We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Totally impressed”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We weren't sure about this reservation, as it wasn't a major chain but rather a "mom & pop" kind of place in the right location. We were blown away by this wonderful hotel. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and it's also been maintained extremely well. It feels very fresh and clean. The rooms are lovely. The pool/ hot tub were excellent. Very comfortable and enjoyable - and the price was right! The ultimate measure of a good hotel is once you're there - if you wish you'd stayed somewhere else....we keep commenting that we were thrilled with our choice and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else - this will be such a good memory of staying in Ludington! Also, thoroughly enjoyed the walk out to the lighthouse that someone recommended...try to do it when the SS Badger is coming or going - quite an experience! We watched it arrive from the dock, so we could see it unload all the semis / etc. and then watched it leave for Wisconsin from the lighthouse - a whole different experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamysteid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for sharing.
We hope to see you again next season! We have a variety of room styles...try another one next time ! Color change here is beautiful too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    63
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
104
88
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The place was beautiful!! The staff was super friendly and willing to answer any questions we had! The rooms were super clean and well maintained!!! The pool is probably one of the cleanest pools we've seen in awhile!! Perfect location to the beach and downtown!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We truly enjoyed our stay at Ludington Pier House. The two most important issues for me when choosing a hotel room for my family are location and cleanliness. Ludington Pier House gets an A++ for both. Located a few minutes walk from the beach (almost literally a hop, skip, and a jump away), you cannot beat the Pier House's location. We were able to see the SS Badger coming and going from the balcony right outside our room. While the rooms and motel are not brand new, they are obviously very well cared for. The rooms are spotless - - and I'm very picky. The grounds are beautifully maintained with everything freshly painted and cleaned. The pool is, yet another, well-maintained, clean area. The pool area is very private and inviting, an oasis of sorts, with a deck, tables with umbrellas, and chaise lounges. The same person was working in the office when we checked in and out. She was very friendly and offered information without me even asking. She was very professional. We will definitely stay here again! We stayed two nights and wished we could have stayed a week. We love Ludington . . . and we really enjoyed the Ludington Pier House. Ludington has some of the most beautiful beaches you'll find anywhere!

Room Tip: I'd ask for a second floor room in the motel (versus the brick building). You'll be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIProud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights in the brick unit. It was very clean, comfortable, and appeared to be recently updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a t.v., but no microwave, refrigerator, or hair dryer. The rate for the room was very reasonable, so we didn't mind few amenities. The location is wonderful, within walking distance of a beach and downtown. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Ludington.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
WevatbLudington Pier Housebwould enjoy having you back. Many of our rooms do have refrigerators and our larger Family Rooms do have microwaves in addition to the refrigerators.
We also have extra microwaves in our office to rent. $10. For your entire stsy if you'd like one. We will have everything set up in your room prior to you arriving.
We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
180 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Pier House has a good location but you can find even better just a block away. The sunsets over the lake can be incredable but you won't see them from here. A couple block walk to see them. We booked this to stay after ferry trip arriving at 7:30 PM. Room was just OK, clean, internet -- good, a/c -ok, Pool and Spa - didn't use but looked ok. NO BREAKFAST at all. and if you even think of smoking on the property they will shoot you here. Looked much better online than in reality. not a big surprise.

Room Tip: One block away there are some really nice rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are always sorry to hear anyone is unhappy with their stay.
Our prices are competitive with all hotels in our area. As a matter of fact given our location with walking distance to beach, lighthouse, parks and downtown etc... Our prices are very reasonable given location. Park car and enjoy Ludington! Can't walk to the Beach or downtown shopping and restaurants from one of the chain hotels here in Ludington. Location does cost more at times. We are less than a block from the beach. Breakfast...No, we do not have a kitchen on site, we are a smaller hotel/ motel but we do provide a buy one get one free breakfast coupon for guests to eat any meal you choose at the HOUSE OF FLAVORS Restaurant just a few blocks away.
SMOKING.... We are a NO SMOKING HOTEL/ MOTEL. No exception. We are very clear about this policy. Shoot people...no, a bit extreme...strong comment. You are correct we do not allow smoking anywhere on property. You will be asked to go for a walk or whatever if you are seen smoking on property. We tell everyone when the make their reservation, again when they arrive, you sign a nonsmoking agreement...so to complain about it...ridiculous. Read your confirmation, your reservation card which has no smoking policy stated clearly and the no smoking sign outside the office door before entering.
We have many, most guests who appreciate the fact that we have never allowed smoking on our property. We are very conscience of our property, providing great customer service and wanting our guests to be happy. If you're a smoker then maybe this isn't your best option to stay.
I cannot suggest a hotel that allows smoking anymore so I'm not sure where you will stay next time.
No smoking means no smoking. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was a cheep place to stay in dollers as well as quaility,room very old not had any money spent on it fro decades,very basic aminaties much better motels guest houses,did not feel safe or welcomed,best suited for low income family wanting cheep accomadation

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
It is unfortunate that you found our hotel/motel uncomfortable to stay in. At any time did you speak to someone about your accomodations? Did you ask for an upgrade? From your statement you indicated the room was "cheap", so I am thinking you must have asked for our lower cost room which is smaller than most, hence the cost. It is still a nice room, not old or low in quality by any means. The smaller rooms 1 queen rooms we have are very comfortable and come with refrigerators, Cable TV with premium channels, on our new tv's. Almost everything in our rooms in our entire facility have been remodeled or replaced within the past few years.The room pictures and other photos on our website speak for themselves. If you would have preferred a larger room with a larger TV , more square footage, a balcony and a view of the lake, you should have asked or reserved ahead because we do have that available as well. You chose for whatever reason our smallest room we have. I'm sure from your other reviews left around Ludington you enjoyed the fact that our hotel was also very convienant for you to travel to the various places you visited while here. You also mentioned feeling unwelcomed or unsafe while here. I am puzzled. We have a secure facility and Ludington itself is a low crime area. That is the first I have ever heard a guest say that. We try very hard, our entire staff to make our guests comfortable, welcome and go out of our way to do whatever is needed to help make their stay enjoyable. We have wonderful guests, families and large groups that travel to be here and do enjoy our facility regardless of income. I really do wish you had come and spoken to someone about your issues while you were here instead of writing this horrific review that I truly am finding hard to understand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAYSLAKE
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here July 21-24 after coming to Ludington in June with our daughter. The rooms are clean and comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. There is no big screen TV or microwave in the room. Just an older 19" TV and small fridge. No frills. Nice pool and hot tub! You are a 2 minute walk from Lake Michigan. If you want more in your room this is not for you then. We were not hibernating in our rooms but spending most of our time on the beach so this was fine. You will pay more next door at Snyders or other area hotels but again if you are staying in your room most of the time then the others may be a better bet. I like to give my business to locals, not chains and this family has done a fine job, as do most of the local hotels as this is their bread and butter. Will stay again when coming to Ludington.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludingtonpierhouse, Owner at Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Hello!
When making a reservation here at the Ludington Pier House please ask about the different types of rooms we offer so that you can stay in a room that you are comfortable with. We do offer a guide on our website about the different rooms and the ammenities each have. We do have 32" flat screens in over 1/2 of our rooms here at Ludington Pier House. We also offer Family rooms which do have microwaves available in them in addition to a refrigerator and three beds.
We also offer microwaves for $10. for your entire stay. It is noted in our Handbook in the room what you can rent from the office if you would like or need additional ammennities. You are correct though we are a no frills hotel/motel. We would like to think we offer a convienant, clean and fun place to be. The majority of our guests are usualy outdoors doing a variety of activities from swimming at he beach across the street, hiking, boating, walking downtown and do not stay in their rooms all day. Even on rainy days we have the heated indoor pool which i am glad you were able to enjoy, No, we may not have all the bells and whistle's of a Hilton Hotel but we do care about our guests and want them to enjoy their stay in a clean, comfortable room. Thank you for your comment. It does helpus understand what others are seeking. Maybe we need to post in the office some of the items we offer as well.I hope you check out our website and the variety of rooms we have and try us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.0 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.4 mi away
Viking Arms Inn
Viking Arms Inn
#8 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel

Property: Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
Address: 805 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#3 Family Hotel in Ludington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location! Just across from the Lake Michigan Beach and Ludington Lighthouse! Our Hotel is also within walking distance to downtown, restaurants, shops, playgrounds, parks, the SS Badger and much more. Great location and great rates! We offer Reasonable rates for lodging. We offer a free nights stay for every two times you stay with us! Check out our Early Bird Special and receive 10% off your stay if you book your stay before the end of March! Please check our website for Specials and discounts. Call our office directly to book the best rates. Several room types to choose from. King Rooms, Large Family Rooms, Lakeview Room with balcony and more! We take pride in offering a friendly, knowledgeable staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a place our guests can enjoy our property and convienant location. Check our website for pictures of our property. Ludington Pier House is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway or family vacation! We will do our best to accommodate our guests, whether coordinating a wedding party, ordering flowers for a romantic getaway, leaving you alone for some solitude or helping a family find things to do! As you compare us, read our reviews. We may not have as many as other, (we are only seasonal) but we have many happy guests! Remember, not only do we have a great location, a beautiful heated indoor pool, upgraded rooms with flatscreen TV's, refrigerators, a variety of room styles and breakfast at House of Flavors Restaurant, we offer competitive rates for our location. Very few other lodging facilities in our area can offer you a close location to both the beach and walking distance to downtown or to several parks, an indoor heated pool AND offer fairly reasonable rates! Walk wherever you'd like to go in and around town. We are just across from the beach, lounge in the warm white sand, swim in the clean,clear water and enjoy the gorgeous sunsets! (The beach is handicap accessible) Playgrounds, marinas, museums, the lighthouse, great restaurants and fantastic breweries are all near by! Concerts at Waterfront Park, Go for a sunset sail on Lake Michigan, a Charter Fishing for monstrous salmon, watch the SS Badger Carferry depart or return daily,Family movies every Thursday night in the summer at Ludington's Rotary Park, Bonfires on the Beach and Friday Night Live offering live music, activities, outdoor restaurants and fun for all, each Friday night in the summe...ALL within walking distance from Ludington Pier House. Something for everyone! Great place for a quiet getaway, a family reunion, holidays and events! *We offer the only hotel with a HEATED INDOOR POOL and HOT TUB* with outdoor sun deck in the downtown area AND near the beach! One event for example: The Fourth of July. As you watch our local 4th of July Parade you can be enjoying the BBQ Picnic lunch we serve our guests, for free. Then in the evening, watch the magnificent 4th of July Fireworks display over Lake Michigan, sitting comfortably on your balcony or from our lawn! We offer Clean, comfortable rooms, in a variety of sizes and amenities: We have One queen rooms which are very budget friendly to large Family Rooms that are comfortable for up to 5-6 people. We have King Rooms with refrigerators, microwave and in room coffee, as well! Free Wi-Fi, Flat screen TV's with cable and HBO in every room. Photos of our rooms, our indoor pool and our property are posted on our website as well as here on this site. We also have a 2 bedroom apartment within the hotel available for weekly rental, May-September.See our website for apartment information. Please check us out! We'd love to have you come stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Pier House Hotel Ludington
Ludington Pier Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing