We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed and breakfast, literally!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summers Inn Ludington
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bed and breakfast, literally!”
Reviewed September 11, 2007

An very pleasant stay with a nice breakfast. Yes the bathrooms are small but the shower is great especially for tall people because you can adjust the shower head height and is has a nice rain-type spray . Also the beds are very comfortable -- I meant to find out what kind of mattresses they use. The grounds are well kept and there is a garden room and garden tucked in the back with a fish pond -- very relaxing. The rates are also very good -- we paid $58 incl. tax but I think this was an off-season rate since we stayed there after Labour Day.

  • Liked — the bed, the breakfast and the shower, the flowers and landscaping
  • Disliked — they had soap but no shampoo in the bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rosie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    77
    23
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
213
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2007

After reading many other reviews of the Four Seasons, I decided to give it a go. I think the reviews that compared rooms to small "dorm rooms" possibly stayed in one of the hotel's non-suite rooms, which are cheaper--but all of the rooms here are pretty affordable, especially for the area. My boyfriend and I decided to stay in one of their two suites, and ours was really lovely. It had two separate rooms (both generously sized) and a pretty large bathroom, as well. There was also a small walk-out "porch" with two sitting chairs that looked out on the garden and that was only for our suite's use. The owners were very friendly and offered fresh-ground coffee for our room. Our one complaint was the bed, which was definitely less-than-comfy, and seemed to be covered in some sort of vinyl underneath the sheets (which is of course good for sanitary reasons, and may not have been so terrible had the bed been less almost rock-hard firm, but nonetheless, makes for a noisy night of attempting not to wake your partner when sleeping). But even with that one caveat, fantastic place overall!

  • Liked — cleanliness, overall tasteful decor (unlike most cheesy hotel/motel decors), beautiful garden, parking in front, hospitable hosts
  • Disliked — bed was sub-par re: comfort, but at least we knew it was clean!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kate180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2007

If you like dorm rooms, then this is the place for you...Musty window air conditioners, $5 Ikea lighting and bedside plastic "tables". Television atop the only dresser and cracked tiles in bathroom. The "delectable breakfast" consists of something tasting like powdered eggs, cold cereal, juice and coffee. Even if it were $50 per night, this place is no bargain..Look elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — The musty odors
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sally0537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2007

We arrived in Ludington and had to find a room at 7:00 at night. Faced with a seemingly dismal selection of motels, we were attracted by the remodeled facade that you see from the street. Though the rooms themselves were fairly standard motel fare, both our rooms were impeccably clean and in good condition, as were the rest of the building and the grounds. The complimentary breakfast buffet in their tastefully remodeled office/lobby was well presented and very tasty, including freshly prepared frittata. The owners are pleasant and informative, and made our stay very enjoyable. Coupled with an excellent price for the rooms, I'd definitely recommend the Four Seasons.

  • Liked — owners, breakfast, convenience of a motel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2007

I stayed at this motel on July 6th-7th and I was a bit worried because of some previous reviews stating the poor shape of the rooms, but I was pleasantly surprised. If you're looking for a 4 star experience you won't find it here, but the rooms are clean, bathroom a bit small, the beds are really comfy and have clean, spot-free sheets!! The air-conditioner worked great! The only improvement the room needs is a better covering for the bathroom window. It's only covered by a lace curtain where as the other windows had shutters. A bit uncomfortable to use the restroom and hoping nobody would walk by and try to peek in; the good thing is that the window faced someone's backyard and it's very low to the ground level. Another thing is that the TV sits on a long dresser and is partially blocked by the outer bathroom wall, so the bed farthest away doesn't have the best view, but if you're just staying to have a place to sleep, it's a great place. The one disappointment was the free breakfast. All the other reviews spoke wonders and how "delectable" it was. Honestly, there is nothing delectable about it and the only hype I could see was that you had real plates to eat on. Coffee was really bad, cereal, juice, canned fruit salad, bread and muffins and some "frittata" was it. I hate eggs, so that did nothing for me and I honestly wished I would have slept in longer instead of waking up for it. Your best bet for breakfast/brunch is Old Hamlin Restaurant down the street or Le Serving Spoon, a few doors down; great food, cheap prices! Otherwise, the room was great, from the outside everything looks great too!

  • Liked — Air conditioner worked wonderfully!
  • Disliked — Overpriced for the room and just because of the 4th of July Holiday.
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2006

My husband and I had a wonderful experience here. The breakfast is amazing, especially because we had to get up early and get on the Badger. The management was very consious of our needs, and we would reccomend this motel to everyone!

  • Liked — Breakfast!
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a cappuchino from their coffee bar!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, MIchigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2006

I had been planning a surprise weekend getaway for my girlfriend and myself and settled on Ludington as the location. I was originally thinking of a Bed and Breakfast but liked the idea of having a bit more privacy, which is the case at Four Seasons. The other main consideration was that mid October can be sketchy, weather-wise, so I wanted a room that we would not mind spending some time in if the weather didn't cooperate. It happened to be cold, windy and rainy for most of our stay but our two room suite was very comfortable and we were both pleased with the accommodations. The bedroom was a good size and the living room/kitchenette area was quite spacious for a motel. It was nice to have some of the amenities of home such as: refrigerator, microwave and kitchen sink, plus the added bonus of a private patio off the living room made us feel quite at home. We were actually sad to have to leave after only two days. Additionally, the owners were nice, friendly people and chatted with us at breakfast. The breakfast spread was quite nice, much better than a typical motel continental. All in all, we had a great stay and are already looking forward to staying there again sometime next summer. P.S. - I find the pricing on the two room suite very reasonable, even during the peak season. It's well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UM-Furnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
1.2 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
163 reviews
22.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summers Inn Ludington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summers Inn Ludington

Property: Summers Inn Ludington
Address: 717 E Ludington Ave, U.S. Route 10, Ludington, MI 49431-1897 (Formerly Ludington Four Seasons Lodging & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Summers Inn Ludington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free table served breakfast in a quiet adult atmosphere. We are a mid-century motel with boutique style rooms and a serene courtyard. Wine to taste and by the glass or bottle. Children 16 and older. No smoking on property and No pets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Summers Inn Ludington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ludington Four Seasons Lodging Hotel Ludington
Ludington 4 Seasons Lodging & Breakfast
Ludington Four Seasons Lodging And Breakfast
Four Seasons Hotel Ludington
Four Seasons Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing