enjoyed our stay at elm cottage
Very comfortable lovely garden lovely walk around village.
Close to sea and major towns

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2016
We're glad you enjoyed your stay. You were our first visitors from Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobATFC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A pocket of paradise”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We decided to take our summer holiday in Somerset this year and picked The Elms in Sampford Brett as our chosen destination. I can say, hand on heart we were not disappointed in the slightest and fell in love with this beautiful pocket of paradise.

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Jan with some lovely flowers handpicked from the garden. We were made to feel immediately at home and the biscuits were very welcome indeed.

The Elms has everything you could want with character, charm and all the necessary amenities required for a comfortable stay.

The garden is huge with flowers aplenty, a swimming pool, climbing frame and a huge trampoline. We were let down slightly by the weather but still managed to get in the pool which was surprisingly warm and our son (and I) made full use of the trampoline and climbing frame daily.

The village which The Elms is set is beautiful, peaceful and warming. Everyone we met was very friendly and happy to talk.

The Elms is perfect for those looking to escape to peaceful surroundings or if you need a base to explore the Qauntocks and Exmoor. I can't recommend it enough and we are already making plans to return.

Many thanks to Jan, Phil and Anthea for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Thank you so much for this lovely review - it means a lot to us and future guests. We're really glad you enjoyed yourselves and were able to make the most of the garden, pool and play equipment. Hopefully you'll make your way back to Somerset again in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We leave with a heavy heart”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled from Kent to the west with absolute conviction that we we would have a great holiday regardless of the weather and thanks to Phil and Jan, we were able to do so.
On arrival we were greeted with milk, cookies and fresh flowers (quite possibly the most beautiful I have seen) and a friendly welcoming chat. It didn't take us long to feel at home with an array of books, games and amenities within the Elms. Everything worked perfectly and we had everything we needed for our week.
The grounds are serene and rich in colour. There is ample room to sit outside and eat or play if you have children. And be brave! We used the pool more than once during our very changeable week. The water is always warm once you get in and make amends with your inhibitions!
It is with a heavy heart that our week is almost up and we are both reluctant to go home. The surroundings are beautiful and everything from animal farms to Exmoor and local shops, castles and the beach are within a short drive. Also there are some great walks that take you through and around the village and surrounding areas so check out the information in the welcome pack as a helpful guide.
I fell in love with the village of Sampford Brett and some locals we got talking to. A real community that we don't see so much where we live. Do visit the church, even if you aren't religious. It's quiet and calming, I went every day. I would love to live here and be involved with cake baking and fund raising!
It will be a home from home as we depart, we will endeavour to return as soon as possible.
Thank you so much for being welcoming. Jonah will miss the garden and the cats!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Thank you for such a lovely review - we're so glad you've enjoyed your stay despite the weather being rather unseasonal. We've been monitoring the pool temperature and most days its been quite a bit warmer than the air! I'm glad you ventured in.
We hope to see you again before too long. Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melvyn T
St Ives. Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for families or couples dogs included.”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Not familiar with this part of the U K decided a visit was due. Booked The Elms on the internet.Very easy procedure. On arrival found Jan the owner to be more than helpful.
Settled in quite quickly plenty of storage space for clothing and personal things.
Apartment tastefully furnished with everything you would need. Having used holiday lets for many years The Elms was in a class of its own. Beautiful natural gardens , woods, play area for children and a swimming pool.
Although no pubs or shops in the village , Williton a small town is 1 mile away. A regular bus service with a stop nearby is ideal for the senior citizens to use their bus passes and visit Minehead and Taunton.
Our 10 day visit ended all to quickly. Well worth a visit. If you do decide to visit give our regards (Mel & Barbara) to Jan & Phil the perfect hosts.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to make such good use of the local buses. Thank you for take the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrollyDol...
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great little place tucked away in a beautiful village”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have recently returned from a lovely family holiday in Somerset where we stayed at the Elms for a week. We couldn't have asked for more to be honest - it is located in a pretty village and has a fantastic garden for children which includes a climbing frame, trampoline and best of all, an outdoor pool. The apartment itself is small but perfectly formed, everything you need is there and the chilled cider in the fridge was a nice welcome. We were out and about most days but was always lovely to return at the end of the day to such a homely, cosy place. We would certainly recommend and hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday and made such good use of the garden. The climbing frame,trampoline and pool have been in constant use all summer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“What a gorgeous, friendly, home-away-from-home cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot say highly enough how impressed we were with the Elms. We had a lovely, warm welcome from Jan who greeted us when we pulled up on the drive. There were fresh flowers, a pint of milk in the fridge and biscuits which together with the lovely decorated cottage made us feel at home straight away. There is everything you could think of to make a relaxing stay: great views, sounds and sights of the steam railway and a friendly, hospitable village. The grounds of the cottage are great for children to explore, including a trampoline, play equipment and outdoor pool which is well protected by a high fence and high latch that children cannot reach. The garden extends into a wooded area with footpaths which again are great for children to discover. We had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone. When we are back in the area, we would deffinately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and grounds of the cottage
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkerSus...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful place”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely cottage in a delightful location and most hospitable owners. An ideal base for walking both on the Quantocks and Exmoor and along the charming Coleridge Way. Lots of useful information provided in the very well equipped cottage. You could not ask for anywhere better to stay in this part of the world. Look forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing