We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with very friendly hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I just stayed here last night and our expectations were blown away. There is lots of history in the house to look through. We stayed in room #6 with the double beds and it was a lot bigger then we imagined. The breakfast was amazing! Homemade quiche was to die for. The hosts sat with us and another couple at breakfast and we really appreciated the delightful conversation. I will be coming back here for sure and recommend this place highly. You won't be disappointed! Thanks again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie7560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wstumpf, Owner at Ludington House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for the kind words. We enjoy being innkeepers and meeting wonderful guests. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Ludington House B&B and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner's welcome and hospitality was great. We stayed in one of the third floor rooms, which are quite small, but we knew that going in to our stay. There was a working AC unit in the room if needed. There is some road noise as it is on the main street through Ludington, however that is the trade-off for having the ability to walk downtown. The full breakfast prepared downstairs in the dining room was excellent. The room was very clean and combined with the location near downtown, was a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devrie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a treat! Immaculately preserved 19th century mansion. A step back in time to elegance. We booked two rooms and both were spacious, clean and comfortable. From the Owner's welcome to the breakfast...a marvelous experience for the memory book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle1GrandLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful Historic Home
My husband and I just stayed at the Ludington House B&B. The house is a wonderful historic gem. We enjoyed it; however, it may not be for everyone. I'm giving it a 4* for the property, not for our room. We stayed in one of the third-floor rooms, which are smallest and cheapest at $119/nt. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Amazing historical home: beautiful original stained glass windows, wood work, and property.
- Great Host: we only met Kris; Bill had a medical emergency.
- Comfortable beds and good working AC.
- Clean and well maintained
- Excellent location only a few blocks from downtown and beach
- Food is good and the host was very accommodating to my lactose allergy.

Cons:
- If you’re booking online, some of the room descriptions are unclear. We booked a 3-rd floor room but it wasn’t clear that it didn’t have a shower. And it definitely did not tell us that the room had no windows, just a skylight. This was a real problem for sleeping in because there was no shade or blinds, just a lace curtain. If you like to sleep in on vacation, make sure you don’t get this room.
- Only some of the rooms have showers. Ours did not, only a claw-foot tub. You would think that’s cool but it is relatively small and if you’re trying to get going for the day to enjoy the area, taking a bath is sort of a pain.
- Stairs, stairs, stairs. I just happened to injure my ankle right before my visit and let me tell you, the 3 flights of stairs were rough.
- Noisy, the house sits on the main drag. So, cars are going by late into the night. If you are an average to light sleeper, this can be a problem. We cracked up our AC and it was effective in drowning out the noise. However, if you’re there during “cool” season, this may not be an option.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this B&B last weekend in the upper room with two sisters and my dad. It was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. It was only for one evening but we had no trouble sharing the space. Pack an overnight bag for the upper levels so you are not bringing a large suitcase up several flights of slightly narrow staircases. The owners are great hosts and the historical info on the house is very interesting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wstumpf, Owner at Ludington House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello Janet,

Thank you for the nice comments. We enjoyed having you. Nope to see you again,

Kris and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful, historic bed and breakfast, give this one a try. Upon checkin you'll be given a brief history of the property and as many details as you care to learn! The property is nicely furnished, from comfortable rooms to elegant rooms, they are all very nice. The breakfasts were excellent, I even was able to the recipe for their German Apple/Cranberry pancakes that were nothing short of amazing. The B&B is within walking distance to many of the downtown restaurants, the beach is a couple of blocks farther! Our hosts were great, can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cozy and well appointed and comfy. The larger rooms are elegant and very roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onvacAllendaleMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms on our 2 night stay. Both were very clean and cozy.
Bill and Kris were great Hosts and we would stay there again if we are ever in that area again.
The history is interesting and the extras (like coffee and brandy are a nice touch of class).

Room Tip: Perfect location if you are taking the SS Badger to Wisconsin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ludington
178 reviews
0 mi away
Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 11 in Ludington
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington House Bed And Breakfast

Address: 501 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range: $110 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ludington House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ludington House is an 1878 Queen Ann Victorian home turned bed and breakfast. We offer a comfortable stay in one of our eight guest rooms, a place to relax in our parlor and a delicious two-course breakfast served with french-pressed coffee or tea. Home-made cookies, coffee and tea are always available. Parking off-street is available. We are located four blocks from the center of town, about one mile from the beach along Lake Michigan and seven miles from beautiful Ludington State Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ludington House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing