We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for families or couples dogs included.”
other travelers have booked this property
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room Sitting room with dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Secluded swimming pool with views of the Quantocks
Sitting room
Sitting room with dining area
Dining area
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bathroom with shower over the batch
Coach House from the garden
Coach House drive
Old Rectory Coach House garden
Old Rectory Coach House - Farm View on the left; the Elms on the right
Trampoline and garden
Cottage garden
Dogs welcome!
Sampford Brett village
Sampford Brett village and the Quantocks
Swimming time!
Brendon hills - fabulous cycling both on and off road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sampford Brett, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Melvyn T
St Ives. Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for families or couples dogs included.”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Not familiar with this part of the U K decided a visit was due. Booked The Elms on the internet.Very easy procedure. On arrival found Jan the owner to be more than helpful.
Settled in quite quickly plenty of storage space for clothing and personal things.
Apartment tastefully furnished with everything you would need. Having used holiday lets for many years The Elms was in a class of its own. Beautiful natural gardens , woods, play area for children and a swimming pool.
Although no pubs or shops in the village , Williton a small town is 1 mile away. A regular bus service with a stop nearby is ideal for the senior citizens to use their bus passes and visit Minehead and Taunton.
Our 10 day visit ended all to quickly. Well worth a visit. If you do decide to visit give our regards (Mel & Barbara) to Jan & Phil the perfect hosts.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to make such good use of the local buses. Thank you for take the time to write a review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrollyDol...
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Great little place tucked away in a beautiful village”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have recently returned from a lovely family holiday in Somerset where we stayed at the Elms for a week. We couldn't have asked for more to be honest - it is located in a pretty village and has a fantastic garden for children which includes a climbing frame, trampoline and best of all, an outdoor pool. The apartment itself is small but perfectly formed, everything you need is there and the chilled cider in the fridge was a nice welcome. We were out and about most days but was always lovely to return at the end of the day to such a homely, cosy place. We would certainly recommend and hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2015
We're so glad you enjoyed your holiday and made such good use of the garden. The climbing frame,trampoline and pool have been in constant use all summer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review - and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel H
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“What a gorgeous, friendly, home-away-from-home cottage”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I cannot say highly enough how impressed we were with the Elms. We had a lovely, warm welcome from Jan who greeted us when we pulled up on the drive. There were fresh flowers, a pint of milk in the fridge and biscuits which together with the lovely decorated cottage made us feel at home straight away. There is everything you could think of to make a relaxing stay: great views, sounds and sights of the steam railway and a friendly, hospitable village. The grounds of the cottage are great for children to explore, including a trampoline, play equipment and outdoor pool which is well protected by a high fence and high latch that children cannot reach. The garden extends into a wooded area with footpaths which again are great for children to discover. We had a great stay and would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone. When we are back in the area, we would deffinately stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and grounds of the cottage
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalkerSus...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A delightful place”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A lovely cottage in a delightful location and most hospitable owners. An ideal base for walking both on the Quantocks and Exmoor and along the charming Coleridge Way. Lots of useful information provided in the very well equipped cottage. You could not ask for anywhere better to stay in this part of the world. Look forward to another visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward W
Halesworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The Old Rectory Coach House is the best self-catering accommodation that we have ever visited. Picturesque, comfortable, spotlessly clean and friendly. Jan and Phil Swan are the perfect hosts. There is plenty of room and everything works perfectly. The location is also superb. If you want a West Somerset walking holiday this is definitely the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, the warmth and the location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fokke van...
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay, even though the pool was a bit bracing! You certainly made good use of the pool and the garden and saw lots of the local area. We hope to have more visitors from Holland in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing