We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any fresher!!”

Bortell’s Fisheries
Ranked #3 of 69 Restaurants in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any fresher!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was a fun place to find~~ a lovely little drive thru the country side down some quaint country roads, and kind of in the middle of nowhere~~a great little gem! (Couldn't have found it without our trusty Tom-Tom). Anyway, this is a very small and simple operation, where you pick out what fish you want from the fish counter, and it's deep fried right before your eyes as you wait. There is no inside seating, so it's all picnic style outside. In spite of the very cold 41 degrees outside when we visited, it was worth every penny! ... and nice folks who work there too!! A very pleasant experience!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank retirednovember2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    53
    17
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Every time we are within an hour radius, we always stop by. Best fish and owned by a wonderful family.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenziepepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fish on a Picnic”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bortell's Fisheries of Ludington, MI, one of the most unique road-side fish fry eatery's of late. our last visit was scrumptious, FRESH, FRESH, oh did I say FRESH and yes you can watch your selection be cooked while you wait, maybe 8 mins. or less. Or if you wish take what you want home with you and cook your own...... Just try it! You'll enjoy and please bring cash they don't take checks.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 774Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Smoked Fish and Fresh too!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I live in Ludington and try to go at least twice a month to get something from Bortell's when they are open. Their smoked Norwegian Atlantic Salmon actually melts in your mouth. I have never had such a mouthwatering smoked fish. It is incredible. I love the fried fish too. I always get the Lake Michigan Perch and the Walleye. Again you get the flavor of the sweet fish and not an overbearing breading. The owners are the staff and work their butt off to keep the line moving. Be prepared at meal times for a wait, off time, not so bad!

They open Memorial Day and they close when they run out of fish Labor Day. If it is a good season, they might close the day before Labor Day. They are never open the whole day Labor Day. People know that is the last day and go and buy them out of fish rather rapidly..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaDobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“expensive”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

very expensive for some fried fish! I have fresh fish at my restaurant and it is actually prepared not just fried... and its cheaper. but the taste is good. i am local so i always support local businesses. obviously they do well in the summer

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bortell’s Fisheries also viewed

 

Been to Bortell’s Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing