We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They gave away my room {TWICE}”
Review of Lighthouse Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lighthouse Motel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They gave away my room {TWICE}”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I stay here every weekend {november-january} and they gave away my room before Christmas and I let it slide, but then again this weekend SCOTT, either the owner or manager gave away my room again. THIS IS HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT!!!!! especially as a repeat guest. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!!! SCOTT ALWAYS SEEMED DRUG'D UP TO ME, AND THEY NEVER CLEAN YOUR ROOM.. THERE ARE STRANGE PEOPLE COMING AND GOING AT ALL HOURS OF THE NIGHT!!!! The price is decent $40 cash a night, but for me driving 70 miles to find out they gave away my room AGAIN!!!! never!!!!! SO DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY ON THIS MOTEL........

Room Tip: DO not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahcaeljk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
29
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

its an old mom and pa motel. The rooms have a bed, a tv and a bathroom with a shower. The rooms are clean and they are priced to fit my budget. There is mini golf, a beach and pier for fishing just a few blocks down the road. Or a little ways the other way is food and shopping, and the marina is two blocks the other way. Its located in a what feels like a very safe neighborhood. Walking to the pier to watch the sunset and then walking back to the motel after dark is no problem. The people who run the motel are very friendly and they make you feel right at home. My family spent the day at Michigans Adventure and then drove up to this motel and stayed 2 nights here. It was very relaxing and we felt right at home.

Room Tip: felt right at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colleen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Definitely a strange experience but people were friendly. The off season rate was $55 per night and we stayed 3 nights. They never cleaned our room the whole time we were there. They did ask if we needed fresh towels after the first night. I don't know if they only service the rooms where people have dogs when you put the sign out asking them to. I've never been to a hotel that didn't have a daily cleaning.
The clientele seemed less like vacationers and more like locals. People were working on cars in the parking lot all week, that was a little weird.
Bed was very uncomfortable and the shower wasn't much more than a dribble. Its a historic property though so its not going to be fancy.
Room was clean when we checked in and there were no bugs or rodents.
Location is great, you can walk to everything from here.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bersurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,384 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We needed a one night stay in Ludington, in a low priced accomodation, before catching the ferry to Wisconsin at 8 AM the following day. For $80 a night, we didn't get much. The location is nice-just one block from the public beach/park and you can walk out to the lighthouse. Town is right before you, so you can walk to lots of different shops/restaurants. The room was very basic, a few minor things didn't work, like the TV remote, a light, a plug. It is dated. The beds were not very comfortable. There is a microwave and frig. However, it was the strangest customer service I think I have had in a motel. They took our money, and then moved onto the next people in line. I asked for our room keys. He asked what room were we in! I stated I didn't know, that he hadn't told us. He then had to look it back up...! So, then he gave us a room with one bed-and we had reserved 2 beds. So, back to the office, wait in line, and then ask for a 2 bed. Miraculously, they just had a cancellation for a 2 bed room! So, off we go out front (near the road), up the very steep stairs, across the deck (which we were concerned about), and to our room, which did indeed have 2 beds. However, this is Ludington and I suppose I was lucky to get the room in the first place during a holiday weekend. Parking lot SMALL! I highly suggest checking out other motels in the area before trying this one, but take it if it is the last one avaiable!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Desk help, small parking lot
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ludington hotels
0.1 mi away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#12 of 17 in Ludington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
0.6 mi away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 17 in Ludington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ludington
2.7 mi away
Best Western Lakewinds
Best Western Lakewinds
#2 of 17 in Ludington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Motel

Property: Lighthouse Motel
Address: 710 W Ludington Ave, Ludington, MI 49431-2063
Location: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ludington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse is a cozy family operated 13 room motel located on Ludington Ave. Just one block from Ludington's city beach/Stearns Park, 10 blocks from the car ferry entrance and just 5 blocks from the downtown area. All recently updated rooms include flat screen TVs with DVD players, refrigerators and microwaves and A/C. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing