We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
280
89
25
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
280
89
25
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews suzette homemade bread omelet wine tasting garden area reading room covered deck the secret garden made to order breakfast next morning granola large bathroom bed and breakfast breakfast was amazing each morning ferry dock stayed longer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 410 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2016 via mobile

Older remodeled inn that is family owned and operated. It is on the main street in Ludington close enough to walk downtown. The best feature of this inn is the made to order breakfast and home made jams.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith - Suzette K, Owner at Summers Inn Ludington, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thanks Angela. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2016

After spending the day hiking to the Ludington Lighthouse (Big Sable Point L.H), we were happy to relax in our room at Summers Inn. We selected the patio garden suite, and were so happy with our choice! We loved our room....so spacious and nicely decorated! I took time to sit on our patio, and enjoy the sounds of the water nearby. We enjoyed our breakfast the next morning, and it was nicely done, with attentive service! Our stay here was a great way to end our Pure Michigan trip!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MIFlowerchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith - Suzette K, Owner at Summers Inn Ludington, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2017

Thank you! After hiking, biking or doing the beach we try hard to be the place you want to come back to! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2016

Check in was a breeze. All the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.The breakfast omelets were the best I ever had. Lots of local fare in the wines and jellies that were served. The room was small, but clean.

Room tip: The queen room is small.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraH1718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith - Suzette K, Owner at Summers Inn Ludington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and breakfast. We love to use local ingredients...thanks for noticing. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

I was very excited about our mini-getaway to Ludington and booked Summer's Inn because , after reading the reviews, it looked like something different and unique.

My first sense when we went to our room was one of disappointment. We had booked a deluxe queen and there was nothing deluxe about it. The furniture was mix/matched ,the quilt on the bed had seen better days, and the furnishings were definitely dated. My husband and I couldn't both watch TV while reclining on the bed, so we were forced to sit on the armless chairs provided. One of our autumn treats is watching Michigan football, so we were disappointed with how uncomfortable it was to sit in those chairs for that length of time! There was no closet (just hooks on the wall) and I was surprised that there was no in-room coffee pot. The bathroom was small, but we knew that from other reviews and that wasn't a big deal. I did ask about another room but was told that none was available. In all fairness, I have to say that the room was very clean.

We had also looked forward to the wine tasting since that was one of the selling points that made me book this place. When I inquired, I was told that there were only two wines to try (a sweet red and a dry red) since it was the end of the season. We were also told that they started the season with over fifteen varieties. I don't feel that customers should be deprived of what is touted on the website.

Finally, the website (and the reviews) told of a wonderful garden area with a deck where one could relax and enjoy their wine. When we were there, all the cushions were removed from the chairs (we couldn't have relaxed had we wanted) and there was a tent set up on the patio where they were having some kind of end of the season sale.

We did enjoy the breakfast,( the bread and coffee were good and the omelettes very strange combinations) but they weren't enough to compensate for our other disappointments.

The things that appeared to set Summer's Inn apart from the other older hotels in Ludington and drew me to this location were the wine-tasting and garden area. The lack of availability of both of those and dated uncomfortable room left me feeling very disappointed. Fortunately, Ludington is a beautiful area with some fun restaurants and the most amazing scenery on the planet, so all was not lost.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith - Suzette K, Owner at Summers Inn Ludington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Hi! Summer's Inn is a seasonal property, and with summer behind us, our inventory of wine dwindled in October. We generally have 3 reds, 2 whites and a blush. Please come back and have a glass on us. Our Deluxe Queen rooms have a larger seating area and more floor space than our regular queen room and all include our table served full breakfast. Our back deck is tented and we apologize for any inconvenience our end of season sale created. Our cushions are stored in the library with the forecast of rain and we would been more than happy to bring some out for you. So glad you enjoyed our town of Ludington and hope you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016

If you enjoy a good, homemade, sit-down, served breakfast, this quaint inn is for you. The rooms are spotlessly clean and updated, although the bathroom is small. They also accommodate early risers who are catching the SS Badger to Wisconsin. The staff are friendly, chatty, and helpful. The location is great ... easy to get to the parks, downtown, and ferry.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Deb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith - Suzette K, Owner at Summers Inn Ludington, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2016

Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to have such a great location close to downtown and the ferry and a nice stroll to the beach. Hope you had a chance to walk out on the pier to the lighthouse. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews