We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a great place!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have gone to Ludington for years! We were only able to stay 1 night this year due
to a very hectic family schedule, but it wouldn't be summer if we didn't make it up to the lighthouses and the delightful town of Luddington! We love the Pier house location, gorgeous room, and the delightful staff. Our stay was short but perfect! I was able to use the hot tub both days we were there. We had a special treat of being in room 216! Our two year old granddaughter LOVED the windows at her height. We only wish we could have been there longer! Sincerely, Janet Alexander

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington P, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are happy,to hear you had yet another good stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again !
Possibly this fall for color change !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    64
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
106
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights the week of 7/15/13. Everything positive in the reviews is true - very clean, nice location and friendly staff. Hotel is nothing fancy but had all the amenities we needed (except hair dryer which they graciously provided). Our room 203 looked to be recently updated and included refrigerator and microwave. Indoor pool was huge and very, very clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Ludington.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlumHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington P, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Hello, I,wanted to say that We are glad that you enjoys your stay with us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We do,take pride in our family business and work very hard to make this a place many people would want to stay. We hope to see,you again. Look for our specials too! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came to this hotel around 8:30 PM after driving from Mackinaw City. The staff was friendly and we rented a room with two queen sized beds. The room was large, clean and fresh, plenty of space for our family. The bathroom was a bit small, but we managed. They have an indoor pool in the back of the property, which was sparkling and had a spa in a corner of the pool. The front desk provides towels specifically for the pool. We had hoped for a continental breakfast with the $129 per night room charge, but they do not have one. They did provide us with buy one get one free coupons at the House of Flavors, which was just down the street. That restaurant has a fabulous "early bird" breakfast" special which we all enjoyed. They also have other great things on their breakfast menu AND great ice cream. The beach with a playground is practically out their front door, too. We would love to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XTeachie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We've been visiting Ludington for many years, and we've stayed at the Pier house quite a few times. Obviously, we keep going back because we really like the hotel. The rooms are fairly simple, and the furnishings are modest. This is not a high end hotel. The staff are friendly, and the rooms and facility are kept clean. Perhaps the best thing about the Pier House is the location -- just a short walk to the beach, breakwater, and many other things. In the other direction, downtown Ludington is just a few blocks away. We've stayed at other local properties, but this is the one we keep coming back to.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington P, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
This is a great weekend to stay with us and in Ludington. Events are a,plus. We at PierHouse are near the beach with quick access to events. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay! Thank you for your review . We try very hard and want,our guests to be comfortable, happy and wanting to return. We truly do,our best to make Pier House a clean friendly place to be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

ROOM: Our room was located in the second house right next to the main motel with parking in the street. While the room was very spacious and the bathroom was huge, the room was dark and had a funny smell to it like moisture from the in-room-air conditioner had dripped onto the carpet.
GROUNDS: We loved the look of the building we stayed in because it almost looks like a residential home from the outside. Indoor pool was located just down the hall, and to our disappointment the outside deck at the back of the building was being closed up at 10pm just when we wanted to hang out outside a little bit. The yard with beautiful flowers and grass areas was absolutely beautiful and well taken care of.
LOCATION: The location was perfect for us (better would only be to be right on the water). Just a few minutes to the beach and pier that leads to the lighthouse. Convenient to walk to downtown just a few blocks up the street for shopping and restaurants.
We would stay there again just because of the location, would as for a different room though.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask to stay at the "motel" part if you prefer to park right by your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigSabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just left from a two night stay at the ludington pier house and enjoyed every part of our stay. The rooms were very clean, staff was excellent, and the location was feat as you can walk a few hundred feet to the beach. This is appears to be a family run outfit that takes pride in making your stay a great experience for you and your family as they did mine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy4Jesus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved the location, price and cleanliness of this hotel. Our family of 4 stayed for two nights and were very pleased with this hotel. The biggest perk that this hotel has is that it has an indoor pool; I was shocked how clean and well maintained it was! It was perfect for the rainy day that we encountered. All the others in the area have outdoor pools, which are great, but there's the beach (walking distance!) for sunny days. We spent our storm time swimming and hot tubbing instead of watching for the weather to pass. We walked to mini-golf, the beach, the pier to watch the Badger and then the other way to breakfast and shopping. We were also close to the marina where our friends were staying.
I would say the only negative (and this is a very small one) is that the air conditioning was loud. I liked it as white noise, but my hubby thought it was too loud. However, he's a very light sleeper.
We are going to make this our destination for our annual stay in Ludington.

Room Tip: West wing rooms with lower numbers have better views. Ex: 201 has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
146 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
163 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
759 reviews
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel

Property: Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Address: 805 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#3 Family Hotel in Ludington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location! Just across from the Lake Michigan Beach and Ludington Lighthouse! Our Hotel is also within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shops, playgrounds, parks, the SS Badger and much more. Great location and great rates! We offer Reasonable rates for lodging. We offer a free nights stay for every two times you stay with us! Check out our Early Bird Special and receive 10% off your stay if you book your stay before the end of March! Please check our website for Specials and discounts. Call our office directly to book the best rates. Several room types to choose from. King Rooms, Large Family Rooms, Lakeview Room with balcony and more! We take pride in offering a friendly, knowledgeable staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a place our guests can enjoy our property and convienant location. Check our website for pictures of our property. Ludington Pier House is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway or family vacation! We will do our best to accommodate our guests, whether coordinating a wedding party, ordering flowers for a romantic getaway, leaving you alone for some solitude or helping a family find things to do! As you compare us, read our reviews. We may not have as many as other, (we are only seasonal) but we have many happy guests! Remember, not only do we have a great location, a beautiful heated indoor pool, upgraded rooms with flatscreen TV's, refrigerators, a variety of room styles and breakfast at House of Flavors Restaurant, we offer competitive rates for our location. Very few other lodging facilities in our area can offer you a close location to both the beach and walking distance to downtown or to several parks, an indoor heated pool AND offer fairly reasonable rates! Walk wherever you'd like to go in and around town. We are just across from the beach, lounge in the warm white sand, swim in the clean,clear water and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets! (The beach is handicap accessible) Playgrounds, marinas, museums, the lighthouse, great restaurants and fantastic breweries are all near by! Concerts at Waterfront Park, Go for a sunset sail on Lake Michigan, a Charter Fishing for monstrous salmon, watch the SS Badger Carferry depart or return daily,Family movies every Thursday night in the summer at Ludington's Rotary Park, Bonfires on the Beach and Friday Night Live offering live music, activities, outdoor restaurants and fun for all, each Friday night in the summe...ALL within walking distance from Ludington Pier House. Something for everyone! Great place for a quiet getaway, a family reunion, holidays and events! *We offer the only hotel with a HEATED INDOOR POOL and HOT TUB* with outdoor sun deck in the downtown area AND near the beach! One event for example: The Fourth of July. As you watch our local 4th of July Parade you can be enjoying the BBQ Picnic lunch we serve our guests, for free. Then in the evening, watch the magnificent 4th of July Fireworks display over Lake Michigan, sitting comfortably on your balcony or from our lawn! We offer Clean, comfortable rooms, in a variety of sizes and amenities: We have One queen rooms which are very budget friendly to large Family Rooms that are comfortable for up to 5-6 people. We have King Rooms with refrigerators, microwave and in room coffee, as well! Free Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV's with cable and HBO in every room. Photos of our rooms, our indoor pool and our property are posted on our website as well as here on this site. We also have a 2 bedroom apartment within the hotel available for weekly rental, May-September.See our website for apartment information. Please check us out! We'd love to have you come stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Pier House Hotel Ludington
Ludington Pier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing