We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway!”
Review of Parkview Cottages

Parkview Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkview Cottages
Sylvania, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Getaway!”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was the perfect place to relax and getaway from my stressful life as a hospice nurse. I arrived by myself because my husband couldn't join me until later in the week. Jill left the porch light on for me and it was like coming home. The cottage was inviting from the first time I walked through the door. It was clean and charming even if it was a bit dated. It had everything I needed to stay in and relax. The beautiful beach was just a block away! I felt very safe being there by myself unti my spouse arrived. Jill was absolutely amazing from my first e-mail to the day I left. We were able to meet her in person and she is very kind and let me view another cottage. I would definately recommend this to all my friends and co-workers for a family or couples getaway! I will be coming back! Thanks Jill for everything!

Room Tip: Cottage #2 is right at the corner and you get great breezes coming through the cottage in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseRadchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My family and I have stayed at one of the Parkview Cottages on three separate occasions. On one trip, a motorcycle excursion around Lake MI, we found our unit to be cozy but not cramped. Furnished with nautical themed decorations, the cottages are charming and though not roomy, comfortable as a place to lay your tired head after a day in the sun and sand in the beach within a short walk across the street.




a cozy-but-not-too-cramped unit at Parkview Cottages earned a whopping 25,000 points on our scientific rating scale.

Courteous phone encounter 5,000 points
Helpful hostess 5,000 points
Easily found 5,000 points
Attractive area 5,000 points
Pleasant price 5,000 points

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccothernII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We go to Ludington every summer during the Gus Macker tournament. We were very excited to finally get a cottage over a hotel. The location was great -- but i would say that was the only pro of the weekend. When we arrived, the rental was not ready, and seemed like it had been closed up all year (smelled musty, fridge off, air off, damp). They also did not keep any back up of toilet paper, garbage bags, etc, and we had to end up going and purchasing some for the weekend.

We put down the required security deposit -- which was totally fine, however they found away to keep part of it. They claimed that we left the outside of the house (lawn) a mess. This makes no sense, and the only possibility would be that the storm knocked over the outside garbage. We cleaned the inside and outside spotless, but they found away to keep partial deposit. When i tried communicating with the Parkview office, they took thier 'cleaners' side, as they claimed it took more time than usual. No pictures, reciepts, or anything were given to us to prove the additional expenses and cleaning. They even mentioned how beautful we left the inside. Does not make sense that we would clean the inside but trash the outside!!

Would NOT RECOMMEND due to customer service (Jill).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank E1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Gus Macker weekend (basketball tournament) is one of our busiest weekends of the summer and requires a damage deposit which is refundable if the buildings and grounds do not require repair or any unusual attention. Unfortunately when the cleaning staff arrived the property in question had just been vacated and obviously required cleanup of the grounds. It is rare that the entire deposit is not refunded and since the origin of the tournament in the Ludington area has only happened twice.
The deposit or any portion of it is retained only if the damage or cleanup costs the management to repair or additional staff wages and then only the actual cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Parkview Cottages are the perfect beach getaway! We stayed in cottage #2 located right on the corner. The cottage was very clean and well kept. It was the perfect size for my husband, myself and our 18 month old. It was a very easy walk to the beach. We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanderbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

We had planned this trip, and stay at Parkview Cottages, last year, but had to cancel due to health problems. We rescheduled for a week beginning June 21.

We stayed in Cottage #1, and were very disappointed. Keep in mind that these are "historic" cottages. Cottage #1 seemed like it never saw sunshine, and everything inside seemed damp. Neither my husband or I slept well on the nights of June 21 and June 22. Even the sheets felt damp. There was a BIG step to get in the front door that my husband could not manage. The cottage is advertised on the internet as accommodating up to 3 people. With just the two of us, it was a VERY tight squeeze. They had updated the kitchen area which was beautiful.

We left and found other accommodations, which were very nice, at half the cost of the cottages. I thought the cottage would have a view of the City Park and Lake Michigan, but none of the cottages did. It's too bad.... the owner seemed very nice when dealing with her by email.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxineMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
It has been a while since this review although I do remember the reservation.
It was a very humid/damp period of time that summer and I do understand how uncomfortable that may have been.
The step was a difficult one to maneuver and has since been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

This was a perfect place for my husband, myself & our 1 year old daughter. We stayed at the Parkview Cottages which were 1 block from Lake Michigan. It was like our home away from home. We could walk up to the lake to watch the sunset, walk out to a lighthouse, play at the park, enjoy the beach & watch the ferry from WI come in for the night. Just a 10 minute ride from the cottage is a Ludington State Park, a great place to go for the day. You can even camp at the park, which we hope to do in a couple of years. If you don't want to pay the fee to go into the park, you can park along the street on the way there & walk down the dunes to Lake MI. If you love the outdoors, Ludington is a great town to visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank Cheery Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill M, Manager at Parkview Cottages, responded to this review, June 19, 2015
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.4 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#10 of 17 in Ludington
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nader's Motel & Suites
Nader's Motel & Suites
#6 of 17 in Ludington
164 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 17 in Ludington
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Summers Inn Ludington
Summers Inn Ludington
#1 of 17 in Ludington
340 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Ventura Motel
#15 of 17 in Ludington
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Cottages

Property: Parkview Cottages
Address: 803 W Fitch St, Ludington, MI 49431-1618
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Ludington
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Parkview Cottages Hotel Ludington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing