We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Ontario; what a lovely experience! They have a fabulous breakfast, awesome swimming pool and even an outdoor BBQ area where we could cook our own dinner and enjoy the fresh air. Clean rooms, friendly service, tons of parking and an overall family-oriented atmosphere. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Tasha, we do pride ourselves on being a very clean and friendly hotel. Thank you for your review, we hope that if you come back to the Ludington area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    239
    92
    33
    20
See reviews for
356
181
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jemez Springs, NM
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The splash park hotel had nice mattresses. That's about the best I can say. The room was small. Four women with two queen beds does not work well in the room that says it hold four. One luggage rack. Three towels. One small bottle of shampoo and two tiny bars of soap. Had to go to the desk for more of each. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Kathleen, thank you for your review. When you come back to the Ludington area give us a call,we do have rooms that would accommodate four women much better.. By giving us your feedback we can better serve our guest, we continue to make improvements to our hotel on a regular basis. Thank you again for taking the time to give us a review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came up from IN to see the fall colors and to travel up M22 thru Sleeping Bear Dunes(which was closed bc of the government shutdown) Oct, 11-13. I thoroughly research hotels on Tripadvisor and this place was getting a lot of good reviews.
The hostess was friendly and prompt. Our room was 2 queens and was a good size for our family. Our room was very clean and so was the exercise room and game room. We were in 257 which opens up to the pool slide. I loved it bc I could chk on my kids and husband just by opening my door. As far as other reviews saying the rooms by the pool were hot, I told the hostess about what I read on Tripadvisor and she stated that all the windows open and there are AC units in each room to keep things cool. She was right. When the room would start to get a bit stuffy, we would turn the AC on low and within 5 min the room would feel great.
Wonderful, fresh breakfast bar. Make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy, hard boiled eggs, 3 diff types of donuts, apple and cheese danishes, 2 diff kinds of yogurt, oranges, apples, 4 diff cereals, white and wheat toast and bagels. White milk, orange, apple and mango juices, decaf and reg coffee, tea, hot chocolate. My 4 yo was an early riser so we were down there at 6:22a each morning so I don't know what it is like past 7a. There are 2 nice size rooms w/ tables and chairs and flat screens. The whole area was thoroughly monitored by an attendant who kept everything clean and filled. Hours are 6a-9a, I think.
The pool was busy and the slide has a heighth requirement of 48" by yourself or you can go down w/ an adult. There is a slide attendant at the top telling kids when they can go down. My 4 and 8 yo loved the slide! After busy days of driving and exploring, they would play in the pool/slide area until the slide would close at 9p. Pool would stay open for everyone until 10p then adults only until 11p. The hot tub was big and allowed kids. There are clean towels to use down by the pool. Only drawback is that the slide is only open for 1 hour on Sundays! Chk out was a breeze. I will def be back and I don't have a reason why I would stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosiermommy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hoosiermomm22, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so excited that your family enjoyed our hotel, we have many room types by or away from the pool that are perfect for families. We did take the water slide out this November but are going to add some other family friendly activities. We hope you get a chance to come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

everything was clean and tidy. But at arrival the desk lady was more concerned with the phone that kept ringing off the hook while me and another couple waited 40+ minutes. I was only using the banquet room for a birthday party. The hallways were way more humid than I remember them being (this was our second time using this room for a birthday party in the last year) We had quite a few kids coming in and out and with dinner and cake .....the floor was a mess afterwards. we called the front desk an hour before we were suppose to be out and asked for a vacuum and where to put the trash from the trash can. The front desk gal said she really didn't know where to put the trash and said she would try to get a vacuum. well the vacuum never arrived. I didn't feel right leaving the room so messy but didn't really have any options?!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Jennifer, thank you for your thoughtfulness in wantng clean up after the Birthday party. I am sorry you felt uneasy about leaving the mess, we rarely get asked for a vacuum to clean and may have caught our girls off guard. The clean up is included in the cost of the party, thank you again for having your party with us and we hope to see you next year too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greendale
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Another great stay at the Best Western Splash Park, but learned the slide will be gone in November. Will still bring grandsons in the summer as the BW has suites and apartment rooms that can sleep all 5 of us--no need to get two rooms or squeeze in a rollaway. Breakfast was good; many choices, even though scrambled eggs and sausages are no longer offered :( .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Sharon, we are so glad your are a loyal BEST WESTERN OF LUDINGTON patron. We appreciate your business and are looking forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is the place to take the kids for fun by the pool. The water slide gives the kids another form of entertainment and will keep them running. Clean rooms, friendly staff, and close by beaches. We were with a group of adults and the kids kind of took over the common areas, be prepared for that.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Linda, thank you for your review of our property. We are a great family hotel with lots to offer. We will be doing some renovations during November and one is, taking the water slide out. The next time your in Ludington please come and see all of the improvements we have made, we will look forward to seeing you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontiac, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband, three year old and I booked through the Best Western 800 number on our way up to Ludington the night we were to arrive. Lucky to get a room that late. We signed up for the free rewards program which got us a free bottled water and a bag of snack crackers.
We arrived after midnight and were quickly checked in. There are no elevators to the second floor, only stairs so be prepared to huck your luggage upstairs.

The hallways to the rooms are open to the swim area in the center of the building so be prepared for humidity. (The sound from the pool was not noticeable in our room.)

The rooms are sparse and don't boast too much by way of comfort or plush... But it's a best western, not 5 star hotel so be realistic. The Beds were okay, dresser drawers smelled old. There was a little fridge in the room, handy.

The water slide had odd hours and varied from the laminated amenities card in the room so call the front desk to get the right hours. The free breakfast was good, lots of variety.

The staff was super nice and friendly.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank skweingartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilovebwlud, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Lakewinds, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
skweingartz, thank you for your review. We are always making improvements to the hotel and appreciate you letting us know what you enjoyed about your stay as well as things that we can improve on. We hope that if you travel our way again that you give us the opportunity to show you our hotels improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludington
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.8 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
2.8 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
22.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Manistee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lakewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lakewinds

Property: BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
Address: 5005 West US Highway 10, Ludington, MI 49431-8692 (Formerly Best Western Splash Park Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ludington
#4 Family Hotel in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Lakewinds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Lakewinds is the perfect place to relax and enjoy your stay. Close to beaches and great restaurants as well as downtown shopping. We offer several room types, one of them is sure to fit your needs. We have a family suite with two queen beds and a separate room with a king bed, great for the whole family. Or a whirlpool suite with a hot tub and fireplace perfect for two. Let the kids enjoy our playground area that is also a picnic area with a grill. We will start your day with a wonderful hot breakfast, Belgian waffles, sausage gravy and biscuits and much more, all compliments of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lakewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Splash Park Hotel Ludington
Best Western Ludington
Ludington Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing