We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quickie at Grandma's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Reviewed June 27, 2011

This place was cozy,inexpensive, and right by Lake Michigan. Stayed for only one night and departed on the S.S. Badger the next morning. There was a deal going on for Badger passengers so it was very inexpensive. The grandma part of it was the decor. i thought it was funny and my wife thought it was cute. antique furniture and floral patterns sums it up. I don't spend a lot of hang time in hotel rooms when on vacation, so i was happy with the price, location, and character of the place. The staff was nice for the five minutes i spent with them. I would stay here again. The room was a little small, but so was the bill. That works for me.

Room Tip: Check their website for deals and then call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank GnashVillain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 160 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Our trip to Ludington was lovely. My only complaint about the hotel was that it was extremely expensive for what you get. We stayed during high season so I should expect that, but it was still close to 300 a night for a two room suite with one of the rooms having a pullout couch. The decor was trying for the bed and breakfast old country look --with creepy old dolls and all. We had to put a doll in the dresser because my son was sure it was staring at him. The staff was nice. The pool was too. I just haven't gotten over what they are charging to be near Lake Michigan.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coleseam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Convenient location close to beach, LMCS ferry dock and downtown. Beautifully decorated and well-maintained, but rooms seem quite small and cramped due to too much furniture for the available space. Nice sunset views of Lake Michigan, marred by a public parking lot which could be very noisy on long summer nights. Rates seemed steep for end-of-season.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATSF616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Our room looked out over the deep-water harbor, and the Ludington lighthouse. We really enjoyed evenings on the deck, and watching the sunsets. The room was big enough for two, and cozy. The breakfast was very basic, and it was a good thing there was room outside as the breakfast room was extremely small. Everyone we met there was very friendly and accomodating, and it was a nice get-away trip for us.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRBFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Ludington, MI and the SSI was a suggestion from a friend who had lived in the area. We took the SS Badger over from WI, and stayed 4 days over Labor Day. What a great time! Snyder's Shoreline was great~the room was perfect, and the view was outstanding! Our room certainly was not "outdated" but large, and clean! Yes, it does face the boat launch~but the launch does not obstruct the view, and we had a lower level room. We fished, swam, shopped, hiked, biked, and went dune buggy riding~and wished we had more time. We plan to go back next summer. Thank you SSI, great stay-great hosts!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aquamagik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My wife and I have stayed here on numerous vacations since 2000. The rooms are expensive for their size, but the view is tremendous! However, things have changed since we last stayed here (2008). I understand the facility is for sale, perhaps that is part of the problem. There was a broken chair in our room, and the maids did a progressively worse job each day cleaning our room; by day 5, our towels were unchanged, trash not taken out, coffee not replaced, etc. In the past, they had a "no children" policy, but that has changed, too. Lots of kids in the pool, and stomping around in the room upstairs from us all day and night. Hard to get to sleep. We will pass on this next year, and go to a rental house instead. As another reviewer mentioned, they are great when you are checking in, but can't do much to help with difficulties and don't really care. Good luck!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrLarry1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Everything is very outdated! The rooms seemed fairly clean though for being so outdated. If I'm gonna pay 200 a night for a NON lake view room I would expect a lot more!! We have a view of the parking lot but we can see a corner of the pool if we walk up to the window, so it's called "pool view room." My wife and I were board with ludington after day 1 of our 3 day stay and wanted to stay somewhere more comfortable. We tried to checkout 1 day early but they would only offer us a gift certificate. Their "policy" forced to stay there an extra night. You can get a lot more value at most b and b's or chain hotels. The staff was pleasent overall and the pool was nice. I would say to stay somewhere else because of the decor, the outdatedness (if that's a word), the fact that we are surrounded by parking lots and the inflexibility of motel policy.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clawsontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.0 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#7 of 17 in Ludington
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 17 in Ludington
156 reviews
23.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snyder's Shoreline Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snyder's Shoreline Inn

Address: 903 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2035
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ludington
#3 Spa Hotel in Ludington
Price Range: $73 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Snyder's Shoreline Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Snyder's Shoreline Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snyder`s Shoreline Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing