We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but not for everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luquillo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice but not for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful Historic Home
My husband and I just stayed at the Ludington House B&B. The house is a wonderful historic gem. We enjoyed it; however, it may not be for everyone. I'm giving it a 4* for the property, not for our room. We stayed in one of the third-floor rooms, which are smallest and cheapest at $119/nt. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Amazing historical home: beautiful original stained glass windows, wood work, and property.
- Great Host: we only met Kris; Bill had a medical emergency.
- Comfortable beds and good working AC.
- Clean and well maintained
- Excellent location only a few blocks from downtown and beach
- Food is good and the host was very accommodating to my lactose allergy.

Cons:
- If you’re booking online, some of the room descriptions are unclear. We booked a 3-rd floor room but it wasn’t clear that it didn’t have a shower. And it definitely did not tell us that the room had no windows, just a skylight. This was a real problem for sleeping in because there was no shade or blinds, just a lace curtain. If you like to sleep in on vacation, make sure you don’t get this room.
- Only some of the rooms have showers. Ours did not, only a claw-foot tub. You would think that’s cool but it is relatively small and if you’re trying to get going for the day to enjoy the area, taking a bath is sort of a pain.
- Stairs, stairs, stairs. I just happened to injure my ankle right before my visit and let me tell you, the 3 flights of stairs were rough.
- Noisy, the house sits on the main drag. So, cars are going by late into the night. If you are an average to light sleeper, this can be a problem. We cracked up our AC and it was effective in drowning out the noise. However, if you’re there during “cool” season, this may not be an option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AbroadDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
91
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tunnel Hill, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at this B&B last weekend in the upper room with two sisters and my dad. It was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable. It was only for one evening but we had no trouble sharing the space. Pack an overnight bag for the upper levels so you are not bringing a large suitcase up several flights of slightly narrow staircases. The owners are great hosts and the historical info on the house is very interesting. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wstumpf, Owner at Ludington House Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Janet,

Thank you for the nice comments. We enjoyed having you. Nope to see you again,

Kris and Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are looking for a wonderful, historic bed and breakfast, give this one a try. Upon checkin you'll be given a brief history of the property and as many details as you care to learn! The property is nicely furnished, from comfortable rooms to elegant rooms, they are all very nice. The breakfasts were excellent, I even was able to the recipe for their German Apple/Cranberry pancakes that were nothing short of amazing. The B&B is within walking distance to many of the downtown restaurants, the beach is a couple of blocks farther! Our hosts were great, can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are cozy and well appointed and comfy. The larger rooms are elegant and very roomy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onvacAllendaleMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in two different rooms on our 2 night stay. Both were very clean and cozy.
Bill and Kris were great Hosts and we would stay there again if we are ever in that area again.
The history is interesting and the extras (like coffee and brandy are a nice touch of class).

Room Tip: Perfect location if you are taking the SS Badger to Wisconsin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My son and I stayed one night at the Ludington House recently. It is not easy to find a bed and breakfast with two beds in a room, and they have it in their Wicker Room #6. We were the only guests the night we stayed, so we had the house to ourselves. It is a great location with an easy walk downtown. Our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but understandable with the age of the home. The breakfast was very good, German apple pancakes, and served in a nice dining room. The price was great. We will stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveljunkieDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Kris and Bill were very friendly and a lot of fun to chat with during our stay at the Ludington House! Kris told us the history of the house and gave us suggestions about things to do in the area. Bill made an AMAZING breakfast before we left! In fact, we were getting an early start, and the owners made sure to take care of breakfast before we left!
The house is well kept and very cozy. We enjoyed reading in the main living room area and we loved the dining area, which was available all day and night. Cookies and coffee were available during our entire stay. The price was better than some chain hotels and the breakfast was a huge bonus! We would go back to the area just to enjoy the atmosphere at the Ludington House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentuckyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Arbor
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and the Breakfast was very good. The owners are a very nice couple. I would stay here again if/when I'm in the area, although I would opt for a larger room next time. We stayed in the third floor (attic) room where the ceilings were sloped and the only window was a skylight. This made it a little small but not too small.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resseguie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 11 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 501 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ludington House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ludington House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing