We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checked into a Super 8, checked out of a Best Western!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
330 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Checked into a Super 8, checked out of a Best Western!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2007

Super 8 is generally not the hotel I prefer to stay, but the reviews from Trip Advisor were so positive, and I have a son who loves waterparks, so we decide stay a night. As it turns out, they were in the process of changing into a Best Western, so if your looking for the Super 8, be aware they now have a new name! The good points were the water slide, which my son loved, though for us it was strange that it didn't land into the pool but rather a flat slide area. The pool was nice, and convenient. They do have a adult swim from 10:00 pm on which was nice to know we wouldn't hear kids yell all night. We did use the laundry here and it was adequate. We had a room that faced the pool. While clean, it was very dark and small, and with our three large pieces of luggage, it was very closet like. The three of us barely fit in, which was fine for the one night. I'd ask for a room with an outside window if staying longer. Bathroom was adequate, refrigerator and microwave handy. Beds are ok. Breakfast area is by the pool. The problem is some columns are in the way - its a bit tight getting around the tables and near the buffet area. Staff was pleasant. I wasn't too impressed watching one staff member fold clean new T- shirts they were selling on the lobby floor! Ludington is easy to get around. I recomend the Jamesport Brewing Co as a place to eat and drink. Definitely drive along the lake, especially in the evening to catch a beautiful sunset. We did visit White Pine Village, its nice but could use some more interpretive signs. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Liked — Easy to find, the water slide, pleasant common areas, not far from town
  • Disliked — Small dark cramped room.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank newjerseyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    238
    92
    32
    20
See reviews for
355
178
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

I got stuck driving north on US-31 in the middle of very bad winter conditions and knew that Ludington would offer some hotel choices right near the exit. The Ramada looked abandoned, so I travelled about a 1/2 mile west of the exit and the Super 8 looked very pleasant. Nice, bright sign offering "warm beds!" The front desk worker was very sympathetic and offered me a AAA discount even though I didn't have my card with me. She informed me that there was free ice cream from 8-9pm and continental breakfast in the morning. I didn't get to take advantage of either, but it was nice to be offered. I got a room near the pool (which looked very nice and had a big indoor waterslide!). The bathroom looked recently remodeled and the entire room was very clean. In fact, they seemed to be doing some remodeling throughout the hotel. The mattress was a little bit soft, but I don't expect much from hotel beds anyway. When I got up in the morning, the parking lot was already plowed and I was on my way again. I've already told people that I know take that same route sometimes to keep the Super 8 in mind if they ever need to take a break from driving. It was an overall very pleasant experience after a very stressful day!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfreebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2006

We stayed seven nights over the Christmas Holiday. We had a room in the back of the hotel away from the pool and game room area. We were on the side opposite the parking lot. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have been to. The room apparently was newer and it definitely showed. It was also extremely quiet. The only time we would hear anything is if someone was walking in the hallway directly outside of our room. The walls must be very well sound proofed. The staff was extremely courteous and friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable and feel welcomed. Continental breakfast in the morning was simple but adequate and on some mornings you could make your own waffles. Ice cream sundays were served every evening -- a great treat for the kids. The pool is nice but on the small side. They also have a water slide that the kids really loved. The water on the slide does not feel heated, so I avoided that one. Very nice gym area, hot tub and sauna. The pool area was kept very clean. The rates were excellent for over the holiday period -- we certainly couldn't stay anywhere near home for the price we paid.

  • Liked — Very clean and very quiet
  • Disliked — A bigger pool area would be nice
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in the back of the hotel
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jomarkno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2006

Super 8 is definately the best hotel in Ludington. I took my wife and two kids there in June of 2006 and can not find one negative thing to say about it. You'll love the indoor pool on those chilly michigan days and the huge slide is great.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crbc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
2.8 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
22.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
1.4 mi away
Viking Arms Inn
Viking Arms Inn
#8 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lakewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Property: BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
Address: 5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431-8692 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
#4 Family Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lakewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lakewinds is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay. Close to beaches and great restaurants as well as downtown shopping. We offer several room types, one of them is sure to fit your needs. We have a family suite with two queen beds and a separate room with a king bed, great for the whole family. Or a whirlpool suite with a hot tub and fireplace perfect for two. Let the kids enjoy our playground area that is also a picnic area with a grill. We will start your day with a wonderful hot breakfast, Belgian waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits and much more, all compliments of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lakewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Splash Park Hotel Ludington
Best Western Ludington
Ludington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing