We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome hotel; great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Midhurst, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome hotel; great value”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We booked through Expedia for $89/night ($US). The room had two double beds, small dinette and a small living room. There was plenty of space for our two kids to run around without making us crazy. The room was clean and bright. The addition of a bar fridge and an office desk were a plus for our short stay. The only critique is that the bathroom (which contained the bathtub and toilet) was really drafty and narrow - hard to get around.

Overall the hotel was well maintained. The pool was clean and water was very warm which the kids and I appreciated. The staff were super friendly and many times had staff members say "welcome back" when we returned from our outings.

The included continental breakfast far exceeded our expectations. We were preparing for cold cereal, muffins and juice. What we got was a good selection of hot items,fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, bagels, toast, baked good and wide selection of juices. Food was good and definitely beyond a continental.

The hotel was easy to get to which was important not being familiar with the area. Since we have family in the area, we will definitely be returning for any future trips.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    143
    35
    32
    11
See reviews for
145
77
18
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. Clean, comfortable rooms with nice amenities. Staff was friendly. Enjoyed the bar in the lobby and the hot breakfast. Also conveniently located to a variety of restaurants and retail shops.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed here during the holiday storm flight cancellations. We stayed for two nights, but when our flight was cancelled again, we stayed for a third at a hiked up rate. We felt as though they capitalized on us being stranded there in a snow storm. Our room was gifted to us by family members and the hotel not only charged the room to their credit cards, but ours as well. It took several days to get the charged reversed. The person at the counter said there was nothing he could do about it. Also, on the third night, our family member purchased a deal that included tickets to the movie theater next door, but when we went to pick up the tickets they claimed that she only purchased the room at a regular rate. (Yet charged for the package).

The rooms seemed pretty clean and the bed was really comfortable. That was the best part. Staff was also friendly for the most part, although housekeeping liked to hang out outside our door and be really loud.

Housekeeping walked into our room twice while we were in bed even though the sign was on the door. Embarrassing.

Breakfast items were cold and had been out a while. No room service, just heated up food you have to go down and pick up yourself. Tastes like expensive microwave food.

Room Tip: Housekeeping also liked to be extremely loud outside of our room. I actually thought there was a par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rainard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Chose the hotel for its' location, but I was pleasantly surprised by quality of the stay. The room is standard for Hyatt Place, huge, big tv, king bed. The breakfast here is great! French toast, waffles, english muffin sandwiches are added to the standard breakfast fare. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a couple of days while spending time with her extended family over Christmas in December 2011. Really comfortable hotel, spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is our 3rd or 4th time staying here when we visit family in the area. If you are familiar with the concept, you will not be disappointed. The only drawback (a design issue) is the limited access to the closet. It's a full closet - you have only 50% access. Not a deal breaker - as we continue to select this great hotel. This friendly and comfortable hotel is one of our favorites.

The staff is amazing!!

The Starbucks coffee bar is open 24 hours we learned.

My only issue are the guests who come down to the breakfast bar in their pajamas. I was raised that if you are in a public area, you put a comb through your hair and you do not wear your sleeping clothes. This is totally fine for children as they need to be fed often before showers but adults should know better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked the room 4 my B-day it was so nice and big super clean,the bathroom is tiny and outdated.But the room made up 4 that the pool was nice and warm and a nice size.They dont have à jacuzzi but the pool feel like à big jacuzzi so it didnt matter.U cant rent movies after 9 because the hotel lose their signals so ur movie will cut off.Their are so many things 2 do around the hotel,livonia is far from Detroit.So if black expect have ppl staring @ u,grabbing their purses,and moving away from u.Sad but it happened 2 me and my.company.The 1 problem i had was i was charged 61.83 for Friday night i booked the room 4 the whole week-end,and paid 4 it on hôtels.com .So y was i charged 4 Friday because i showed up late,i called ahead and told them i would be late because Friday was my B-day.I had à party in downtown Detroit it takes awhile 2 get 2 Livonia.The reception wouldnt help but the manager was very very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
0.9 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing