We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable place to stay.”
Reviewed July 17, 2010

We make it a habit to stay at the Ludington Pier House for our anniversary get-away each year. Situated only a block form the Lake Michigan shoreline, it is also an easy walking distance from the downtown specialty shops, Art Center and restaurants. The staff is always friendly and helpful, and try to make us feel at home. The rooms are clean, well-maintained and reasonably priced. We especially appreciate the indoor hot tub, and the heated swimming pool, which is larger than many hotel pools. Guests who stay more than one night receive a certificate for a B1G1 breakfast at the famed House of Flavors Restaurant. Bicycles are welcomed, and racks provided. Smoke-free.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jAlida53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    64
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2010

My husband and I decided to visit Ludington, we heard great reviews of The Pier House but it was a turn for the worse. My children were frightened of the staff members. The pool was nice along with the hot tub but the staff closed it 30 minutes early. My children (13 and 10) Were chilled from swimming in the beautiful lake and had planned to warm up in the hot tub. We asked the staff why the pool was closed, they just snickered. The location is great but I suggest a different facility neerby, wifi didn't work, amenities were not in the room. noisy air conditioner, not enough pillows, no microwaves.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler23060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
I am sorry that you felt any of our staff was unfriendly. Everyone at Pier House strive to do their very best and are very friendly and courteous towards our many guests. Your comment is hurtful and exaggerated. I believe you were disgruntled because your children were not allowed to swim as the pool was being closed. I was working that evening and spoke with you. It is unfair that you criticize and publish something because I believe, you were just mad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Beautiful, large new room in historic building located very close to lake michigan beach. very nice indoor pool and hot tub with a large out side deck. very quiet and meticulously maintained and spotless. enjoyed our stay very much. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eriko7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Clean, well-maintained property that is run very efficiently. The night we stayed it was very quiet. Nice indoor pool. It's a short walk to the lakefront park and downtown. I'm not sure if it was intended, but there was no complimentary shampoo or conditioner in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scroochgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montague, Michigan, USA
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2010

Pier House is a great mom and pops hotel. Stayed here at the beginning of June. The staff is very nice and friendly, and the rooms are very clean! It was close to the beach and downtown, and had a bike rack for us to put our bikes. I would definitely stay at the Pier House again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovebiketrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoolcraft Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2009

The rooms were plain as the day is long and like walking down a very cheap hotel hallway to our room.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegoodlife33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We stayed at the Ludington Pier House over Labor Day weekend and we loved it! It is close to downtown Ludington, the lake and the parks. We walked everywhere. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly. We also loved the hot tub and pool. Whenever we are in the area, we will stay at the Ludington Pier House.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleck27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel

Property: Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Address: 805 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#3 Family Hotel in Ludington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location! Just across from the Lake Michigan Beach and Ludington Lighthouse! Our Hotel is also within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shops, playgrounds, parks, the SS Badger and much more. Great location and great rates! We offer Reasonable rates for lodging. We offer a free nights stay for every two times you stay with us! Check out our Early Bird Special and receive 10% off your stay if you book your stay before the end of March! Please check our website for Specials and discounts. Call our office directly to book the best rates. Several room types to choose from. King Rooms, Large Family Rooms, Lakeview Room with balcony and more! We take pride in offering a friendly, knowledgeable staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a place our guests can enjoy our property and convienant location. Check our website for pictures of our property. Ludington Pier House is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway or family vacation! We will do our best to accommodate our guests, whether coordinating a wedding party, ordering flowers for a romantic getaway, leaving you alone for some solitude or helping a family find things to do! As you compare us, read our reviews. We may not have as many as other, (we are only seasonal) but we have many happy guests! Remember, not only do we have a great location, a beautiful heated indoor pool, upgraded rooms with flatscreen TV's, refrigerators, a variety of room styles and breakfast at House of Flavors Restaurant, we offer competitive rates for our location. Very few other lodging facilities in our area can offer you a close location to both the beach and walking distance to downtown or to several parks, an indoor heated pool AND offer fairly reasonable rates! Walk wherever you'd like to go in and around town. We are just across from the beach, lounge in the warm white sand, swim in the clean,clear water and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets! (The beach is handicap accessible) Playgrounds, marinas, museums, the lighthouse, great restaurants and fantastic breweries are all near by! Concerts at Waterfront Park, Go for a sunset sail on Lake Michigan, a Charter Fishing for monstrous salmon, watch the SS Badger Carferry depart or return daily,Family movies every Thursday night in the summer at Ludington's Rotary Park, Bonfires on the Beach and Friday Night Live offering live music, activities, outdoor restaurants and fun for all, each Friday night in the summe...ALL within walking distance from Ludington Pier House. Something for everyone! Great place for a quiet getaway, a family reunion, holidays and events! *We offer the only hotel with a HEATED INDOOR POOL and HOT TUB* with outdoor sun deck in the downtown area AND near the beach! One event for example: The Fourth of July. As you watch our local 4th of July Parade you can be enjoying the BBQ Picnic lunch we serve our guests, for free. Then in the evening, watch the magnificent 4th of July Fireworks display over Lake Michigan, sitting comfortably on your balcony or from our lawn! We offer Clean, comfortable rooms, in a variety of sizes and amenities: We have One queen rooms which are very budget friendly to large Family Rooms that are comfortable for up to 5-6 people. We have King Rooms with refrigerators, microwave and in room coffee, as well! Free Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV's with cable and HBO in every room. Photos of our rooms, our indoor pool and our property are posted on our website as well as here on this site. We also have a 2 bedroom apartment within the hotel available for weekly rental, May-September.See our website for apartment information. Please check us out! We'd love to have you come stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Pier House Hotel Ludington
Ludington Pier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing