We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming host and hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very charming host and hostess”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Good value, stayed in front corner room -- loved the clawfoot tub. The breakfast was amazingly good and I loved that they were experimenting with new things. Though very nice surroundings, had a very comfy feel -- not toooo elegant, but just the way you'd like your house to be. The host and hostess hit a nice balance of being helpful but not intrusive.

Room Tip: Loved the front corner room -- got to enjoy the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davos_Delight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
93
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Rose Room. This was her birthday present and the first time either of us had stayed at a B&B. The room and home were beautifully decorated and our hostess, Kris made us feel right at home. Our room featured a claw foot tub w/bath salts and an electric fireplace. Very romantic. The breakfast was all homemade and simply delicious. We will definitely visit again, and would recommend this beautiful Victorian B&B to anyone. Thank you Kris for making our stay wonderful:)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This trip was a surprise birthday present from my boyfriend so he planned the trip.
This Victorian home is absolutely gorgeous, our room was stunning(complete with fireplace and bath salts, very romantic), the breakfast was delicious, and the Innkeeper, Kris, was a wonderful host.
We had a wonderful relaxing time while visiting here :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, mi
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our stay at the b & b was delightful! The rooms and furnishings are so perfectly decorated to reflect the time period of its construction. Bill filled in many historical details for us that made the stay even more intriquing, imagining life in the last century. The breakfast was delicious, and so elegantly served in the dining area.
Several restaurants in town were closed on Mondays, but we found that the James St. Pub had the most delicious Traverse City salad, that it gives us another reason to return to Ludington!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

My wife and I made the trip up from Indiana to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. Upon arriving we knew we made the right choice. Our hosts were great and very helpful in guiding us to some great places to eat and things to see. The house was in great shape and the grounds looked spectacular. We would recommend the Ludington House to anyone. The whole area around Ludington is recommended. Go to the state park north of Ludington

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elburn, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Ingredients
1 loaf French bread (13 to 16 ounces)
8 large eggs
2 cups half-and-half
1 cup milk
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Dash salt
Praline Topping, recipe follows
Maple syrup
Directions
Slice French bread into 20 slices, 1-inch each. (Use any extra bread for garlic toast or bread crumbs). Arrange slices in a generously buttered 9 by 13-inch flat baking dish in 2 rows, overlapping the slices. In a large bowl, combine the eggs, half-and-half, milk, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg and salt and beat with a rotary beater or whisk until blended but not too bubbly. Pour mixture over the bread slices, making sure all are covered evenly with the milk-egg mixture. Spoon some of the mixture in between the slices. Cover with foil and refrigerate overnight.


The next day, preheat oven to 350 degrees F.


Spread Praline Topping evenly over the bread and bake for 40 minutes, until puffed and lightly golden. Serve with maple syrup.

Praline Topping:

1/2 pound (2 sticks) butter
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup chopped pecans
2 tablespoons light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl and blend well. Makes enough for Baked French Toast Casserole.

.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollysnoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The innkeepers have a house with an interesting family whose genealogy goes back centuries with connections to kings and saints, and becomes local lumber barons. The home has been restored nicely. It is not over-crowded with decor, but spacious and comfortable. The rooms are large, the beds are luxurious, and the breakfasts are fit to be served to royalty, and we felt treated royaly.

Room Tip: We thought #4, the Rose Room, esp nice. It is around the corner from other rooms, not adjoining or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#4 of 11 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington House Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington House Bed And Breakfast

Property: Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Address: 501 East Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431-2220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ludington House Bed And Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Ludington House Bed And Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing