We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put off by what we found in our room”
Review of Viking Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Viking Arms Inn
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Put off by what we found in our room”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked this hotel because of all the glowing reviews; we needed a place to stay after taking the Badger across Lake Michigan. The man at the front desk was nice and the room was perfectly fine. I'm giving it a poor review because we found a dead insect in our bed. This didn't faze me at the time, but in the morning my fiance had numerous bites on his arms, bites in a straight line. Based on what the dead bug looked like, and the bite marks, I firmly believe our room had bedbugs. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: I would stay in a more expensive hotel next time, perhaps less chance of finding a dead bug in the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonesO10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Really, I find this review quiet bothersome. I would invite anybody at anytime to inspect any of our rooms. We take great pride and go to extreme lengths to make sure our rooms are clean and up to standards put forth by AAA inspectors, matter a fact we were just inspected a week ago and have retained our two diamond rating as we have had for over 30 years. We have also been independently inspected by a third party for cleanliness and have always passed with very high marks. Why is it that you feel you can place such accusations and low marks on us yet never attempt to bring this to our attention personally yet you are willing to place this on a public forum such as this? I am always available for our guest needs 24/7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    49
    11
    4
    9
See reviews for
48
48
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Three Oaks, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We decided at last minute to take a road trip up north to Ludington. Looked for somewhere to stay once we arrived. So glad we stopped at Viking Arms Inn. Owner was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Pool and hot tub were great. Had 4 teenage girls with and they didn't have 1 complaint. Loved the outside sitting area and gazebo. And the price was right! Could not have gotten anything as nice for that price. We even ended up staying a second night in the area and went back to the Viking. Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving such a nice review. They always say those last minute, unplanned trips are sometimes the best ones. Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Viking Arms is very clean and close to the beach and downtown Lundington. We have stayed there several times. The owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidbourgette, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I usually only stay at Holiday Inn's but over the 4th of July needed a room on short notice and they were the only one available. The rooms are clean but in a dire need of updating. The owners are very nice and genuine. When I called for a room they offered the option to check in early if it was available. The pool is awesome and clean. There is a nice gazebo if you want to sit outside. Great Location you can walk to downtown. The rooms definetly need some updating. The doors are hard to close. There were several cigarette burns in the blankets. The rooms smelled like smoke and it appears blue painters tape was holding up some trim. Despite that the rooms were very clean. I would stay here again but I thought the price of the room was way more compared to what you were getting. Prices ranged from $110 -$140, I don't know if they were that expensive because of the holiday weekend or if it's the norm?

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meowmix78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. We do strive to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and we are happy that you did enjoy your overall stay. A previous guest had knocked off the corner guard in the closet area that I had to repair hence the blue tape. Since I was able to get you checked in hours before the normal check in time of 2, it was an oversight that I realized after you check in. To say I was embarrassed by that is an understatement. I would invite anybody to look at our website and see pictures of our rooms and see what we do have to offer.
We are hoping to make additions of flat screen televisions very soon to all of our rooms, as well as refrigerators to most of them.
The rates are higher during a holiday such as the 4th but even then, our rates are half of the local chain hotels that have rates starting at $250 to as high as $400 during most weekends and holidays.
Again Thank you for taking your time to review us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin Rapids
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Viking Arms is a super place to stay for a night or a week. It is close to downtown and the ferry, clean, affordable and quiet. Also right across from the hospital, adjacent to a drug store as well as a convenience store/gas station. Rooms are nice and well kept and the owners are personable and always willing to help out. I highly recommend the Viking Arms Inn and will continue to stay here whenever I can.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thanks alot Scooter, we always enjoy having you here every winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

I'm a military member and stay at the Viking Arms Inn whenever I go home to Michigan. I absolutely love it! It is in a great location, wonderful rooms with everything you need, nice ammenties and the absolute best staff. I've stayed with them for years and would never think of going anywhere else. Whenever I bring military guests to Michigan, I get them a room at the Viking Arm Inns and they rave about it. I always feel right at home and well taken care of because of the professional, hospitality driven staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
That is sooo nice of you to say Kelly. I know the last time you stayed wasnt for pleasure ( I hope he is doing better ) but its always nice to see you. We are so glad to be able to have a comfortable place for you to stay when you come home on leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, MI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed in a whirlpool suite over this past weekend. The room features a king size bed, remote controlled gas fireplace, wet bar with mini fridge, whirlpool tub for two and large bathroom with good lighting. The room was a little dated, but spotlessly clean, and the bed was very comfortable. For the price ($95 + tax) there is nothing around that even comes close to the value. We went to manistee and Traverse city for a day trip and found it to be a very pleasant and scenic drive. We will be back often!!!

Room Tip: Askfor a room on the back side to minimize any road noise, as the inn in located on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crose75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Viking Arms Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
what a nice thing to say. Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
435 reviews
1.4 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
150 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ludington
168 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 17 in Ludington
153 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Arms Inn

Property: Viking Arms Inn
Address: 930 E Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2438
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ludington
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Viking Arms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Arms Inn is located centrally in Ludington. We have been one of the highest AAA quality rated facilities in the area for over 30 years. Offering exceptional quality and warm hospitality. Shopping, the beach and the SS Badger are all as close as a mile away. We are open all year for the summer as well as the winter traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Viking Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Arms Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing