We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We throughly enjoyed our stay at this very beautiful mansion, Very clean and comfortable. The owners made us feel welcomed and treated us like family. The breakfast was outstanding.
We look forward to another opportunity to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    3
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
71
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have kept a boat at various marinas in Ludington for over 30 years and have sent many family and friends to stay at the mansion. Everyone has always been extremely impressed and many have come back for future stays. Last weekend we decided to stay in the King Suite and check the mansion out for ourselves. I think this was the nicest place that we have ever stayed at. Innkeepers, Sue Ann and Gary, are very sweet people and go out of their way to give you the best experience possible. They have done an outstanding job keeping the mansion to the period it was built and have kept the spirit and history that made the mansion what it is. You will truly feel like royality with all the amenities. Can't wait to stay there again!!!

Room Tip: King Suite gives you a small family room with a tv and access to your own private deck off your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I was surprised to have been treated so rudely after hearing such great reviews about the Cartier Mansion. My husband & I stopped by the house while in Ludington to get more info for our next trip in the area. We were met at the door (then open) by Sue Ann who was VERY brusque, handed us a price sheet, and then closed the door behind us like unwelcome intruders. Maybe she was having a bad day but I certainly will never stay there based on that one experience - Her attitude said it all.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the mansion after scheduling a last minute fishing trip with friends. My husband checked around to find last minute accommodations in town and surprisingly found the blue silk room was open for the night. :) We loved the historical tour and learned many interesting facts about the house and town! Since my husband was going to miss breakfast due to an early boat trip in the morning he asked if he could get a togo meal. The next day all of his fishing buddies raved about his breakfast! We were both delighted to have French press coffee and fresh tea available at the amenity bar to enjoy at our leaisure :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtimes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay. The mansion was a beautiful and very well maintained home. The cost was only a few dollars more than staying in one if the motels in town and provided so much more. They go to great pains to provide those small details that make your stay memorable. The food was high end and the staff was so friendly and helpful. Susan was great and the other staff were helpful in providing suggestions for things to do in the area. We definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigAndJeanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

After 30+ years of marriage, this was our first bed and breakfast experience, and it was outstanding in every way! The house is beautiful, and the staff first rate. They were friendly and helpful in giving us information and full access to the house, but also our privacy. We had all the modern comforts in a home that was gorgeous, but true to the period in which it was built (early 1900's.) I would highly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I can not think of a single thing that is lacking to make your stay at the Cartier Mansion an outstanding one. From the moment you enter this stunning mansion to the end of your stay there is not a single thing overlooked to make it a memorable one. The innkeepers, Gary and Sue Ann along with their staff make you feel welcome but in no means are they intrusive. The breakfast is absolutely delicious and served according to your schedule. The mansion is conveniently located so if you want to take advantage of all the city of Ludington has to offer or just want a relaxing stay this is the Bed and Breakfast you will be talking about for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tgtarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#4 of 11 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 409 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2122
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the historic elegance of Cartier Mansion. Built in 1905 this neoclassical mansion is furnished with exquisite woodwork and antiques. Walk to Lake Michigan beaches, restaurants, shops, marinas, and car-ferry. Spacious common areas, wireless internet, 300 plus thread count sheets, down comforters and chocolates make your stay a memorable experience. Cartier Mansion is only minutes away from the picturesque Lake Michigan shoreline, beaches, and some of Michigan's most beautiful State and Local parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Cartier Mansion Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing