We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic hotel”
Review of Stearns Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stearns Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Muskegon Heights, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great historic hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very nice historic hotel close to all the touristy downtown shops and a short distance to the beach. We had a very nice room,but we did not ask for the cheapest rate. I think they have less expensive rooms that are not as newly renovated as the one we stayed in. The lobby is also very inviting with nostalgic music playing. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the cheapest rate this is an old hotel and the rooms vary also they do not have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    37
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottville, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice rooms which are a lot nicer than the standard hotel rooms. These had character, and a roomy feel. The room service was very good and the desk attendant was very pleasant . It is right in the city so I could walk to the stores and restaurant s. I looked into the bar but did not go into have a drink as I don't drink. The price was reasonable too. A good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sl3658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! They are very rude and disrespectful. House keeping never cleaned our room in 2 nights had to call the desk to get trash dumped and toliet paper. They locked us out of our room becouse there clerk messed up and didn't charge up full price so we had to pay tab to get in room. It is worth your extra money to stay somewhere else there's a reason they have rooms available. Dont waste your money with this dive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceverett13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B, Front Office Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Our records show, and the housekeeper confirmed, that this room was cleaned after the first night. When the guest complained after the second night that he hadn’t received service the previous day, the desk clerk asked housekeeping to clean the room immediately. Upon arrival at the room, the housekeepers were told by the people in the room that they only needed clean towels, which the housekeepers gave them, along with emptying the trash and giving the guests toilet paper, soap, and shampoo.

This guest had a two-night reservation and arrived one day early. The clerk checking him in didn’t understand that he intended to stay three nights and only charged him for two. When he didn’t check out after the second night, the day clerk talked to him and was told he would be staying another night. She told him that he would need to pay for the third night and he said he would, but by evening he still hadn’t paid and his credit card did not have sufficient funds to cover the charge. When a customer has shown reluctance or inability to pay, we do not ordinarily let him stay the night and hope he pays before he leaves.

Once the room was paid for, we offered to have a housekeeper come in to finish cleaning the room if the guest was ready now to allow her to do so, but he declined. We treated the guest with as much courtesy as possible given that he appeared to be trying to avoid paying for his room. That may not have been his intention, but we can only go by the evidence available to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am currently staying at the Stearns and can easily recommend it to family and friends. It's conveniently located in Downtown Ludington. The rooms have been beautifully updated, although I chose a very basic room, I did view lovely rooms with kitchens, spa tubs and cozy fireplaces, all very clean. There is coffee every a.m. in the lobby with continental breakfast on the weekends. The beautiful ballroom has been restored and looked very elegant as I viewed a happy wedding party. They have large historic pictures of Ludington area hanging in the lobby, pool room, and hallways. Exercise room, hot tub & tanner, friendly accommodating staff, what more could you ask for? Oh yes, Long live the TIKI bar, love the tropical prints and bathing suit décor :-)

Room Tip: wide variety of rooms and price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganTravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

After staying at Stearns personally, I am always happy to recommend it to family and friends. CLEAN and comfy. The building has loads of character that captures the uniqueness of downtown Ludington. The recently redone lounge is a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mardigras12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Me and my husband decided to go to Ludington for are belated hunny moon. With it being late october a lot of places are closed or limeted. We decided to stay downtown. I called ahead a few weeks to make reservations asking all kinds of questions about the hotel. After driving over three hours up there we find out that we have to have a credit card with $50 on it for the deposit. No big deal had i been told about this before since we do everything in cash. so at 8pm at night we are driving all over trying to find a place to put money in my husbands account. We eneded up getting a pre paid card. The gentleman at the front desk was so ruid the whole time it just ruined the experience not willing to help out just told me i needed to learn everything is done with credit cards now and to get over it. I wouldnt recomend this place for anyone. just not a very nice man at night/ early morning. The city of Ludington was great

Room Tip: dont stay on the second floor above the tiki bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abigail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Our family stayed at the Stearns Motor Inn in Ludington, Michigan. It's location was ideal, as we could walk to local shops and restaurants. It was a nice change of pace to not stay at a hotel chain. Maryann and Pat were both very friendly and helpful at the front desk. Our room was very large and met our needs perfectly. It was clean and well maintained. The Stearns also offered a weight room, sauna, jacuzzi, and housed a Tiki Lounge. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.7 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
164 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stearns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stearns Hotel

Property: Stearns Hotel
Address: 212 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-3013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Stearns Motor Hotel Ludington
Stearns Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing