We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for a great room, amazing breakfasts and wonderful innkeepers.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Everything about our stay was delightful! Bill & Jane were warm, welcoming hosts. Their dog Maggie was charming and a pleasure to be around. Our breakfasts were filling, creative & delicious! We will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieRiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

We traveled to Ludington without a place to stay, Bill answered the phone and invited us to come see his place, this is all it took. Bill, Jane, Maggie and The Lamplighter was so welcoming, from the warmth of the decor to the hospitality of Bill and Jane. Breakfast was absolutely excellent. We will be back and we will tell anyone and everybody that The Lamplighter is the place to stay in Ludington.
Thank you for an unforgettable weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe692012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I picked this place based on other peoples reviews on trip advisor (literally, by googling it). I was pleased with the hospitality (fresh baked cookies waiting for us), our room was upgraded because there was a larger room that wasn't booked, they booked us a dinner reservation at a great restaurant, offered some great suggestions, and the breakfast food was FANTASTIC. Extremely high quality gourmet food. They were flexible with check in and check out, and it was the perfect romantic getaway. Bill and Jane were extremely friendly. The room was quiet, immaculate, and the large room with jacuzzi tub had bathrobes, bath salts, and extremely fluffy gorgeous towels. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and encourage anyone else randomly using trip advisor that this place is exactly what they say it is.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms are great. They are one of the few B&B's that offer a single downst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSCO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

When we visit our family in Wisconsin, we try to take the ferry from Ludington and when we do, we spend a night or so at the Lamplighter. Jane, Bill and Maggie are like family now and that is the atmosphere at the Lamplighter. The breakfasts are superb and the talk is great. When we must leave early, breakfast is easily rearranged. We enjoy being able to walk downtown to stores and restaurants and the scenic spots on Michigan's northwest shore are a nice day trip.

Room Tip: We like the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jistjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I had never been to Ludington. Stayed at the Lamp Lighter and had a nice clean bedroom with a huge bathroom. Had to leave early and the hosts made us breakfast for the road. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEG586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Innkeepers made you feel like family and the breakfast was just amazing. Jan you are a fabulous cook. What can I say about Maggie, she made you feel like she was your dog. Bill you were helpful on letting us know of the wonderful things there were to do in your lovely city. I appreciate the hospitality you showed to us. This is a wonderful place to visit

Room Tip: If you want to get away on a relaxing trip choose the honeymoon suite, the 2 person jet tub was grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My wife and I take an annual "Bed & Breakfast" trip with good friends. We have been doing this for 22 years and so have stayed in many B & B's in Michigan. The Lamplighter now ranks right up there at the top of our list of favorites! Our room was spacious...had a large jacuzzi tub...and a nice firm matteress on our bed. The house and grounds are in great shape and very well maintained. Inn keepers Jane and Bill (and their dog Maggie) were wonderful hosts and could not have been more gracious. Maggie was kind enough to let us take her for pre-breakfast walks...which were much needed appetite builders...to tackle the scrumptous, gourmet breakfasts the Carpenters serve. The food was outstanding, plentiful, and delicious. We had a very enjoyable weekend and look forward to visiting Jane, Bill, and Maggie again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKSIMPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
161 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
0.9 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#6 of 17 in Ludington
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 11 in Ludington
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast

Address: 602 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range: $142 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated 5 stars on TripAdvisor and 3 Diamonds by AAA, the Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located near miles of white, sandy Lake Michigan beach, four lighthouses, S.S. Badger car ferry to Wisconsin, Ludington Area Center for the Arts, the all-new Port of Ludington Maritime Museum and Michigan's beautiful Ludington State Park. Situated along Ludington Avenue, it’s an easy walk to shopping, antiquing, restaurants, breweries, ice cream and entertainment. Loaded with Old World Charm, the Lamplighter is an 1890’s Victorian that features its original oak pocket doors and brass hardware, handcrafted oak staircase, and tiled fireplaces. The comforts and conveniences of today come alongside the antiques, family heirlooms and other objets d’art that decorate the elegant, yet casual old home. Outdoors, a cozy gazebo, deck and patio allows guests to enjoy the beautiful gardens and outdoor spaces making the experience at the Lamplighter a time of rest and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Lamplighter Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing