We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfy and beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludington House Bed And Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Ludington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfy and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Upon our arrival Bill gave us a basic tour of the house and included a short little historical lesson about the place. Our room was chock full of everything we needed, and our beds were soooo comfortable! The room was nice and cool, despite being on the top floor. Breakfast was light and delicious, though I wish they had fried the bacon instead of microwaving it. Kris even gave us a great recommendation for a local dinner establishment, and the place was awesome. If we return to Ludington, we are staying here!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotoKitten99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ludington House one night on the way up to northern Michigan and couldn't be happier. The whole place has a spacious and well-kept feel. The owners have a great respect for the history of the house and if you take the time to listen and ask questions you'll hear some intriguing stories. I recommend Room 1, where we stayed. It had an awesome jacuzzi and fireplace, very romantic. The owners pay great attention to detail -- our elegant and relaxing room containing plenty of linens, bathrobes, toiletries, and even a pair of wine glasses. They also don't go cheap on food and drink. Our lavish breakfast spread included French press coffee and German apple pancakes that were out of this world, all fresh made when we sat down. Another thoughtful touch: hot drinks, cold bottled water, and snacks are available anytime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bpoosawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

This a very nice B&B with a variety of rooms. Bill and Kris have worked hard to give each room a distinct identity. Many nice touches, including 24 hour snacks and a reading area.
They serve a breakfast to die for.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Jerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed in the skylight room because my husband thought it would be romantic. Your stay starts with a five minute tour and the history of the house. The furnishings are very nice and well kept. Special care has been taken with the decor and you can see the owner's personal touch throughout. Because of the age of the house putting bathrooms in every room was a challenge and many rooms have bathtubs sitting in the same room as the bed. Take a book or something to do. Some of the rooms have a tiny tv and some don't have one at all. There is no tv in the common living room. This was just fine for me as I prefer it quiet. It's right on the maindrag so there is some traffic noise but that dies off almost completely around 10 pm. Downtown is a short walk away and it's worth doing. Breakfast was very tasty and all homemade. We were served apple pancakes, sausage, sliced peaches, juice and coffee. Fruit was in season so everything was very fresh. I like being able to get a cup of tea or coffee whenever I want (self serve). We really enjoyed our visit and will be going back soon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Battleaxe1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2009

I'm still not certain if it was this B&B or simply Ludington that made for such a wonderful last minute get-away Labor Day Weekend. Bill and Kris were wonderful hosts. The breakfast was great. We stayed in the Nautical Room - it was very comfortable and clean.
My husband and I didn't know if we would like Ludington so only booked one night - this was a mistake. The beaches in the area, while narrow, are wonderful. The state park is really worth the trip - make sure you walk to Big Sable Lighthouse. Also make sure you watch the sunset from the causeway to the Ludington Lighthouse.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. joseph, michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

My husband and I came to the Ludington House B&B for our 4th wedding Anniversary. We live on the shores of Lake Michigan in St. Joseph but just needed an over-night get-a-way. We just LOVED our stay at this B&B!!!! We were informed of nearby attractions and the best places to eat depending on what our tastes were for the night. We had a LOVELY afternoon walking the streets of Ludington and then had a WONDERFUL dinner at PM Steamers. (if you go, get the fillet mignon... the red wine sauce was incredible!!!!) After a peaceful early dinner, (before the crowds arrive is the best time to go) we walked the pier and beach to watch a familiar sunset. Kris and Bill were gracious hosts and the breakfast was truly delicious!!! If you want to be pampered and have a relaxing time, this B&B is the place to be. As we drove through town, we passed many B&B's we ALMOST booked... after seeing them up close vs an internet picture, I'm REALLY THANKFUL we chose The Ludinton House!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelzwars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

Bill and Kris made our stay at the Ludington House B & B a wonderful experience. They could not have been more helpful yet never intruded. Great recommendations for shopping and the fab ice cream in downtown Ludington (best ever!) worked well. Ludington is such a pretty little town and we were surprised that it wasn't crowded - I guess we were a little early for the summer crowd. Loved that we could walk into town. Plenty of parking at the B&B and our room had little touches (throw, robes, plenty of towels, great Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries, wonderful shower head!) that we enjoyed. And let's talk about how delicious the breakfasts were (stuffed french toast and this tasty pineapple stuff ) and the snacks that were appreciated. They couldn't do enough for you and were quite knowledgable about the history of the B&B. We were encouraged to look at the other rooms - and we did. I look foward to coming back with my hubby sometime because this definitely is a B&B I want to stay at again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totallytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 12 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 501 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ludington House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ludington House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing