We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ludington State Park
Detroit, MI
1 review
“Beautiful Park”
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Ludington State Park is a beautiful park. It's a great place for campers that like something to do. It is especially great for biking. I definitely recommend the "lazy river". We bring rafts to float on down the river until we reach Lake Michigan, then, we ride the rough waves in the lake. It is sooo much fun. We stayed on site 97 last year in the Pines Campground which has it's own trail up a sand dune and over to Lake Michigan. The park and Ludington itself have lots to do but if you need even more, Michigan Adventures is about a 45 minute drive from the park as well as the sand dunes in Silver Lake. It's very difficult to get a reservation but it's definitely worth all the stress of getting one in the end.

  • Liked — scenery
  • Disliked — My site was near the fish cleaning station.....pretty stinky!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beachbum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

This is one of the best campgrounds in the state of Michigan to stay at and the hiking trails go on for miles and miles... You can go to sand dunes not far from here in Mears... You can go to Manistee and see that town as well. For a taste of what life used to be like in small town Michigan and the 70's, come here!

  • Stayed January 2003
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lilacs109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

We stayed at Ludington State Park from July 26-31, 2007, site # 243 in the Beechwood section. Our site was slightly level and half shaded, but very large. There were no camp sites behind ours or across from us either(there is a large wooded hill directly across from this site). Most of Ludington State Park is gently rolling hills with many wooded areas(lots of shade).We picked up a trail from behind our campsite and hiked through the woods and sand dunes to the Big Sable Point Lighthouse, about 4 miles round trip. Then we climbed the 130 steps to see a spectacular view! Worth every step! Numerous deer throughout the park. My daughter counted 19 deer by the time we left. I would recommend bringing along bikes. While there are numerous trails to walk, there are many nice bike rides also. A lot easier to see the whole park this way, too. The beach on Lake Michigan was large & super clean. It also has a Cafe/Beach house. Very nice. Hamlin Lake(closest to Beechwood campground) also has a nice small beach with a concession stand where you can rent a paddleboat, rowboat, canoe or kayak by the hour or day. Hamlin Dam, a very short walk from our campsite, many people were fishing off of it or next to it. Although we didn't do this, we saw many people floating along the Big Sable River, which runs along the south side of the park to Lake Michigan. There is also a "camp store" in the Cedars section, which carries pretty much a little of everything you may need for camping, including ice cream! This campground is very popular, so I'd recommend making reservations 6 months ahead of time, as I did. The only complaint I have is that the two bathrooms I used in the Beechwood section, had no hand dryers or paper towels to dry your hands after you wash. So the sink area and door handle to leave, were constantly wet. Oh well.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
12 Thank badnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redford, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2006

I have camped at Ludington State Park since 1968. The park has 354 campsites at this time. Off season it is a marvelous place to camp. Reservations are extremely difficult to get in the summer. The sites are close together and things can get very noisy. There are thousands of acres to explore if you want to get away. Day use is a good way to see the park for the first time. The ice cream from the concession is wonderful. Tubing the river is a tradition. Fishing is done best early in the season before it gets fished out. There is plenty of beach to go around either on Hamlin Lake or Lake Michigan. The lighthouse is open in the summer and for a small fee you can climb the stairs to the top. Take water along for the mile hike or bike ride out. There is a gift shop at the base.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
6 Thank joanma123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2004

We visited LSP with a day pass on a gorgeous Saturday in August. The park has many hiking trails- we walked the Skyline Trail which is a boardwalk through the woods and marvelous Lake Michigan views. There are extensive bike paths (we didn't bike, but saw lots of families who did), water features (Hamlin Lake, river, The BIG lake). Even on a Saturday in August, the park did not feel overcrowded in the public areas. The campgrounds we drove through were not very inspiring- flat, crowded, RV-on-RV w/ the occasional tent wedged in - but that was the only substandard part of the park. I'm sure the park is gorgeous in the fall- and we'll return to view that!!!!

Helpful?
12 Thank ealistello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 10, 2004

I was just looking at the weather channel and stumbled on this travel info. The ludington State Park had no reviews so I thought I would do one. I have been a user of LSP for fifty years for picnicing, camping. hiking, boating and swimming. I have travelled MI extensively and there is nothing to compare to this park. Six miles of Lake michigan beach, 500 campsites, miles of hamlin lake shoreline Hundreds of acres Many miles of trails. If you enjoy any of the above activities, LSP is your place.
Even if you don't camp there the day trips are amazing

Helpful?
24 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.3 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
152 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ludington
168 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
353 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ludington State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ludington State Park

Property: Ludington State Park
Address: Lakeshore Dr., Ludington, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ludington
Number of rooms: 373
Also Known As:
Ludington State Park Hotel Ludington
State Park Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing