We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay! Amazing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 11 Ludington B&B and Inns
Loveland, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful stay! Amazing.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week as a part of our honeymoon. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Candlelite Inn. We stayed in two rooms during our stay, both of which were clean and comfortable. Melanie is the innkeeper and she is very personable and hospitable and made our stay in Ludington amazing. Since we stayed for multiple nights, we got to enjoy many of her different breakfasts and desserts. Her breakfasts and treats were top-notch in quality. She made breakfast around our schedule, going above and beyond in particular on our last morning as we had to leave early and she sent us away with homemade breakfast sandwiches to go. Her hospitality is beyond words. We tried many of the fine local restaurants in the evenings and we still think back on our trip and count Melanie's breakfasts as the best meals we had in Ludington. Also, the Inn is in a great location as it is very close to the main strip and the beach -- we walked everywhere! The Candelite Inn comes highly recommended and we can't wait until we can go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast and decided that this would be our first. Melanie was so nice and accommodating and she just wants her guests to be happy. She makes amazing snacks and the breakfast is beyond words... We had the romantic retreat suite which is definitely the best one. You have a jacuzzi and the room has its own entrance... She has games, movies, and books available for the guests to enjoy and we had every channel available in our room. At night, she made chocolate covered strawberries and a brownie torte. She also has numerous kinda of ice cream with a ton of toppings. She made all the different dishes for breakfast and told us that if there was anything else, she would make it on the spot. We had an orange French toast that was so amazing, a quiche, bacon, hash browns, banana bread, a cinnamon coffee cake, homemade warm applesauce, fresh fruit, and she made me a special strawberry filled crepe! It was so yummy and we left so full. We will definitely go back again and hopefully bring some friends with us! Melanie is truly one of the nicest people we have ever met in our life. The other guests that we met felt the same way and were also planning a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ej9718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I visit family in Ludington every summer and always stay here. The rooms are beautiful with a different theme for each one (and clean too!). Melanie, the innkeeper/hostess is the best cook and baker anyone could wish for and you should expect to gain a pound or two just from breakfast! One can enjoy it either in the Victorian dining room or on the front porch near the bubbling water fountain. (Plus you get the good china!). Also expect to be treated like family - I highly recommend the Candlelite.

Room Tip: Each one is of a slightly different size but they are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I visited the Candlelite Inn for our 10 year anniversary and we were blown away at the top notch hospitality given by our Inn Keeper, Melanie. Everything from the time we arrived to the time we left was spectacular and out of this world amazing!!! Food was unbelievable, room was very cozy for us and our two dogs, and the grounds were very well kept and very inviting to all guests. Melanie is super warm and welcoming and her cooking is wonderful! I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Ludington area. Only 7 blocks from downtown and a short drive to the State Park. All the comforts of home are provided and Melanie is willing to go above and beyond for anyone staying at her Inn. We will be back!

Room Tip: The Americana Room is pet friendly and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 2 nights at the Candlelite Inn Bed and Breakfast in Ludington, Mi. We had a wonderful time! Melanie, the hostess, was extremely friendly and helpful. She served up great breakfasts which could be enjoyed in the dining room or out on the porch. Our accommodations were very clean and comfortable. While our selection of this B&B was without recommendation from anyone we would highly recommend it to anyone planning to be in the Ludington area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian room, had a canopied bed and our own bathroom although it was not private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful B&B. Melanie was there for us for anything we needed. We felt welcome as it was our own home. The breakfast was delicious and there was as much food as you could eat. She made a chocolate tort at night that was great!! Our room was the smallest but that was because she was booked up on all other rooms. Price was great and the service was excellent. If I am ever back in Ludington this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1osufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westphalia, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the inn. Melanie the innkeeper was a beautiful host. What a variety of
Home cooking that the innkeeper provided. And excellent food it was, from bread pudding to other
Home cooking. You have to stay with Melanie to know what I'm trying to convey. Stay and you will
Not be disappointed. Luvred

Room Tip: The stay in any of the rooms is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.1 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Ludington
The Inn at Ludington
#5 of 11 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 709 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2224
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon so you can book your Candlelite Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing