We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be returning again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Ludington
Ranked #5 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Inn at Ludington! The breakfasts and snacks were great. The hostess (Kathy's daughter) checked on us multiple times throughout the evening to make sure there was coffee, water, hot water, etc for us as we played board games at the dining room table.

Our bed was very comfortable and I really enjoyed a nice long soak in the claw foot tub. our room was clean and cozy!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katiemae33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 97 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2010

First off, I was surprised to see any remotely negative reviews for the Inn at Ludington.

I have stayed at the Inn at Ludington many times and continue to go back year after year. The hostess (Kathy) is amazing and kind.
Breakfast is the best! With a variety of options; fruits, yogurt, meat, potatoes, and eggs, there is really no going wrong with Kathy’s cooking! I have never left the table unsatisfied.

I have stayed in almost every room at the Inn except for maybe one. Each room is complete with its own magic and creature comforts!

Always clean linen, always clean bathrooms, always comfort. I have enjoyed every stay!
I have traveled there alone and with in groups and either way the accommodations have ALWAYS been perfect!!!!

I will be there again next year as planned!
Best B&B experience every time!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJonRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

The carpets were spotted - the proprietor (Kathy) said it was from people carrying drinks. She was walking around in her barefeet and complainig about all the work she was doing, not exactly what you would expect from a B & B hostess. Our bathroom floor was sticky every step you took and the shower was very dark with no light. The TV (which was sitting on an old formica top kitchen table) wasn't plugged in and we found out why because when we plugged it in we heard a loud pop and it went off. Kathy said a fuse had blown and she would fix it. In the evening when we were watching TV and reading the lights kept dimming and the air conditioner kept going on and off. The afternoon snacks consisted of pretzels, store bought cookies and an ice bucket with no tongs. In the evening she had added a small store bought cake with no silverware to eat it with. They had to put an extra fold out table in the living room for breakfast. There was coffee at eight a.m. and a buffet breakfast at nine. No decaff coffee until I asked again. Half the food came out at nine and after eating most of that she served the other two main dishes about twenty minutes later. This B & B looked great on the internet but it was far from grand on the inside. The rooms were a conglomeration of odds and ends of different styles most of which didn't match the historical nature of the home. What could have been a beautiful Victorian House was a place that totally turned us off. We have been staying at bed and breakfasts for many years and this is one that looks nothing in person like it is depicted on the internet. Actually we stayed in this house about 15 to 20 years ago ( different owners) when it was first turned into a B&B and it was much nicer and truer to its roots.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LJSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Kathy seemed to busy to help us...not available to answer questions...no drinking water for her guests...breakfast fruit ~ for three days we had bad grapes...that's it...just grapes! And nothing for a fat free breakfast...we even told her ahead of time. The floor was very dirty...we came down at 9:15 in the am and the food would be gone. After four day's there...she never said my name or addressed us. The fuses blew two times...I had to go and find her...and she seemed put out...there is no one to help you go up two flights of stairs with your luggage...so pack light. The king size beds are like mush...and the decor of each room is very dated. The traffic noise from the road is awful!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kadpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2009

The Inn is charming, service was excellent, and breakfast was varied and delicious. My husband enjoyed early morning coffee, walks in the garden and chats with Kathy before I even got up. Then we joined guests for a sumptuous breakfast. We found The Inn an easy walk to town and the waterfront. When asked, Kathy provided excellent advice on places to see and where to eat. The bedroom was well-appointed and decorated nicely and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, staying at The Inn was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techiebythebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I have stayed at this B&B during multiple business trips. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Complimentary internet access is available for the business traveler. Great location! The Innkeepers have accommadated late arrivals, made reservations for me, and overall will move mountains to accommadate any request. The Inn at Ludinton is a nice break from chain hotels like Hilton or Marriott. The prices are more than reasonable and there is a full breakfast and evening snacks! Best of all, after a few stays you earn free nights to use for recreation. Kathy you are the best! Meredith

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeredithCRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2009

We visited the Inn at Ludington for a Murder Mystery Weekend and stayed in the Great Lakes Victorian Room. We had a wonderful time. We felt very welcomed by Kathy and Ola and the rest of the family. The murder mystery was better than expected and the food was superb. We really enjoyed our room- especially the jetted hot tub and fireplace. It was the perfect room for a romantic weekend away. We plan to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
160 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
445 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ludington Pier House Motel
Ludington Pier House Motel
#7 of 17 in Ludington
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Ludington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Ludington

Address: 701 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range: $53 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Ludington 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revisit times past within the charmed Victorian Bed and Breakfast that stands at the helm of historic "Old Town" Ludington, MI. Built in 1889, The Inn at Ludington Bed and Breakfast is a recipient of the local historical society's award for replicate restoration. Our cozy atmosphere and genuine hospitality makes your welcome a warm one. Make your west coast shoreline vacation a home away from home experience in one of our seven themed guest rooms. Choose from the The Great Lakes Victorian, The Scandinavian, Little Europe, The Grand Americana, The Mediterranean, The Garden View Retreat or The Lakeside Loft. All with private baths, cable TV, AC and Free Broadband Wireless Internet access, melding today's modern amenities into it's cozy elegance. In winters, warm yourselves while lounging by one of our 4 original wood burning fireplaces. Our fabulous newly renovated 900 sq.ft. attic apartment works wonderfully for families or ladies weekends. Its majestic 20ft tongue-and-groove white pine ceilings and open floor-plan sleeps seven comfortably and offers kitchen facilities, it has a private tower library and magnificent slate walk-in shower. Breakfast is designed to accommodate you, the guest. Offering a variety of choices, tailored to meet your plans for the day. For early birds and Ferry goers, a fresh pot of coffee is brewing. Fresh Breads and Homemade Jams, Yogurts, fresh fruit salads, juices, cereals and a Brunch Pack for the ride. At 9 am enjoy our buffet extravaganza - hot gourmet egg variations, quiches, breadpuddings, crepes, local and seasonal favorites. In the afternoon, snack on molasses & oatmeal cookies, coffee, tea and our secret recipe Lemon Peppermint Iced Tea and Popcorn are available to hold you over until your evening dinner plans. We can help with local dining suggestions. A pleasant walk down the Avenue through town to the beach rated #1 in Michigan (Detroit Free Press), Stearns Park and its white sandy shores of Lake Michigan beckon you to admire beautiful sunsets framed by dunes and lighthouses mentioned as one of the 5 most beautiful sunsets in the world by a major international magazine a few years back. On your walk back home stop in at our local favorite House of Flavors for a double scooper and at Redolencias coffeehouse & outdoor folk entertainment. Visit Redolencia Coffeehouse for a fabulous cup of fresh roasted Ethiopian French Press coffee or latte and much more. Enjoy our Norwegian specialty baked goods anytime. For a memorable evening stop in weekends with live music. Open Late Daily! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Ludington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing