We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week at Sauble Resort”
Review of Sauble Resort

Sauble Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sauble Resort
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Week at Sauble Resort”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I spent last week at Sauble Resort with my family from all over the country. We all had separate cottages. I stayed in Cottage 26 which was clean, newer, good AC, and roomy enough for the 4 of us. The bathroom was brand new. We were very happy with the resort. I had checked out all of the other resorts in the area, and Sauble won, hands down! We used the heated pool, game room, basketball court, firepit, grills, and rented a pontoon boat. The lake view is lovely. The resort is in a great location for heading to Ludington State Park for the day or going downtown Ludington. We would definitely go back. My only complaint was the mattress, it sagged in the middle and was uncomfortable for the two of us. The owners were very accomodating to us with our rental of the boat.

Room Tip: cottage 26 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family rented 5 units and filled them with siblings, nieces and nephews. We loved the heated pool right in the center of the resort. One night we had a campfire near one of our units. The pontoon boat we rented was beautiful - brand new! The place got quiet after 10 pm and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful location and a great resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We had a great time. We enjoyed the pontoon boat and pulling Matty on their raft; we enjoyed a commercial fisherman and the13 fish we landed; we enjoyed the dunes at the park - climbing them - swimming in the clean lake water; we enjoyed the warm pool; the boys that helped us land the boat were courteous and helpful; the management was helpful; our computers worked, but not our cell phones; restaurants and grocery stores were everywhere in driving distance; the beds were smooth and I slept like a log. Fred

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our extended family of 20 from CT, NJ, IL, TN and MI just got back from a week at Sauble Resort and had a great time. It was comfortable, could accomodate all of us in their cottages, had a nice pool (which other camps don't have in this area), each had their own fire pit and grill and the price was right. Plus, we rented the large pontoon boat at their marina for a couple of days and the kids enjoyed getting pulled on a tube and we had some sunset cruises. The Ludington, MI state beach is an absolute gem with club house, clean white sand, picturesque dunes, and fun river tubing where you float right into Lake Michigan. We caught a lot of salmon and steeheads on the fishing charter boat on Lake MIchigan. And we enjoyed very competitive golf at nearby Hemlock Golf Course in nature reserve setting for $30 with cart. We would definitely go back and stay at Sauble. The whole area is a wonderful slice of America.

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage with a view of Lake Hamlin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my family had a terrible experience. The cabin was outdated and very small. The appliances looked like they were bought at a garage sale. We rented a pontoon which was damaged when we returned it with truly cosmetic damage. The owner started acting shady and bent us over to the tune of $2400 without providing us with 1) the written estimate and 2) the opportunity to verify the charges were accurate. The accident happened the first day of our stay and literary 5mins before we got into our vehicles we finally was given the estimate, which according to our local dealer was $1500 above the actual cost of parts/labor. THESE PEOPLE ARE CROOKS!!!! Stay at Country Haven just down the road.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlschweda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ludington hotels

Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Sauble resorts is a good trip if you don't mind a few non luxary items but otherwise it is a good time. My family has gone up every year for at least 4 years and has enjoyed most of it. I highly suggest renting a pontoon boat and having the ability to go to the dunes. To the people before you have to abide the rules and respect it, it is a family own business this is there money income. The dunes are very enjoyable and are really fun for a lot of days. The cabins are just a good thing so you are close to the lake and can have a good night sleep. If you think the mattresses are going to be perfect even hotel beds aren't as good. My family always has a blast at the campfires and we are a loud family and never had the owners complain. The owners are nice and are welcoming if you don't respect the rules people are going to be a little strict obvioulsly. The pool is nice if the lake is a little rough that day so it is very nice also for little kids that don't want to go out to the dunes that day. Sauble is also very close to downtown lundington that includes a nice beach at lake Michigan, ice cream, and tons of other shopping. It is such a nice downtown and great for visiting on vacation. Sauble resorts is a good place for a big family or a regular size and is fun for a great summer vacation with family or friends.

Room Tip: The rooms that are a little bigger are a lot nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paige P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Cabin 20 was run down and dated. Appliances hardly worked, floor are slanted and inside was pretty dirty. As other reviews stated, they charge for things in the game room and pool sticks are from 1743 and broke. My wife, son and 1.5 year old arrived Friday night. My mother-in-law booked this trip in Jan and we were excited to get away for the week. At our own fault, we brought our dog not knowing there was a "no pet" rule. Therefore, we only took her out to the bathroom and put her back in the house immediately. We're from Chicago so we had no other options so we just kept her in the house all day. Saturday we had a pontoon boat reserved and long story short, there ended up being a pretty bad storm on the lake and on our way back to the dock we encountered some terrible waves in which one crashed up on the boat and dented/damaged the front 3x3 door on the boat. After 25 minutes of driving back in the storm and getting to the dock, the owner and son (I believe) were waiting and helped us dock the boat. The owner seemed more concerned with clearing everything off the boat and didn't even say anything about us getting back safely. He just stated that he was going to get the boat gassed up to see how much we used and than we'd have to talk about the door since we were responsible for the boat. Really dude? This was a natural cause/Act of God and you should be happy you got you boat back in one piece. We had no control over this accident just like if a tree fell through the roof of our cabin, it's wouldn't be our responsibility to fix it, right? So after my mother-in-law told the owner's wife that we're not paying for an act of God the issue was over with. Sunday we just stayed and celebrated Father's Day. Monday afternoon, back came Mr. No Personality and told us his wife saw a black dog in our cabin. We stated we did have a dog (Golden) and apologize for the misunderstanding. We stated that we understood the rules and would absolutely pay for a convenience fee. We also stated that I was going home the next day (Monday) in the morning and was going to take the dog home since the rest of the family was staying until Friday. We were courteous and polite and kept apologizing for the misunderstanding and pleaded if there was anything we could work out. The owner just said no and that there was a dog kennel in town we could take her too. Well, the kennel couldn't take our dog since we didn't have her shot records on hand so I left a day early with the dog. On the homepage of the resort website it says, CUSTOMER SATISFACTION IS OUR TOP PRIORITY. I can attest to this that it is not by any means. The friendliest people were the son and daughter or whoever the younger kids were working at the place. The male owner just talked business in a monotone voice and only was concerned with ruling his resort with an iron fist. People are on vacation and there to have fun. We never caused any problems and we're probably going to do a better job of cleaning the place when we leave than you did when we arrived. I think they just know that they have their yearly people that come back and really don't give a hoot about the new people that just rent for one time because they know they won't be back. So thanks for ruining my time off with my family. I'm back home and apparently they're up there with no power due to the storms. I'm sure we can get some money back for power loss and activities that we couldn't do due to the storms, right man??? Terrible experience and I would not recommend this resort to anyone. You'd be better pitching a tent in the field a few miles down on the lake. You'll have a better time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nick2012njb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sauble Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and do take pride in the cleanliness of our cottages and resort. Our resort has been a favorite to many travelers for decades. We encourage you to bring any concerns to our attention during your stay and we would certainly make all efforts to accommodate you. We do have our pet policy printed on the every invoice that is furnished to our guest prior to arrival. It is true that about 85% of our business is repeat customers. We treat every customer the same and hope that every customer will be a repeat customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
3.8 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#5 of 17 in Ludington
168 reviews
4.4 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 17 in Ludington
437 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#17 of 17 in Ludington
153 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ludington House Bed And Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sauble Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sauble Resort

Property: Sauble Resort
Address: 3443 Stearns Rd, Ludington, MI 49431-9505
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ludington
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great family resort with a large outdoor heated pool. 31 one-four bedroom comfortable cottages on a bluff overlooking Hamlin Lake. Picturesque views of sand dunes and sunsets. Stroll down our gradual path to fish or swim. 180' marina with boat/motor pontoon rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing