We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived mid week with no reservations. Sarah at the front desk was very pleasant, checked us in, suggested good dining establishments and made us feel right at home. This place was ultra clean and cared for. Spotless enclosed pool and the grounds seem to be manicured. Walking distance to the beach, lighthouse, and a short drive to watch the S.S. Badger unload it's cargo. I would highly recommend this place. Fair price and helpful and polite employees.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    63
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for three nights. No complaints (except the little boy upstairs who ran non-stop). This hotel was extremely clean, the room large and the staff friendly. Location is just a few steps from the beach. Able to see the SS Badger come in from the beach along with spectacular sunsets. Upon check-in, received a 2 for 1 breakfast coupon for House of Flavors. Wonderful breakfast at very reasonable prices. Water pressure was wonderful. No iron/ironing board or hair dryer in room, but they are available from front office if needed. Ample supply of pillows for room, and they are not the ones that go flat. Much better price than the chain name hotels a couple of miles down the road. Did not use indoor pool. Housekeeping was prompt and cleaned thoroughly. Have no complaints. Will definitely stay here again next year.

Room Tip: Room 103 only has another room on one side. Close to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandMoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Had a great stay at the Ludington Pier House. We had no reservation, yet the friendly front desk person offered us a discount! Our rooms were very clean, big and comfy. Our child loved the indoor pool and being right next to the beach with a playground. We enjoyed walking to downtown Ludington and found some lovely cafés, restaurants and shops. We ended up extending our stay an extra night. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vero2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location but very run down. Tub wasn't cleaned once during our 4 day stay. To be fair, though, I did not complain about the tub to the front office although I should have. No fan in bathroom, just a window.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank B V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington P, Manager at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I'm sorry you were not 100% happy with your stay. We at the Ludington Pier House take our guests' happiness to heart, as we are a small family-owned business with housekeeping staff that returns each season. During your stay, I wish you had brought your issues to our attention so we could've had the chance to make it right. We have a reputation for being a very clean facility, and we don't take it lightly to hear that someone thought otherwise. In addition to being extremely clean, we are constantly upgrading our rooms, and in no way would be considered "run-down." We strive to keep our rooms current, clean and comfortable for our new and many returning guests, with upgrades added to rooms every year. Our west building rooms all have functioning windows for ventilation, and any room without a window does have a fan in the bathroom, as is required by law.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The beach is a block away. Downtown Ludington is a short walk. We parked our car and didn't move it again until departure day. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had a shared balcony with chairs to relax. Bed was comfy. Some rooms have a view of Lake Michigan, ours did. There is an indoor pool. We didn't use it; but saw that others did while we were there. All in all a good experience and comfy stay in one of our favorite beach towns in Michigan.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a lakeview if you are in to that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Weathermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

You cannot see the beach from the room but you can see it from the front yard...it is that close to walk there. It is also a short walk to a restaurant/icecream shop. We found a route to walk to the SS Badger around the marinas so we did not need a taxi. It was probably a 15-20 minute walk. Rooms were clean & quite, we loved the indoor pool & whirlpool which is in its own separate building. We walked across the street to the beach at sunset and saw breathtaking views and lighthouse as we watched the SS badger depart. This beach is really breathtaking. Staff were very nice and it was very quite here. We stayed at Naders the week before which we enjoyed but will be staying here from now on as the location is better & so was the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindabWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you love the sun and fresh water this is the place to be for summer vacation.
We enjoy our time at the Pier House we spend 2 nights here it's a nice quite place, clean, with inside pool,friendly a short walk to the beach, lighthouse,
The hotel is very close to downtown Ludington 10-15 minutes walk; a very small town with a lovely charmed a few pubs, markets, souvenir shops, ice-cream shop the best in town etc; some of them open till late at night.
Amazing sunrise and sunset view over the Michigan Lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
742 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel

Property: Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Address: 805 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#3 Family Hotel in Ludington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location! Just across from the Lake Michigan Beach and Ludington Lighthouse! Our Hotel is also within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shops, playgrounds, parks, the SS Badger and much more. Great location and great rates! We offer Reasonable rates for lodging. We offer a free nights stay for every two times you stay with us! Check out our Early Bird Special and receive 10% off your stay if you book your stay before the end of March! Please check our website for Specials and discounts. Call our office directly to book the best rates. Several room types to choose from. King Rooms, Large Family Rooms, Lakeview Room with balcony and more! We take pride in offering a friendly, knowledgeable staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a place our guests can enjoy our property and convienant location. Check our website for pictures of our property. Ludington Pier House is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway or family vacation! We will do our best to accommodate our guests, whether coordinating a wedding party, ordering flowers for a romantic getaway, leaving you alone for some solitude or helping a family find things to do! As you compare us, read our reviews. We may not have as many as other, (we are only seasonal) but we have many happy guests! Remember, not only do we have a great location, a beautiful heated indoor pool, upgraded rooms with flatscreen TV's, refrigerators, a variety of room styles and breakfast at House of Flavors Restaurant, we offer competitive rates for our location. Very few other lodging facilities in our area can offer you a close location to both the beach and walking distance to downtown or to several parks, an indoor heated pool AND offer fairly reasonable rates! Walk wherever you'd like to go in and around town. We are just across from the beach, lounge in the warm white sand, swim in the clean,clear water and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets! (The beach is handicap accessible) Playgrounds, marinas, museums, the lighthouse, great restaurants and fantastic breweries are all near by! Concerts at Waterfront Park, Go for a sunset sail on Lake Michigan, a Charter Fishing for monstrous salmon, watch the SS Badger Carferry depart or return daily,Family movies every Thursday night in the summer at Ludington's Rotary Park, Bonfires on the Beach and Friday Night Live offering live music, activities, outdoor restaurants and fun for all, each Friday night in the summe...ALL within walking distance from Ludington Pier House. Something for everyone! Great place for a quiet getaway, a family reunion, holidays and events! *We offer the only hotel with a HEATED INDOOR POOL and HOT TUB* with outdoor sun deck in the downtown area AND near the beach! One event for example: The Fourth of July. As you watch our local 4th of July Parade you can be enjoying the BBQ Picnic lunch we serve our guests, for free. Then in the evening, watch the magnificent 4th of July Fireworks display over Lake Michigan, sitting comfortably on your balcony or from our lawn! We offer Clean, comfortable rooms, in a variety of sizes and amenities: We have One queen rooms which are very budget friendly to large Family Rooms that are comfortable for up to 5-6 people. We have King Rooms with refrigerators, microwave and in room coffee, as well! Free Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV's with cable and HBO in every room. Photos of our rooms, our indoor pool and our property are posted on our website as well as here on this site. We also have a 2 bedroom apartment within the hotel available for weekly rental, May-September.See our website for apartment information. Please check us out! We'd love to have you come stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Pier House Hotel Ludington
Ludington Pier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing